We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Menzies Sydney to your Saves list
The Menzies Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Carrington Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Greeting was fantastic by door staff and they knew where to send me to the casino, booking is was efficient and very polite, coffee and snacks in bars was great, room and ease of turning on TV was very good..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Warren N,
Thank you for your review.
It's pleasing to hear that you found our team to be most helpful and we hope you return as our guest very soon.
Kind Regards,
Michael Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    1,529
    1,101
    353
    146
See reviews for
943
1,360
343
687
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I had not looked up the reviews on this site before booking but after checking in and finding out for ourselves the state of tiredness of this hotel, I headed here to check out guests comments and have to say that these very much mirror my own observations on the tired state of this hotel.

The wallpaper are old, outdated and going yellow, the bath and tiles are in pitiful conditions, the mattresses are sagging and each day we had to phone for more towels even if we had booked in a room with 2 double beds and it was clear to the housekeeping staff that there were more than 2 persons occupying the room.

The lobby has an assortment of mismatched furniture, the mini bar prices are horrendous.
The only great place about this hotel is the location.

The management should take guests comments here very seriously and do something about upgrading the facility.

Room Tip: I understand there are some rooms which have been refurbished. Insist on these. I am inclined to thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear ArnoldChetty,
Thank you for your feedback. Any feedback we receive from our valued guests is greatly appreciated and taken on board to ensure we provide a superior level of service at The Menzies Sydney.
With regards to the rooms, the hotel is one of the most historic in Sydney and as such there are some aspects that reflect this heritage. However, we ensure the rooms are neat, tidy and very well maintained. A room refurbishment is in our capital expenditure plans which will result in a substantial improvement to our products.
I can assure you that we take our reputation very seriously, and hope you will consider The Menzies Sydney for further stays.
Warm regards,
Michael Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piangil Victoria australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is in a great location. Opposite the Wynyard Station, a short walk to the Rocks, Circular Quay and a few blocks from the City centre shops.
Great walks around the harbour, through the gardens and if you have time around Mrs. Maquarie's chair and Woolamaloo. We walked to Circular Quay caught a ferry to Watson's Bay, such a pretty village atmosphere, walked around the coast and through the streets to Bondi. Glorious and amazing views, desirable properties and then the iconic beach scene....next time we'll do the Coogee walk too.
The hotel has a lovely "Old World Grace". The foyer large, impressive yet friendly and welcoming. The Concierge helpful, polite and welcoming too. The decor was interesting, the One Four Kitchen Restaurant had an eclectic assortment of furniture but just missed out on pulling the eclectic, hipster look together as in fact there was to many matching pieces. The Chesterfield couches and leather chairs were a touch of opulence.
The hotel dining was superb and the wait staff made our visit truly memorable. James is a bright, cheerful, character who was accommodating, entertaining and we kept coming back to bask in his personality. Colleen, a lovely french waitress was also delightful. The piano playing during the evening created a lovely atmosphere. The meals were very tasty and breakfast filling but not buffet in One Four which is apparently available at The Platform restaurant on the 1st floor, we did not eat there. The cheesecake was exceptionally good!
The rooms we stayed in were typical hotel rooms: large bed, writing desk, bedside chair and tables, tea and coffee making facilities. For the price this was just as predicted! The bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows soft and plush, we slept very, very well; best sleep we've had in Sydney City! The rooms offered everything you needed for a comfortable stay.
The absence of body lotion in the small but functional bathroom was my only disappointment along with a mixup with the daily room service. The choice to delay service was a door sign with "Do not disturb" or "Don't make up the room", no sign for "Make-up my room" which is unusual. I showered following a walk and even though I removed the sign before midday the room was not serviced. It then took 3 unanswered phone calls and a 2 trips to reception to get fresh towels!
We were aware the pool would be out of action but the gym was well equipt for a good workout.
A highlight of our stay and a unique Menzies experience was the performance by Kylie Stephen's of the voice fame entertaining us in the 1st floor bar and lounge Friday and Saturday evenings. We thoroughly enjoyed her abilities and delighted in the sing-along atmosphere, James also joined her on the Saturday night for a couple of tunes which once again was fantastic. This was a true bonus!
Overall this hotel offers a great, comfortable, "old world family" experience and we would recommend our friends and family to stay here and we'll be back if we can.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Bronwyn D,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Menzies Sydney.
It sounds like you had a fantastic time and took in all that our beautiful city has to offer!
Any feedback we receive from our valued guests is greatly appreciated and taken on board to ensure we provide a superior level of service at the hotel.
Thank you for your comments regarding that talented James. I will be sure to pass your thanks onto him.
We hope to see you again at the hotel very soon.
Warm Regards,
Michael Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

After 2.5 weeks travelling Australia for our honeymoon, Sydney was our last stop. We had been staying in nice hotels all along, and this was a great disappointment! The rooms are small, dated, fusty, warm (no air con). there is an ancient fan system that doesn't work. When booking honeymoon we did not want to stay here but our travel agent pursueded us into thinking it was great. It is an average hotel, but we were use to staying in 4-5* accomodation.
On the plus side the location is perfect! walking distance to city center, darling harbour, sydney bridge and opera house.

Overall, average dated hotel in a perfect location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Shauna R,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel.
Congratulations on your recent wedding! I hope that overall you have enjoyed honeymooning in Australia.
I apologise that you were disappointed with your room at the hotel.
Any feedback we receive from our valued guests is greatly appreciated and taken on board to ensure we provide a superior level of service at The Menzies Sydney.
With regards to the rooms, the hotel is one of the most historic in Sydney and as such there are some aspects that reflect this heritage. However, we ensure the rooms are neat, tidy and very well maintained. A room refurbishment is in our capital expenditure plans which will result in a substantial improvement to our products.
I hope that this does not deter you from choosing to stay at The Menzies Sydney for future stays in Sydney.
Warm Regards,
Michael Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

What do I mean? Well let me explain:

This hotel is well located, right across from the entrance to Wynyard station and 10 minutes walk to Circular Quay. The entrance foyer is impressive with plenty of comfortable seating. The staff very welcoming and the Concierge helped us into the building with our luggage. We arrived early off a cruise ship but a room was available and check in was quick and easy. The hotel has a nicely laid out public restaurant just off reception and a Sports Bar in the basement.

During our stay the staff were very helpful, the food in the public restaurant was good and there was no problem getting our luggage stored on departure day so we could have a last few hours around Sydney.

Sounds great? Yes – but then there is the other side, the side you see only behind the foyer elevators.

The first room we had was quite large and over looked the park at the front, no street noise could be heard – but it was hot and humid in there. The air-conditioning did nothing but let out loud screeches if you turned it up. The first night’ sleep was uncomfortable as it was so warm and you could only open a small window a few inches to get any air into the room. The next day we asked to move rooms. The staff were very accommodating and switched us to a room with individual aircon – that was much more comfortable. But storage in the new room consisted of a single wardrobe no more than 60cm wide which also housed the ironing board and spare blankets – one small wardrobe, that’s it. For 2 adults over 5 nights that is simply not good enough - we had to live out of the suitcase!

The bathroom was a good size, and at least the shower head wasn’t hanging from the wall only supported by the plumbing like it was in the first room, but the drain was filthy –coated with matted dust, it had obviously not been cleaned in a LONG time.

Breakfast. This was included in our rate, although we did have to prove it to reception as the information had not come through on the booking and we were initially charged for it. No problem – they fixed it quickly, the staff were again very efficient. The buffet ranged from adequate down to poor depending on the day and time you arrived. On the first day availability of items was good although the food wasn’t really warm enough to eat once you sat down, on other days availability was mixed but the food temperature was better. On one day I was told they had run out of bacon, and that breakfast was over, 20 minutes before the advertised end of breakfast. When I pointed out the time and asked if they still were serving bacon in the public restaurant downstairs they reluctantly (and I do mean reluctantly) agreed to cook some more – however what turned up was more fried fat than fried bacon which put me off eating anything further. This brings me to another point. If not included in room rate the buffet costs $31 for residents, yet downstairs they were charging $20 to non-residents for what seemed to be much more appealing food. When everything was available, which was rare, there was a fair selection of hot and cold food, pastries and breads - but what is with the turkey sausages? Not once, but every day? TIP – don’t get the buffet; eat downstairs or elsewhere for breakfast.

One big reason we chose this hotel over a nearby one we stayed on last time was that we do like to come back to the hotel and sit and have a last few drinks. Not a chance. The Sports Bar – showing in the hotel’s own literature as open until “late” in fact closed early, seemingly very early. Thursday was OK, we had a couple of drinks. We went down on Saturday at 10pm – closed, it was closed on Sunday (as advertised) and we tried again on Monday around 7.30 – you guessed it - closed. We tried on a couple of occasions to get a drink in the bar in the reception area, but staff seemed to disappear once the restaurant wasn’t serving food. In any case sitting in a hotel reception area isn’t my idea of a nice end to a day.

I wouldn’t stay here again; another hotel of similar price in the area offers a better overall product. This hotel promises more than it can deliver; it wraps it up in a nice parcel but you can only see the poorer quality product once you’ve made the purchase. A 4* facade with 5* front of house staff simply masking a 2* product. Other reviewers have had a better experience, which shows the inconsistencies in the product and much mention is made of a refurbishment program in the hotel’s responses – that needs to be made a priority.

A rating of 2.5 is probably about right based on my experience, but as you can’t give 2.5 and the front of house staff were so good I’ve put it at 3 rather than 2.

What a shame – a promising hotel marred by lack of investment and attention to detail.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Nijh,
Thank you for your taking the time to review your recent experience at The Menzies Sydney.
Any feedback we receive from our valued guests is greatly appreciated and taken on board to ensure we provide a superior level of service at the hotel.
I understand your frustrations with regards to the rooms at the hotel. The Menzies hotel is one of the most historic in Sydney and as such there are some aspects that reflect this heritage. However, we ensure the rooms are neat, tidy and very well maintained. I apologise that this was not the case during your stay. It's also disappointing to read your comments about breakfast at Carrington Restaurant during your stay.
I will discuss your feedback with our management team to ensure each issue you have highlighted is investigated and the necessary improvements are made to improve our service here at The Menzies.
On another note, it's great to hear that you found our staff welcoming and helpful. We pride ourselves on providing a high level of customer service at the hotel, and I'm very pleased to hear that you experienced just this.
I hope that your experience does not deter you from choosing The Menzies for future visits.
Warm Regards,
Michael Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merimbula, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We decided to stay at The Menzies as it was central and had an indoor pool and spa. Travelling with a 10 and an 11 year old this was a huge bonus and the deciding factor for us. Imagine our disappointment to find that when we arrived the pool, spa and sauna were out of order for the duration of our stay. Had we been informed of this, we would have booked elsewhere. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Karen T,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel.
Unfortunately the pool was closed for urgent repairs at very short notice, however I'm glad to report that it reopened earlier this week. I apologise for any inconvenience caused and hope that this does not deter you from choosing to stay at The Menzies Sydney in the future.
Warm Regards,
Michael Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Menzies Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Menzies Sydney

Address: 14 Carrington Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Menzies Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Menzies Sydney is a 4 star hotel located on Wynyard Park in the heart of Sydney. With 446 beautifully appointed rooms, this is the ideal choice for business trips, holidays and exciting city breaks. With extensive conference facilities catering for up to 450 delegates, the hotel also boasts three bars, two restaurants and a swimming pool. City attractions such as the historic Rocks precinct, Circular Quay and the Sydney Opera House are on your doorstep, with immediate access to public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Menzies Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menzies Sydney Hotel Sydney
The Menzies Hotel Sydney
Menzies Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Menzies Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.