We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity Sporters bar doesn't stay open for the whole game” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Menzies Sydney to your Saves list
The Menzies Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Carrington Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pity Sporters bar doesn't stay open for the whole game”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our stay at The Menzies was enjoyable. My only problem with it was while we were in Sydney our football team was playing on the Friday night. As we were unable to get tickets to the game, the hotels Sporters Bar advertised that you could watch the match live, so we headed down stairs to watch the game, the only problem being they closed the bar 5 mins before the end of the game and wouldn't even let us watch the end of the game. As far as I'm concerned, you don't advertise being able to watch a match in a Sporters bar and then turn the tv offf with only 5 mins to go. Apart from that everything else was spot on

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to reveiw The Menzies Hotel and providing this valuable feedback in regards to Sporters Bar.
I am sorry to hear you didn't get to see the end result of the game and apologise for the early closure of the bar. I will pass this feedback onto our food and beverage manager to ensure other guests do not have the same unfortunate experience, I know how it feels in those final minutes!

Thank you for your positive response on the rest of the hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Warm Regards,

Michael Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    1,529
    1,101
    353
    146
See reviews for
943
1,360
343
687
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We went for Anzac Day so the location was excellent, the noise around the city was expected but coming from a quiet area some of the family had a little trouble with sirens. It is an older hotel so the bathroom was an older style but clean and had all the necessities. We needed more towels and I found the staff and they gave me plenty plus more soap etc, no trouble.The staff were helpful and the place itself was very quiet. As our cost included breakfast it was good value and a lovely smorgasbord breakfast was supplied. Overall we had a very good stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Menzies Hotel Sydney.

The hotel is a historic landmark of Sydney and with that comes a heritage style, and I appreciate your understanding in regards to the bathroom facilites, as despite this we do strive to keep the rooms clean and well equipped.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the Anzac day festivites with us at the hotel in the heart of Sydney. Thank you for your consideration of the noise on such as busy day and we are happy you found the hotel itself quiet and comfortable. It is always great to receive positive feedback on the breakfast in the Carrington Restaurant, and I will most definitely pass this onto the food and beverage staff as well as the chefs.

We hope to see you at the hotel soon and look forward to welcoming you back for more festivities.

Warm Regards

Michael Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Great location for city, trains, shopping but hotel shows a tired look. Room was adequate but needed two easy chairs considering room with two beds. No dresser either. Service was great when asked for fresh line and replacement lightbulb. Excellent breakfast included in our price. Like all hotels in Aussie / NZ free wifi for all rooms would be great. Necessary for today's travellers although some free wifi in caves around hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to review The Menzies Hotel Sydney.

I have taken on board your feedback regarding the layout and room furniture and have passed it on to both our houskeeping and management team.
It might interest you to know that our Wi-Fi options have recently changed and while we are unfortunately unable to offer if for free, as most Australian and New Zealand cannot, we do now offer connection to up to three devices per connection fee. I hope you will be able to take advantage of these improvements.

I am happy that breakfast surpassed your expectations as did the service of the staff. It is definitely something we pride ourselves on here at The Menzis Hotel and continually strive to exceed. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the staff to serve as encouragement for the future.

We hope to see you back at the hotel soon.
Warm Regards,

Michael Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Perfect location for circular quays and the rocks, just a 5 minute walk away. Room clean and tidy and from my experience of city hotels reasonably sized. Room on 18th floor at back of hotel so no views, but very quite ! Staff friendly although sports bar closed at 9pm ? There are plenty of seating areas in the lobby/lounge though. Sometimes a long wait for elevators if used at busy times.
Breakfast a bit of a free for all when busy, but eventually the hot dishes get replenished. Excellent value for money, Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thankyou for reviewing the Menzies Hotel Sydney.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and felt it to be excellent value. We continually to strive for service differentiation as well as providing high quality facilites to our guests. I appreciate the feedback on the bar closure and the lift wait time and will pass these remarks onto the food and beverage department and the engineering department respectively.
They will use this feedback to improve the facility standards as well as review hotel operations.

Kind Regards,

Michael Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We are Accor members and have been for over 10 years so were we're quite dismayed to be given a room with a view of a corrugated iron roof with rubbish on it and no natural sunlight. We utilised our free night which we paid over $200 in membership renewal for and really did expect something better. Maybe members are just second-class citizens now. We were tired and didn't have the energy to complain. On the plus side the room was spacious and the two double beds made for a good nights sleep and given we felt as though we were in a cave, maybe that's why. Not sure we'll be renewing our Accor membership as wotif offers far better deals. Bathroom was not very clean either, black mould in the shower tiles and dust under the vanity.Cheryl Pech.

Room Tip: Ask for a window that gets some sunlight otherwise you feel like you're in a cave!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review The Menzies Hotel Sydney.

I was dissapointed to read this response and that you are unhappy with the Accor Advantage Plus Membership program. At the hotel, we strive to provide excellent customer service, and ensure that a strong focus is on our valued Advantage Plus members, as let me assure you that you are in no way perceived as second-calss citizens. As members, the hotel values your loyalty to the Accor group and I am sorry you feel this was not met during your stay this time.

In regards to the room, it is unfortunate that you had a Wynyard Lane facing room. Due to the high-rise nature of the CBD, the hotel is only lucky enough to have one park facing side, and the other rooms are generally located on the other side of the property. I apologise and ensure that if you choose to re-visit us we will allocate you a different room in another part of the hotel.

As for the cleanliness of the bathroom, I am deeply apologetic and will be passing this remark to the housekeeping department. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

It is positive that you had a restful sleep and that you found the room to be comfortable and spacious.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take our reputation as well as your experience very seriosuly.


Warm Regards,

Michael Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Upon arriving at the hotel with my two daughters (one in a wheelchair) we were shown to our room. I was really disappointed - it was incredibly small and really old. I rang reception and we were upgraded immediately to a lovely spacious and refurbished room. The staff were lovely. The hotel itself is lovely. The looked as though it was under going construction.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to review the Menzies Hotel Sydney.

I am delighted to hear that both you and your daughters had an enjoyable stay at the hotel. I am pleased to know that you received a new room efficiently.
It is always wonderful to receive feedback on our reception staff and I will be sure to pass it on to the team, and it will hopefully serve as encouragement to continue to exceed service standards.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Michael Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed at the Menzies for 3 nights, this hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the city overlooking Wynyard Park, close to Sydney's shopping and business district with famous attractions including the Sydney Opera House, The Rocks, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Darling Harbour and more... comfortable beds and decent size room with full buffet breakfast. Overall a good 4 star hotel and with excellent service

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2977-gm01, General Manager at The Menzies Sydney, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to review the Menzies Hotel Sydney.

It is a pleasure to hear of your wonderful stay and that you obviously took advantage of the great location to see some of Sydney's beautiful sites and attractions. It is always a delight to receive positive feedback and I will pass on your regards for the service to the staff, as I'm sure it will encourage the team to continue to strive for excellence.

Kind Regards,

Michael Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Menzies Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Menzies Sydney

Address: 14 Carrington Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Menzies Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Menzies Sydney is a 4 star hotel located on Wynyard Park in the heart of Sydney. With 446 beautifully appointed rooms, this is the ideal choice for business trips, holidays and exciting city breaks. With extensive conference facilities catering for up to 450 delegates, the hotel also boasts three bars, two restaurants and a swimming pool. City attractions such as the historic Rocks precinct, Circular Quay and the Sydney Opera House are on your doorstep, with immediate access to public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Menzies Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menzies Sydney Hotel Sydney
The Menzies Hotel Sydney
Menzies Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Menzies Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.