We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be great...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Menzies Sydney to your Saves list
The Menzies Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Carrington Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good but could be great...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Firstly can I say that the staff at the hotel were fantastic, very courteous, friendly and helpful, both on check in and check out.

I stayed at the hotel for business so my expectations are always slightly less. The room itself was very tired and needs updating.

The carpet is worn and patchy, the walls are stained and the bathroom had cracks in the tiles and you could tell that they haven't been updated in many years. The room decor was well below par, but having said that it had been cleaned well (as well as it could be).

Althought the room wasn't impressive here are some things that made my stay satisfactory:

- The TV had Foxtel and worked well
- The mini bar wasn't over priced
- The iron worked well and was clean
- The shower had great pressure
- The bed was comfortable
- There was no noise disruption even though I was on the 1st floor

If the rooms were update, this hotel could score an excellent.

If there was a rating in between Average and Very Good I would have chosen it.

Room Tip: My room was at the back of the hotel and looked out into a closed courtyard - very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Please allow me to start by thanking you for taking the time to provide your feedback relating to your stay at The Menzies. Your feedback is essential in understanding aspects in need of improvement, and thus we are highly appreciative of it.
I am truly pleased to see your comments regarding our staff. I will be personally sharing this feedback with them, which will be a nice encouragement as they strive to attain excellence in customer service.
You will be very happy to know that we have plans to commence a refurbishment of the hotel in the near future, which will make a substantial improvement to its interior.
Once again, I would like to thank you for sharing your comments on your stay. I hope that you will return to The Menzies in the near future, I will be looking forward to welcoming you back then.
Kind Regards,
Michael Smith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    1,529
    1,101
    353
    146
See reviews for
943
1,360
343
687
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
horsham
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Location is spot on for ease of access to the big attractions in Sydney. Hotel presented very well, staff at the front counter were good, although for a busy hotel, only 2 staff were on the front counter and waiting times to get served were to long. Rooms are pretty comfortable however the heating in the rooms was quite hot and couldn't adjust in the room due to a/c being broken. Pretty ordinary night sleep with the room so hot. Would stay there again on my next trip to Sydney.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for providing your feedback following your stay at The Menzies. We are highly appreciative of this, as it is fundamental to achieving our goal of offering a superior customer service experience.
I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the centrality of the hotel’s location, with its close proximity to Sydney’s infamous attractions and venues.
Please accept my genuine apologies for the delays you experienced at reception. I will be discussing this feedback with our Front Office Department to review and make certain that the most appropriate processes are in place to ensure our guests receive efficient and prompt service on arrival and departure and throughout the course of their stay.
I will be communicating your feedback regarding the temperature in your room to our Engineering Department. This will ensure they are made aware of the issue and can commence working towards rectifying the matter.
Thank you, yet again, for taking the time to comment on your stay. I will be looking forward to your next visit, and hope that we can truly surpass your expectations then.
Yours Faithfully,
Michael Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Top points for location, and the hotel was clean, staff pleasant, rates reasonable and morning takeaway coffee from the lounge was pretty damn good - much better than any hotel coffee I've had. Great coffee though 3 doors down at the Organic cafe. Lifts a little dodgy and doors to corridor paper thin - but if you are tolerant - it really is a pain, not a make/break!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback in relation to your stay at The Menzies. We appreciate the time that you have taken to do this.
I will personally impart this feedback to our staff, and in particular our Food and Beverage staff in One Four. It is pleasing to know that they are achieving their objective of providing eminent customer service and products.
As you may already be aware, The Menzies is one of the most historic hotels in Sydney and unfortunately there are aspects which are reflective of this, such as the walls and lifts. I will however, be communicating your feedback in relation to the lifts to our Engineering Department, so that may coordinate a suitable arrangement to improve the efficiency of our guest lifts.
I would like to thank you again for taking the time to offer your feedback. It is integral to us here at The Menzies. I hope that you will consider The Menzies for future visits. I will be looking forward to welcoming you back then.
Yours Truly,
Michael Smith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

As far as central city Sydney hotels go, the Menzies represents exceptional value. From the professional service, to the pleasant bar, the spacious and clean rooms, close proximity to train station and available parking, it's all you need for a central stay.

There is a great little cafe a few doors down for breakfast, the bar had a pianist and served exceptional cocktails and there are many great restaurants surrounding. I didn't eat at the hotel, though am sure the food would be good.

It's not the Hilton, but then the prices certainly aren't either. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay there - nice to encounter value!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for providing your feedback following your stay at The Menzies. I am truly appreciative of this.
It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay, and found it to be of good value.
I will be sharing your feedback in regards to the friendliness of our staff and the Piano Bar with our Front Office and Food and Beverage Departments. This will be a pleasant source of encouragement for them as they strive towards their objective to provide a preeminent experience for our guests.
I am glad to know that you enjoyed the hotel’s superlative location, as it has great immediacy to many renowned attractions and venues.
Thank you, yet again, for taking the time to review your stay. I hope that you will be returning to The Menzies in the near future, and allow us to further surpass your expectations then.
Yours Kindly,
Michael Smith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very old style hotel, room was completely outdated bathroom was old and gross, room was very hot and didnt offer aircon just some old style thermostat on the wall, location is alright but definately fresher hotels in the area, very over priced for what it is, needs a revamp for sure, elevator scared me very noisy and old, would never stay here again, buffet breakfast is $31 and not anything special, only good part is my bed was very comfy and the pillow was a cloud however woke up to the disapointment of still being in a room from the 1800's - book elsewhere if your staying longer than overnight and plan on seeing the room in daylight - no pay tv either you can rent a movie for a steep $16 tv is the size of a laptop computer screen

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments following your stay at The Menzies. I am truly appreciative of this, as our guest feedback is integral to achieving our goal of providing a preeminent guest experience.
I would like to express my sincere apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations, and it is deeply disappointing to hear that you would chose not to return to the hotel.
I understand your viewpoint in regards to the hotel’s interiors. As you may understand, The Menzies is one of the most historic hotels in Sydney, and some aspects are unfortunately reflective of this. However, you may be pleased to know that we do have plans to commence a refurbishment of the hotel in the near future, which will be a significant enhancement. In addition to this, we are also in the process of replacing the televisions in our guest rooms, which too will be a considerable improvement.
I will be immediately discussing your feedback with regards to the temperature control in your room with our Engineering Department so that they may start developing a resolution to this problem.
Please be assured that we do currently offer Foxtel in our guest rooms, and I will be personally pursuing as to why you were unable to access this during your stay. I express my genuine apologies for this.
Furthermore, in relation to your feedback concerning our Buffet Breakfast, I will be taking note of this and discussing it with our Management Team.
Should you wish to discuss your concerns further, please do not hesitate to contact myself on (02) 9299 1000.
I would like to again take the opportunity to thank you for your feedback. I hope that you will still consider The Menzies for future visits, and allow us the occasion to better serve you and truly exceed your expectations then.
Warm Regards,
Michael Smith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is a fine old Sydney institution. The staff are outstanding and the service is excellent. It's in a great location for taxis, trains and buses and of course the shops are all around the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. Looking forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon.

With thanks,
Michael Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A lovely classic hotel in a very good position. There was no noise during the night and the room was very comfortable. A short walk to the quay and the rocks and also close to transport. Parking is nearby and 24 hour. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
I'm glad to hear that you took advantage of the locality of the hotel and had an enjoyable stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Michael Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Menzies Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Menzies Sydney

Address: 14 Carrington Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Menzies Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Menzies Sydney is a 4 star hotel located on Wynyard Park in the heart of Sydney. With 446 beautifully appointed rooms, this is the ideal choice for business trips, holidays and exciting city breaks. With extensive conference facilities catering for up to 450 delegates, the hotel also boasts three bars, two restaurants and a swimming pool. City attractions such as the historic Rocks precinct, Circular Quay and the Sydney Opera House are on your doorstep, with immediate access to public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Menzies Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menzies Sydney Hotel Sydney
The Menzies Hotel Sydney
Menzies Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Menzies Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.