We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fire alarm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Save Saved
You added The Menzies Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Menzies Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Carrington Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fire alarm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A very disruptive night. The hotel fire alarm sounded at 3am and rang for half an hour. No one came to my room to give instructions or offer evacuation help. No direct explanation of whether the alarm was genuine or false. No apology given. Eventually a brief announcement was made through the PA that there was no fire. I understand the importance of having systems that protect us from fire, however the hotel should given more consideration to the experience through patrons eyes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    576
    1,325
    929
    295
    114
See reviews for
808
1155
315
572
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great location, trains, buses and taxis right out the front door.
Easy stroll to the Rocks, Quay and Darling harbor .
Plenty of restaurants to choose, from the hotel or the many restaurants around the hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We enjoyed a three day stay in standard 2 double bed room with buffet breakfast. An easy location used airport train to Wynyard Station located directly across the road from the hotel. Hotel has a nice feel about it. The room is dated needs refurbishing although clean and funcional. Beds comfortable room was quiet. Housekeeping was excellent. Buffet breakfast had good variety busy but flowed. Its location is the seller easy walk to Darling Harbour, the Rocks, Circular Quay, shopping, Sydney Tower.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Great location, and spacious rooms make this a nice place to stay. The staff are friendly and breakfast is a well laid out spread. No wireless was a let down, but pool and gym were great additions. In summary, a comfortable environment overall.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yass nsw australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Good morning.

This past Saturday night, we stayed at the Menzies Hotel Sydney. We booked and paid for a Queen room on the 10/10/2012. Our reservation number was G7W-0J3L.

When we arrived we were put into a double room. When we questioned this the next morning at checkout, we were told that there had been rush on bookings that weekend and that no Queen rooms were available. We were not told this at check in. Considering that we booked a month in advance, I would have thought that we would have priority over any last minute "rush on bookings".

The check out cashier was "KATED". Kated said that the Queen rooms were allocated on a first in basis. We checked in at 2.30pm, only half an hour after the time to check in.

A number of other issues detracted from our to be pleasant stay at the famed Menzies.

The carpark attendant was rude on our arrival, complaining about people being stupid and he should be at home on his pension not dealing with this. We acknowledge that the car park is an independent company, but it still was not a good omen for the stay.
As stated above, the room was not the right type. Double instead of the booked Queen, even though we had booked and paid for the room a month in advance.
The room had limited supplies .. not biscuits for example, toilet rolls half used. No mini bar.
The toilet was faulty, not flushing properly.
The beds were old and uncomfortable.
The general cleanliness of the room and corridors was poor. No one had vacuumed to the edge of the walls for some time.

I'm sorry, but we cannot recommend the ageing Menzies as a quality stay in Sydney. The hotel is certainly tired.

Disappointed.

John Terrey

30 Dutton Street
YASS NSW 2582
(02) 6226 5571

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Menzies Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Menzies Sydney

Address: 14 Carrington Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Menzies Sydney 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Menzies Sydney is a 4 star hotel located on Wynyard Park in the heart of Sydney. With 446 beautifully appointed rooms, this is the ideal choice for business trips, holidays and exciting city breaks. With extensive conference facilities catering for up to 450 delegates, the hotel also boasts three bars, two restaurants and a swimming pool. City attractions such as the historic Rocks precinct, Circular Quay and the Sydney Opera House are on your doorstep, with immediate access to public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Menzies Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menzies Sydney Hotel Sydney
The Menzies Hotel Sydney
Menzies Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Menzies Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.