We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay to your Saves list
Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Stay & Save Sale
Ranked #22 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
studentsmum
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

There are many good hotels, alot of not so good hotels and then there are fantastic hotels, these are harder to find and worth recommending to your best friends.

The Marriot Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay offers the traveller a refreshingly wonderful level of service and care that makes for a memorable experience.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    715
    220
    73
    44
See reviews for
375
650
118
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

We were taking advantage of a Qantas deal to fly our two children free (aged 9 and 11) to Sydney, from NZ. I did a fair bit of research as we needed a hotel room which would sleep four and had a swimming pool and a view of the harbour bridge. The Marriott fitted the bill and I made sure to confirm prior to our arrival that we definitely wanted a good view. We were on the 26th floor, and we looked out to the harbour on an angle but with a good view of the Opera House (it's not front on as you'd have to stay on the other side of Sydney for that). The room was very clean and tidy and comfortable. Our deal included the buffet breakfast on the weekend mornings (not the weekdays) and it was fabulous and set all four of us up for the day, so that only a snack was needed at lunch time. The location was great, just a very short walk (3 mins) to Circular Quay where all the ferries are, and a couple of minutes walk to the new Overseas Passenger Terminal (fantastic views from restaurants there) and the Rocks, where the Hop On/Hop Off bus stop was. It was quite an easy walk to the main department stores etc although probably took about 15-20 minutes. We didn't walk to the Botanic Gardens (we drove) but you could walk quite easily and there's a great cafe there called The Pavillion. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the kids loved the pool - although if no staff member around (ie early mornings and evenings) you seemed to have to take your bath towels down which was a bit annoying. Otherwise they had other towels there. We were really pleased with the experience and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

The good: The location can't be beat - right on Circular Quay. Our room looked right out onto the Harbour Bridge - a nice view to wake up to. It took about 5 minutes to walk to Circular Quay once leaving the hotel. The concierge was extremely helpful and pleasant. Ice was always delivered quickly and without a charge. The pool and hot tub were nice. And, there is an arrivals lounge on the 6th floor - after a long flight, we arrived at 8am, and were given the key to the lounge where we could take a shower, freshen up, use the internet, and have coffee.

The bad: The service from the staff at reception was below typical Full Service Marriott standards, in my opinion. The elevators were irritating due to the time it took to catch the elevator, and the need to always use the key card to access your floor.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

My wife and I stayed in Sydney for 5 nights at the start of our honeymoon. We wanted to pick a hotel with a central location that would allow us to navigate Sydney without having to spent much on transportation. After agonizing for hours on TripAdvisor and reading every review possible for what seemed like hundreds of hotels, we decided on the Marriot in Circular Quay. We could not have been happier.

The Sydney Harbour was a brief 5 minute walk. Our first night there we ate at Wolfie's in the Harbor. I had the biggest rack of ribs ever in my life. A+ cuisine. During the day we were able to walk to every part of Sydney that we wanted to see. Darling Harbour was about a 15 minute walk that didn't even feel like it took that long.

The hotel itself is typical of what you would expect for a Marriott. We used the gym facilities daily and paid for internet access. I would highly recommend this hotel for anybody looking for a great value in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

We checked into the Marriott for 3 nights after our cruise ship docked at the Circular Quay. The hotel is only 2 blocks away from the overseas passenger terminal. The cab fees is $4 but we gave the driver $15 as he did not complain and helped us with the luggage. Bell services was great but the front desk can definitely use some improvements.

Room is reasonable for a 4 star hotel but we did not have a harbour view. That would have cost us at least an additional $70/night for an upgrade.

Internet is $20 a day from the room, but one can purchase a 30 minutes voucher for $5, or use the Internet cafe at the convenience store across the street. We did not use the restaurants in the hotel as there are great selections nearby, particularly by the Opera House watching the ferries and the cruise ship sail by.

The hotel is ideally located at the Circular Quay. Great location for train , buses and ferries to Bondi and Manly beaches and is within walking distance to the Opera House. For $17 a day, one can purchase a day pass good for all trains, buses and ferries, a very good deal if you stay at the Circular Quay.

Taxis are plentiful and costs us $35 to the airport. Alternatively one can take the train if luggage is not a concern.

We were glad that we stayed at the Marriott as we able to cover a lot due to the location at a prepaid discount rate through Priceline.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

We had booked an aparthotel for 10 nights. it was a disappointment so we looked for another hotel immediately. After a long haul flight we were not at our best but the staff at reception could not have been more helpful and welcoming. we were shown round the hotel. We needed some flexibility as our children were visiting us while we were in sydney. The hotel came up with an excellent solution and we transferred immediately. when we arrived with our suitcases we had been upgraded and were given use of the executive room . This was an unexpected bonus and for a longish stay made the visit unforgettable. If you were lucky you got THE table at breakfast with a stunning view of Sydney Opera House to your right and Sydney Harbour Bridge to your left.
We also looked at the Four Seasons hotel. A lovely hotel but the gentleman at reception was frosty towards us and certainly not welcoming.

The suite in tHe Marriott was of a high standard and all the staff were friendly, keen to help but unobtrusive. Excellent experience.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend who had stayed there several years ago. It didn't live up to our expectations at all. The rooms were not ready even though I had reserved early check in, the room offered was smelly and rank. The furnishings were shabby and the room was not cleaned properly. We asked to be moved and then second room was only a wee bit better! The front desk didn't seem to know how to process the certificate I as awarded by my company and in conjunction with Marriott. Each day as I attempted to use my breakfast coupons, I was giving conflicting information by front desk and rest staff. The first concierge was not as his title suggested, but rather indifferent and rather abrupt with his answers- the second concierge's friendliness made up for all of the others.
Overall I was not impressed by the hotel in anyway. Were I forced to stay there, I would only because I was forced, but I would never recommend this hotel to anyone else .

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#30 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay is the perfect hotel for those wanting a truly Sydney experience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and the world famous Sydney Opera House, the downtown Sydney hotel can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca, and just moments away from the historic Rocks district. As Sydney’s premier waterfront hotel, guests are also invited to indulge in a luxurious array of treatments in the day spa, including indoor pool, without leaving the 5-star property. Whether savouring finely crafted cuisine at the renowned Icons brassiere restaurant or retiring to the spacious opulence of your guest room which is complete with picturesque harbour views, the accent throughout is on trusted personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.