We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay to your Saves list
Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Delights Package
Ranked #34 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed September 2009. Clean hotel and friendly staff. Standard was as expected from any Marriott hotel. Excellent central location near to Sydney Harbour. Quick check in and check out. No problems to be reported with this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. It was my birthday, and we got a very tasty mousse cake complimentary from the hotel. My fiance rated the beds at this hotel as the best of any hotel she had stayed in, and i agree. The staff were very helpful, and we will definitely be back!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank benblinkau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stay at this hotel at least once each year when my business travel brings me to Sydney. Every year it’s the same great story – great facility, great rooms, and great staff. I usually arrive on the early morning flight well before rooms are ready, but it's never a problem. There is an arrivals lounge with wi-fi and coffee machines they allow me to take advantage of, and then they store my bags while I take a walk to enjoy the city. When I get back, the bags are usually in the room. Always a great start to the trip.

I am a “budget” business traveler and only Silver-level elite status at Marriott, so I have not yet had the experience of staying in or being upgraded to one of the rooms with the amazing Bridge or Opera House views. Yet I’m still a total fan of this hotel and have been very happy with my “City View” room on each stay. Thanks to friends with elite status, I have seen the Bridge and Opera House views from the Executive Lounge and they do not disappoint!

The rooms are clean, bright, and easy for me to get work done. Noise has never been an issue, and the beds are wonderful. Plenty of outlets in all the right places means it’s never a problem plugging in multiple laptops, camera battery charger, phone charger, etc. And the views from the city view rooms are still great! Sydney is a beautiful city day and night, and one of my very favorite destinations.

Breakfast at the hotel is good, but I prefer the little shop immediately as you turn left coming out of the hotel (and I believe part of the same building). They do an excellent breakfast sandwich, fruit and granola, and latte or other gourmet coffee for a much better price. I love grabbing a table near the street and watching the morning commuters walking from the train at Circular Quay into the city.

Location-wise, the hotel is perfectly situated, as so many others have said. It’s wonderful to be just a few footsteps away from Circular Quay, a place I still love to wander after multiple visits. Likewise, the proximity to The Rocks and downtown shopping and business areas is excellent. The sundry shop across the street is open 24-hours, so if the hotel hasn't got what you need this place will. There is also a great post office right next to the hotel (Take advantage of being so close to all the city has to offer; you won’t go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: The higher the better for any view! Obviously the Bridge and Opera House views are the best, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UsaTravelinfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I recently stayed at the Marriott Sydney Harbour Hotel. The service is excellent like I know from many Marriotts around the world. The location is a five minute walk to The Rocks and two minutes to Circular Quay. The lounge downstairs is ok; the breakfast buffet and service very good. Ask to have your coffee made - they do an excellent latte. The rooms are gorgeous: quiet, nice views and large. Simply an excellent hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great position - very central, with in walking distance of the Rocks, Harbour, Opera House, Botanic gardens, restaurants etc. Staff were all very helpful. Room clean and well fitted out & presented. Excellent breakfast options. Did not have an evening meal in the hotel - so cant comment further. Hotel communal areas work well and look good.
However - I have 2 comments for improvement. The first is that for a hotel of this quality - I resent having to pay for wifi in my room. It was free in the lobby - but it is not the same. Free wifi is now pretty much standard in any 3+ star hotel in the UK / Europe (and even on a recent trip to South America!).
So why isn't it included in Sydney? The second - is the additional charge for paying by Credit card. We all know that the credit card companies charge for this service - just include in in your costs. It just irritates to be told the bill is more that that quoted when booking - for paying by credit card.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Marriott is perfectly located. It's a few minute walk to the ferries, and other transportation. About a 10 minute walk to the Sydney Opera House. The hotel has the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The pillows are plentiful and comfortable. The comforter is plush. The room temperature is controlled by a thermostat. It is amazingly quiet. The gym facilities are very nice. The pool is large enough to swim laps. The hot tub/spa is hot enough and very relaxing. They have saunas in the ladies and men's changing rooms with showers, changing area, etc. immaculate. The staff has been wonderful and very helpful directing us to various locations. The complimentary wifi in the rooms and around the hotel worked very well. They do offer complimentary electrical plug converters. We had one but the additional one they had in the room helped.
If I get back to Sydney, I would definitely stay at this Marriott.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor 6. It made the elevator ride quick. They have quite a few elevators so the wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gneiss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I booked a package on Wotif to celebrate my husband's birthday. The package was excellent value as it included parking, breakfast, late checkout & other goodies - including a bottle of wine. From the moment our car was valet parked we were impressed by the friendly, welcoming & efficient service. However, we were overwhelmed when we entered our room to find there was a birthday card & complimentary beers on ice for my husband! It was a lovely, personal touch which was truly appreciated. Our room was on the 21st floor with magnificent views of the bridge & the city. The room was spotlessly clean & the bed amazingly comfortable! Breakfast was lovely with abundant choices, but it was the friendliness of the staff & "nothing is too much trouble" (with a smile) that really made our stay special. Highly recommended - & we'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 181 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,063 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#24 of 181 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 4,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 181 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#31 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay is the perfect hotel for those wanting a truly Sydney experience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and the world famous Sydney Opera House, the downtown Sydney hotel can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca, and just moments away from the historic Rocks district. As Sydney’s premier waterfront hotel, guests are also invited to indulge in a luxurious array of treatments in the day spa, including indoor pool, without leaving the 5-star property. Whether savouring finely crafted cuisine at the renowned Icons brassiere restaurant or retiring to the spacious opulence of your guest room which is complete with picturesque harbour views, the accent throughout is on trusted personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing