We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location for any hotel in CBD Sydney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay to your Saves list
Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Stay & Save Sale
Ranked #25 of 183 Hotels in Sydney
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best location for any hotel in CBD Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay is a 3 minute walk away from Circular Quay, from where you can take a scenic ferry ride to any harbor side destination; or catch a suburban train on Sydney's rail network. The views from the hotel's rooms are wonderful.
During our stay we walked around The Rocks; to the Opera House; and to Martin Plaza. We took the ferry to Manly, and enjoyed the great views of The Bridge; the Opera House and the beautiful harbour.
The service at the hotel was good, but not as good as it was a few years ago. The food is very good. Greg, the concierge was extremely friendly and capable, he organized our limo transport to and from the airport, and gave excellent advice on where to go and what to do.
The hotel also has a very friendly atmosphere, we felt welcome and absolutely enjoyed staying there.

Room Tip: The rooms with the harbour view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    687
    209
    69
    44
See reviews for
358
616
116
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Placed in the heart of the city, Marriott Sydney Harbour is one of the best hotels in New South Wales, if not, the whole country. The staff are extremely friendly, helpful and have the most contagious smiles I have ever seen. The location makes it so convenient for travellers to explore the most gorgeous part of Sydney without having to use public transport. If you are lucky, the staff will be able to assist you in terms of booking for excellent tours. I was fortunate that the person helping me out was able to inform me of all the tourist traps that I should avoid!

The only problem with this hotel is that there isn't much to do inside the complex.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in May as part of a trip to Auckland, Brisbane and Sydney. Lovely room overlooking harbour, great staff - very helpful. Restaurant was very good and staff looked after me exceptionally well. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of the harbour are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Great location , outdated rooms in my opinion , we had the "city view" room and guess what I can see out of the window? St George bank building and other tall buildings .wow what a spectacular city view room :) No slippers , no bath robes , no tooth brush , toothpaste, as you'd find in other five star hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, General Manager at Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Danzzz,
Thank you for your review, we truly appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to improve our offerings. I am disappointed to learn that our recent refurbished room was not to your liking. In relation to the amenities outlined, they can certainly be delivered to your room upon request. I have taken your constructive feedback on board and hope you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in our service delivery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is very close to Circular Quay, The Rocks markets and dining, access to ferries and a short wlk to CBD shops. A cheap taxi fare to Darling Harbour, Waterloo or the Cross.
In addition access to the wonderful museums, art galleries, libraries and Botanical Gardens are but a stroll.
The rooms are quite, very spacious with most having a full or partial view of the harbour.
In addition a great dining area is open for breakfasts (aften included in the room rate).
The valet parking of cars and assistance at the immedaite entrance to the hotel is great and the courtesy is excellent with a 'how can we help?' approach.
I do prefer this location over a number of the other hotels as many need a taxi to transport you throughout the city- again a cost coupled with heavy traffic. Well done The Marriot- a great location for business and pleasure!

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arrived after a long flight from east coast US, and got a taxi on a rainy day right to the Mariott. When you fly in from the US you arrive 630am which isnt very compatible with a normal 3pm check in at a typical hotel.

Because I have gold status with Marriott, I was able to check in early and got late check out for 4pm. I am not sure this is available for every guest but the help desk was extremely friendly and courteous to everyone

The location is superior, just 2 blocks from Circular Quay, you need to shop for deals, it won't be cheap. But if you are a member with Marriott they will treat you like a king, much better than most of the US properties I stay at.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is within short walking distance to the ferry terminal, Sydney Opera House and lots of restaurants. It is also 15-20 minute walk to Darling Harbour and Chinatown. Thus, its wonderful location is a huge plus for this hotel. Parking is no problem because it is by valet only and the free Wifi at the lobby works very well. Breakfast is blend and though included in my package, I did not attend all the sessions. The view from the room is excellent and the TV comes in a very good size, can be adjusted to face the bed and it has many channels on HD. Do take the seafood buffet dinners on Fri & Sat and the lobsters and many other stuff are also available at the cooking stations. Guests get $20 off the $99.90 per person price. All in all, this is largely a nice hotel and a good choice.

However, I've stayed in all kinds of hotels and the following are certainly unprecedented for me >>
1. The fan power of the air-conditioner in my room is rather low even set to maximum fan speed. Was starting to sweat. Dialled '9' for 'At Your Service' (at 9pm) and after lengthy rings, was attended by an operator who said that a technician would be sent to look into it. Nothing happened for the next two hours and eventually went to sleep (fan speed still low but air got cooler and stopped sweating), without having anyone try fix the problem. My solution to this is to keep the air-con on 24 hours a day from then on and it would be bearable, instead of switching it off when I am out during the day. I've never had a complaint not attended to before. I once stayed in another Marriott in another country and after dialing about an air-con issue, the technician was at my doors within a couple of minutes (that I started to wonder if he was on standby on the same level!!) and he sorted things out within 5 minutes.

2. On one of the days, I decided to wake up very late (12pm) so I left the 'Ssshhhh' sign at the door. Housecleaning is usually done in the morning and looking at that sign at my door, they did not disturb my sleep which I appreciate. I left the hotel and removed the 'Ssshhhh' sign but there was no 'please make up room' sign to put on. Oh well, not too unusual. When I returned at night, the room was not attended to by housecleaning at all. Shocking. In other hotels, whenever I put up the 'Do Not Disturb' sign, I get a note inserted on the floor to indicate when the housekeeping could be done or a note to say that they will come back in the afternoon. Also, I did remove the 'Ssshhhh' sign so, err...., for a room to not be made up (some hotels I stayed in even make up room twice a day) is pretty unprecedented.

Nonetheless, I did enjoy my stay here and would still recommend this place as those two points mentioned are pretty minor. Most of the staff are excellent, especially the concierge and the counter staff. Thank You.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#30 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay is the perfect hotel for those wanting a truly Sydney experience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and the world famous Sydney Opera House, the downtown Sydney hotel can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca, and just moments away from the historic Rocks district. As Sydney’s premier waterfront hotel, guests are also invited to indulge in a luxurious array of treatments in the day spa, including indoor pool, without leaving the 5-star property. Whether savouring finely crafted cuisine at the renowned Icons brassiere restaurant or retiring to the spacious opulence of your guest room which is complete with picturesque harbour views, the accent throughout is on trusted personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.