We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Menzies Sydney to your Saves list
The Menzies Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Carrington Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was worried after reading some bad reviews on here before going to Sydney, yes it is an older hotel and could possibly be looking at a makeover in the future.BUT THE HOTEL WAS WONDERFUL, we had the standard room with 2 double beds the room was clean and cleaned every day, we arrived at 10am and we were checked in with no waiting and our room was ready immediately. The staff made us feel very welcome. We had dinner a couple of nights at the Sporters bar which was warm and friendly and coffee and cake in the lobby. Great having a shop on the ground floor and location, location, this hotel was close to everything, and so convenient catching the train from the airport that brings you to The Menzies door, breakfast was the best and plenty of it with no waiting for tables Keep up the great service Menzies Hotel.We'll be back and have recommended it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    1,529
    1,101
    353
    146
See reviews for
943
1,360
343
686
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Menzies is a decent hotel with a location that can't be beat. Directly across from Wynyard Station which makes getting there from the airport a breeze, the hotel could use some updates, but it is clean and comfortable. It is walking distance (15 minutes or so) from the CBD, Darling Harbour, the Botanic Gardens and Circular Quay. We never took a taxi or train except from the airport. Ask for a room in the North Tower (we had to be moved due to a problem with the heating/cooling controls) which has slightly nicer and quieter rooms. Internet access in the lobby is spotty and only available for 1/2 hour every 24 hours. The hotel is mid priced for Sydney, a very expensive city and definitely recommended due to location.

Room Tip: North Tower rooms are newer and nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Menzies Sydney.
I apologise for the inconvenience of changing rooms. I'm glad you found your room in the North Wing more suitable.
On another note, I'm glad to hear that you made the most of the hotel's ideal location in the CBD. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Michael Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I have just enjoyed a 4 day break at The Menzies with my family to celebrate my wife's birthday. The hotel is everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Service from front desk was excellent and an early check in was a pleasant surprise, advice from concierge was always given in a prompt and courteous manner. The rooms were as they are in pictures, adequate without being spectacular but always clean and comfortable. Buffet breakfast was also very good but kids were disappointed there were no hash browns. Just a word of advice, if going for breakfast on weekend make sure you get there before 8.30 as tables filled quickly and people were forced to wait for a table. Location was perfect and only Harbour to enjoy the restaurants and fireworks on Saturday night. Overall I would highly recommend The Menzies for a Sydney visit and hope to see them again next year.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.
It's great to hear that you had such a fantastic stay!
It's a shame that there were no hash browns at breakfast. They are normally quite a popular choice at The Carrington Restaurant, and it seems we need to make sure there are more there for our guests to enjoy.
At The Menzies Sydney we strive to provide outstanding service to all our guests and I'm glad that we exceeded your expectations durig your stay.

Thanks again,
Michael Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The highlight of the Menzies is Kylie playing in the Piano Bar on the first floor on Friday and Saturday nights. It is the reason I continue to stay there. Should extend the piano bar to other nights of the week.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind words.
Kylie is indeed a very talented entertainer and we are very grateful to have her with us every week. I will be sure to pass on your appreciation to her.
Look forward to seeing you back enjoying her songs soon.

Warm Regards,

Michael Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Menzies Hotel & I would have to say I would not choose to stay there again. The staff were unprofessional & did not seem interested in helping their guests. Very disappointing as I had stayed a few years earlier & had a much better experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
I appreciate the time you have taken to review The Menzies Sydney.
It was disappointing for me to read your comments regarding your experience at the hotel and I apologise on behalf of everyone at The Menzies Sydney.
We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and it seems that it has not been the case during your stay.
I do hope that you can find some time to re-visit our property & we may be able to restore some of the lost faith.

Warm Regards,

Michael Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Although the breakfast facility and quality was good, the restaurant facilities for lunch and dinner left much to be desired. The quality of the food was disappointing and I will not use the facility again until substantial improvements have been made.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Menzies is a well respected hotel. Great location in the heart of Sydney. Near all transport. Have stayed there many times. Will certainly recommend it to others especially interstate & overseas travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at The Menzies Sydney.
I’m glad to hear that you have enjoyed the hotel during many visits and hope to exceed your expectations during your next stay.

Warm regards,

Michael Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Menzies Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Menzies Sydney

Address: 14 Carrington Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Menzies Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Menzies Sydney is a 4 star hotel located on Wynyard Park in the heart of Sydney. With 446 beautifully appointed rooms, this is the ideal choice for business trips, holidays and exciting city breaks. With extensive conference facilities catering for up to 450 delegates, the hotel also boasts three bars, two restaurants and a swimming pool. City attractions such as the historic Rocks precinct, Circular Quay and the Sydney Opera House are on your doorstep, with immediate access to public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Menzies Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menzies Sydney Hotel Sydney
The Menzies Hotel Sydney
Menzies Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Menzies Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.