We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cannot fault it, any way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Save Saved
You added Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #25 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“cannot fault it, any way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here many times already (4? 6? 10?), never been a disappointment.
Hotel is close to metro stations (for work I have to use Wynard-or-similar, 10 minute walk), Circular Quay train is 5 minutes away. So are ferries (think Manly beach).

Didn't eat in hotel, got tons of vouchers but they all were "eat until 7pm" or something - bad timing if you're working. Breakfast in the lounge (platinum) - just decent, nothing more. They definitely should improve on scrabled eggs, as now they are gross (and they always were, I think I did a review once, few years ago). Tons of food around the hotel, BTW, all expensive - as expected from both CBD and Australia in general.
Taxis generally quickly available as needed.
Evening bar pretty good, nice bartenders, nice small food.

You're basically in a mid-CBD, so if you're here for work, that's the place. For sightseeing - not so sure.

I will definitely return (for business).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    773
    647
    197
    65
    45
See reviews for
338
584
109
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed September 2009. Clean hotel and friendly staff. Standard was as expected from any Marriott hotel. Excellent central location near to Sydney Harbour. Quick check in and check out. No problems to be reported with this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. It was my birthday, and we got a very tasty mousse cake complimentary from the hotel. My fiance rated the beds at this hotel as the best of any hotel she had stayed in, and i agree. The staff were very helpful, and we will definitely be back!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stay at this hotel at least once each year when my business travel brings me to Sydney. Every year it’s the same great story – great facility, great rooms, and great staff. I usually arrive on the early morning flight well before rooms are ready, but it's never a problem. There is an arrivals lounge with wi-fi and coffee machines they allow me to take advantage of, and then they store my bags while I take a walk to enjoy the city. When I get back, the bags are usually in the room. Always a great start to the trip.

I am a “budget” business traveler and only Silver-level elite status at Marriott, so I have not yet had the experience of staying in or being upgraded to one of the rooms with the amazing Bridge or Opera House views. Yet I’m still a total fan of this hotel and have been very happy with my “City View” room on each stay. Thanks to friends with elite status, I have seen the Bridge and Opera House views from the Executive Lounge and they do not disappoint!

The rooms are clean, bright, and easy for me to get work done. Noise has never been an issue, and the beds are wonderful. Plenty of outlets in all the right places means it’s never a problem plugging in multiple laptops, camera battery charger, phone charger, etc. And the views from the city view rooms are still great! Sydney is a beautiful city day and night, and one of my very favorite destinations.

Breakfast at the hotel is good, but I prefer the little shop immediately as you turn left coming out of the hotel (and I believe part of the same building). They do an excellent breakfast sandwich, fruit and granola, and latte or other gourmet coffee for a much better price. I love grabbing a table near the street and watching the morning commuters walking from the train at Circular Quay into the city.

Location-wise, the hotel is perfectly situated, as so many others have said. It’s wonderful to be just a few footsteps away from Circular Quay, a place I still love to wander after multiple visits. Likewise, the proximity to The Rocks and downtown shopping and business areas is excellent. The sundry shop across the street is open 24-hours, so if the hotel hasn't got what you need this place will. There is also a great post office right next to the hotel (Take advantage of being so close to all the city has to offer; you won’t go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: The higher the better for any view! Obviously the Bridge and Opera House views are the best, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I recently stayed at the Marriott Sydney Harbour Hotel. The service is excellent like I know from many Marriotts around the world. The location is a five minute walk to The Rocks and two minutes to Circular Quay. The lounge downstairs is ok; the breakfast buffet and service very good. Ask to have your coffee made - they do an excellent latte. The rooms are gorgeous: quiet, nice views and large. Simply an excellent hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great position - very central, with in walking distance of the Rocks, Harbour, Opera House, Botanic gardens, restaurants etc. Staff were all very helpful. Room clean and well fitted out & presented. Excellent breakfast options. Did not have an evening meal in the hotel - so cant comment further. Hotel communal areas work well and look good.
However - I have 2 comments for improvement. The first is that for a hotel of this quality - I resent having to pay for wifi in my room. It was free in the lobby - but it is not the same. Free wifi is now pretty much standard in any 3+ star hotel in the UK / Europe (and even on a recent trip to South America!).
So why isn't it included in Sydney? The second - is the additional charge for paying by Credit card. We all know that the credit card companies charge for this service - just include in in your costs. It just irritates to be told the bill is more that that quoted when booking - for paying by credit card.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Marriott is perfectly located. It's a few minute walk to the ferries, and other transportation. About a 10 minute walk to the Sydney Opera House. The hotel has the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The pillows are plentiful and comfortable. The comforter is plush. The room temperature is controlled by a thermostat. It is amazingly quiet. The gym facilities are very nice. The pool is large enough to swim laps. The hot tub/spa is hot enough and very relaxing. They have saunas in the ladies and men's changing rooms with showers, changing area, etc. immaculate. The staff has been wonderful and very helpful directing us to various locations. The complimentary wifi in the rooms and around the hotel worked very well. They do offer complimentary electrical plug converters. We had one but the additional one they had in the room helped.
If I get back to Sydney, I would definitely stay at this Marriott.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor 6. It made the elevator ride quick. They have quite a few elevators so the wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#30 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay is the perfect hotel for those wanting a truly Sydney experience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and the world famous Sydney Opera House, the downtown Sydney hotel can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca, and just moments away from the historic Rocks district. As Sydney’s premier waterfront hotel, guests are also invited to indulge in a luxurious array of treatments in the day spa, including indoor pool, without leaving the 5-star property. Whether savouring finely crafted cuisine at the renowned Icons brassiere restaurant or retiring to the spacious opulence of your guest room which is complete with picturesque harbour views, the accent throughout is on trusted personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.