We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sydney trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Save Saved
You added The Menzies Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Menzies Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Carrington Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Sydney trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Fantastic location, hotel was clean and frendly staff however the room we were give was not very good as it was a bit small and in need of a reno. But in the end the Hotel stay was very good and i wouldn`t hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    576
    1,324
    929
    295
    114
See reviews for
807
1155
315
572
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in the first week of October. We booked a standard double room. On arrival it was obvious that this was once one of the great hotels in Sydney. However, it has now been surpassed with other more modern hotels and is starting to look rather old and tired. Our room was not particularly impressive - it was at the back of the hotel and the view was of the rear of another building. On our first night I had trouble sleeping due to some rather noisy extract fans outside. I called reception and they sent a manager up to our room to investigate. He agreed that it was noisy and kindly moved us to another room on the sixth floor at the front of the hotel. This turned out to be a suite, for vwhich we were extremely grateful. We chose not to eat here because we had such a short stay and wanted to experience Sydney. However, the restaurants looked fine and there were good menus. The hotel also has a pool, though it is rather small. The staff were always pleasant and attentive and we ended up in the Piano bar at the end of both nights where we were entertained by a very nice young lady at the piano. This is a good place to stay in terms of location - you are only minutes away by foot from Circular Harbour, The Rocks, Harbour Bridge, Rotal Botanical Gardens and most of the attractions. Our only negative comment would be that thie hotel could do with a major refurbishment.

Room Tip: Try to book a room at the front of the hotel - there is only a view of the back of other buildings a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Disappointed with the Restaurant at Dinner. No one told us to book the restaurant for dinner, hence we arrived only to be told that all tables have been booked. ( Although we noted three vacant tables). We had to wait for 40 minutes on the lounge in the dinner room. In that time no one came to us to let us know how long the wait would be. Very bad PR.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I was very disappointed with the standard of this hotel. My room was in the North Wing and the furniture was so old and battered it looked like they had picked it up off the street from a Council pick up. The tap dripped incessantly and needed a wrench to turn it on and off. The TV is tiny and there was a constant industrial rumbling noise which disturbed my sleep. Yes the location is central although better for business than tourism, the staff polite and the bed comfortable but there are far better choices in Sydney without a Dickensian feel. It is all very well to try and pull off that this a time honoured Gentelman's club feel but the truth is that is just a decaying old dump built in the sixties that needs an immediate makeover. I have truly stayed in better hostels than this..avoid

Room Tip: Beg them not to put you in the staff quarters, sorry I mean North Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and we didn't regret it at all! I think it's just been renovated, the lobby looks great and everything is just so clean and shiny. The room is just the perfect size we need, not too small as we thought we saw from some pictures here. Oh and another thing, we got there at 10am and the receptionist kindly offered us to just go ahead use the room even it wasn't time to check in yet. Satisfied indeed!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Menzies Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Menzies Sydney

Address: 14 Carrington Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Menzies Sydney 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Menzies Sydney is a 4 star hotel located on Wynyard Park in the heart of Sydney. With 446 beautifully appointed rooms, this is the ideal choice for business trips, holidays and exciting city breaks. With extensive conference facilities catering for up to 450 delegates, the hotel also boasts three bars, two restaurants and a swimming pool. City attractions such as the historic Rocks precinct, Circular Quay and the Sydney Opera House are on your doorstep, with immediate access to public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Menzies Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menzies Sydney Hotel Sydney
The Menzies Hotel Sydney
Menzies Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Menzies Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.