We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location could not be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Save Saved
You added The Menzies Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Menzies Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Carrington Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location could not be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Although the Menzies has been around for a few years now it has been looked after and is now something of a grand old lady of Sydney. The location, right opposite Wynyard Station and a short walk to Circular Key and Pitt Street shopping, could not be better for a short stay. The bars and restaurants of Darling Harbour and Cockle Bay are a little further afield but after a visit there the walk will do you good anyway. The only negative noted during our stay was the slight musty smell noticeable in the corridors. Fortunately this did not permeate into the room. The bed, a king size, was very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    577
    1,326
    929
    295
    114
See reviews for
810
1155
315
572
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a great stay at the Menzies, but the following is for information.
TV too small
Bed too soft - but that is just preference.
Breakfast Buffet needs a lot of attention to bring it up to other hotel standards.
Sporters bar was great.
Location was just perfect.
Service, didn't see much of anybody to comment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Great location, but shame about the hotel. The first room we checked into was dirty, we were moved to another room. The decor is very dated and probably looked good when it was decorated in the early nineties. If we hadn't paid in advance I would have walked out and gone somewhere else. There was water provided in the room at 8 dollars for a 1 litre bottle, which is a complete rip off; so much so that we didn't buy anything else from the hotel. I would not recommend this place at all.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I had a lovely brief stay with my Grandchildren aged 7 and 5 .Their only criteria was a pool and a spa.As a member of actors advantage plus , I had stayed with the Menzies before on a few occasions and knew how central the rail was to come in handy for our trip to the Capitol theatre . The kiddies were well pleased when we arrived out the front,which is the only place to drop luggage otherwise you have to cart it up or down stairs from carpark and also into hotel , up more steps . The room had a king bed with park view which was what ai booked online. Smaller than a lot of other hotel rooms , however comfy bed , bath , which kids also notes was small . We then made our way to the pool and spa after our two hour trip and Grandmas silly back really looking forward to the relaxation before the theatre. broken spa , mmmmm Nothing on any website to notify the clientele .. upsetting .. The pool was enjoyed although I had to watch Master five as there was a large bit of wood blocking a hole from spa to pool . . A nice comfortable bed was available and the breakfast crew on Saturday 19 th January need to be commended as they were Absolutely rushed off their feet and managed to keep the food coming, well prepared and hot. Very impressive .. A huge gripe which is becoming too familiar in hotels. this carpark is over priced at $45 overnight and as mentioned above , quite inconvenient as far as getting car out, gear out etc. I truly think us as the public user need to petition hotel management and CEO s to change the parking charges or at least gain a greater discount.Overall , with my card , a very reasonably priced room, very lovely and amazingly priced breakfast at $15 for all three of us but no saving as the car parking is way too high

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We booked this hotel through Qantas and it was excellent value for the location, close to Wynyard Station and within easy walking distance to all Syney icons. The staff were friendly and efficient. The room was spotlessly clean, but very tired and dated. Good shower, thin towels, reasonable amenities. The noise from the hallway (squeaking door on & off all night) was disturbing. However, for the price we paid and the location, this was a good deal.

Room Tip: See if there is a part of the hotel which has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Menzies Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Menzies Sydney

Address: 14 Carrington Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Menzies Sydney 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Menzies Sydney is a 4 star hotel located on Wynyard Park in the heart of Sydney. With 446 beautifully appointed rooms, this is the ideal choice for business trips, holidays and exciting city breaks. With extensive conference facilities catering for up to 450 delegates, the hotel also boasts three bars, two restaurants and a swimming pool. City attractions such as the historic Rocks precinct, Circular Quay and the Sydney Opera House are on your doorstep, with immediate access to public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Menzies Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menzies Sydney Hotel Sydney
The Menzies Hotel Sydney
Menzies Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Menzies Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.