We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, good breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Save Saved
You added Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Receive $100 credit
Ranked #25 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent location, good breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay for a week in a regular city view room. The hotel is very centrally located, very close to the Sydney Opera House and the Rocks. I arrived early in the morning, and as my room was not available at the time, the hotel directed me to the arrivals lounge where coffee and muffins were offered.
On following mornings, I enjoyd the breakfast in the restaurant very much, waiters were friendly and there was plenty to choose from.
The room, on the other hand, was nothing to write home about. Yes, it was clean but lacked storage possibilities (eg no drawers), bathroom was a bit worn out and the shower was more a "get-yourself-wet-but-nothing-more"-device than a shower, also lacking a proper thermostat. So not only was there a limited amount of water pressure, the temperature of the water tended to vary on its own. Not a very comfortable combination of features.
Overall, the hotel staff was quite friendly and helpful.
Combining the bad shower with a practice of applying a credit card surcharge of 1,5% (as if handling cash was free of charge or risk for the hotel!), I am only rating this hotel with three stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    787
    662
    198
    66
    44
See reviews for
346
590
111
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have never been disappointed with the Marriott Hotels. Usually stay in LA Marriott. First time staying in Sydney Harbour Marriott and it was up to the high Marriott standard. Those beds!!! Wow!! Staff so helpful and always greet you. First class all the way. Thank you

Room Tip: Stayed on the 25th floor. So quiet and a fantastic view of harbour bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning and end of our trip to Australia. We started with a view of the Sydney Harbor Bridge and ended with the view of the Sydney Opera House. Both were great as they were on high floors. If you are a Marriott Rewards member with status, you will truly enjoy the Executive Club on the 30th floor - very hearty breakfast, including eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmeal, fruit, and breads. The evenings include great appetizers, beer, wine, and liquor - all included. Everything in Sydney is expensive so we figured having access to the club easily saved $100 USD/day.

The location really makes this hotel. It is located one block from the Circular Quay, a short walk to the Sydney Opera House, Royal Botanic Gardens, The Rocks, and the Sydney Harbour Bridge. It's also an easy walk to Hyde Park, Darling Harbour, Queen Victoria Building, and Chinatown.

The room was very spacious, including enough drawers and hanging space for two people to unpack. The bathroom was large enough for both of us to move around at the same time, although the shower stall was a bit small. The room had a safe and again, for Marriott Rewards members, the wireless internet is free. Housekeeping did a fine job of cleaning and the rooms were relatively quiet. We did have a problem with a spoiled, rotten child screaming and pounding on the wall in the evening and the morning. We called the front desk at least three times and nothing was done. We were told that the hotel was sold out, but we were lucky because the rude neighbors were checking out the next day.

A big thank you to Allan G., the Concierge, who went out of his way to coordinate getting us a City to Surf running shirt that weekend when 85,000 runners were in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and to be located at the end of the hall. It makes for a quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa, ca
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Thinking this Marriott would be comparable with Westin, Hyatt or four seasons--we decided to book iit and we booked at Club Level for $140 a day more . ( we are in the Marriott club) What a mistake!! I'll list our complaints:
1. Room has NO drawers and a small triangle shaped closet, fitting 4 hangers and an ironing board!.?!

2. Room furniture was very cheap quality and uncomfortable--not appropriate for this level room .
Wallpaper was torn and carpet stained. (Supposedly recently updated )

3. Bathroom was small and cramped--only 1 person at a time size! No makeup mirror and very slippery bathtub out of a plastic type material .

4. The thermostat had to be fixed , and the door key cards (6 sets) never worked consistently!!

5. Turndown was between 3-4 pm. Really? That's nap time!

6. The club--for breakfast and evening appetizers--was understaffed and resembled a cafeteria. Several times, people put their plates down and actually checked out--since there were no available tables.

7. Most evenings there were no available front door staff to get cabs or cars---even Weekends

We feel this Marriott is the same amenities and quality as a Marriott Residence Inn. Do not expect
a 4-5 star experience. If that is what you want , we would suggest the other upper end hotel chains, like Westin or Intercontinental.

Room Tip: We had high club room and it still was so below top quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have no idea how anyone could give this hotel 5 stars. At best this is a 3 star (average) hotel. Nothing really stood out during our 4 night stay here with my 19 month old son, wife and I. Our City view room was clean, bed was comfortable, the room size was what you would expect for a large City hotel. We read a lot of reviews giving 4 and 5 star to this hotel purely because of its location. There are half a dozen hotels around the same area so I don’t think the “location” praise is warranted. I would not call this hotel “kid friendly” at all, hence the 2 starts. We asked for a crib for my son, what we received was a metal cage about ¾ the size of the portable cribs at other hotels we stayed during our month long holiday in Australia and New Zealand. It was too small for our 31” son to sleep in so he slept on the bed with us. Which in turn meant we got very little sleep. Worst yet these side adjustable cribs are now banned in the states and the EU (and I would expect Australia) It was not a pleasant 4 night for us in Sydney. We would not stay at this hotel again unless using award points.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Sydney Marriott is in a great location. Get a harbor view from a high floor, it's well worth it. I paid to upgrade to the executive club floor and it was wonderful. You know how some executive floors are not really worth it, well this one was awesome. Delicious breakfast daily, and not only that but drinks before dinner and soft drinks, waters and snacks throughout the day. Upgrading to the executive club is definitely recommended. We stayed in room 3016 which had an awesome view of the Sydney Harbor and opera house, and was very close to the executive lounge. It was not noisy at all. The pool was very nice and the hotel was bustling and busy. The concierge was extremely helpful, including arranging two way taxis for us to visit relatives. Staff was caring and attentive. I gave a 4 instead of 5 due to the beds not being the top level of comfort, running out of towels regularly at the pool and I would expect rooms in a 5 star to be decorated in more of an upscale manner. But overall help from staff was very good, cleaning staff very good, location great, view great, nice pool, awesome concierge staff and more than anything the executive club made our stay great.

Room Tip: ask for executive club and the thirtieth floor with a view of the opera house. The view is awesome t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#30 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay is the perfect hotel for those wanting a truly Sydney experience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and the world famous Sydney Opera House, the downtown Sydney hotel can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca, and just moments away from the historic Rocks district. As Sydney’s premier waterfront hotel, guests are also invited to indulge in a luxurious array of treatments in the day spa, including indoor pool, without leaving the 5-star property. Whether savouring finely crafted cuisine at the renowned Icons brassiere restaurant or retiring to the spacious opulence of your guest room which is complete with picturesque harbour views, the accent throughout is on trusted personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.