We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, a little small on room sizes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay to your Saves list
Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #26 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great location, great service, a little small on room sizes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

For probably the most expensive City in the World it was a treat to be so centrally based and within walking distance of all the major attractions. The hotel itself is a little dated but the staff really are excellent even if getting WiFi is almost impossible! The concierge was fantastic and really helped make our time in Sydney. We didnt eat breakfast or meals at the hotel but it was a shame the outside bar was closed on Saturday night!
Taking a room with a fold down bed made it very cramped and this was our biggest gripe, not that the hotel can do anything about it and the view of the Opera House did make up for it a little. Also the pool was a bit dingy and dark and the work being done on the hot tub was rather off putting.
Overall though, very few reason not to recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get as large a room as you can, they are generally small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    760
    235
    79
    46
See reviews for
401
701
124
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent. It is very near to the rocks, opera house, harbour bridge and botanical garden etc. Have been stayed here in May 2013 for few days. I arrived at this hotel in the early morning around 7am and able to have early check in. I'm able to get a high floor room with harbour bridge view. The staffs in this hotel are very friendly and knowledgeable. They are willing to show me where to get good food etc. The service of this hotel is fantastic. I even requested the hotel staffs to help me booked the ballet show at the opera house and blue mountain tour.

Room Tip: High floor with either bridge or opera house facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Pleasant hotel. Well appointed hotel in a very central location. Quiet room had two queen beds which perhaps crowded it a little, but all one would expect from a top class hotel. Efficient staff though need more staff at checkout time early morning.
WiFi was an extra - should be free. Recommend consider other options before using the valet parking - cost us $60 for overnight parking

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Bridge or Opera House
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

As a frequent user of Marriott hotels I may be somewhat biased about the overall excellent quality of their properties. Their hotel at Circular Quay is in a excellent location just a 1/2 block to the harbor. It is a great locale for access to the Opera House, Sydney Bridge, the Rocks and all of the harbor excursions. When my wife and I arrived we were provided with a handicap room on a lower level that we did not rquest. Since I was using Marriott points I felt we deserved a better location and should have been apprised of the type of room prior to hauling our luggage. Our compliant was very satisfactorly resolved by a change in room location overlooking the harbor and a complimentary bottle of wine. We are not ones to complain and we were very pleased with how this was handled. Many, many restaurants and things to do in a short walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel. The staff was very helpful, efficient, and courteous. The room was excellent with a fabulous view! Great place to stay! If I am fortunate enough to go to Sydney again I will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently stays at the Marriott Sydney Harbour for 4 nights on a business trip. The hotel was fine. Clean, well appointed, decent work out facility and reasonable breakfast. The harbor view is restricted so don't believe the marketing that you will have a full harbor view. Partial at best. Having said this, the location is great (1 block from Circle Quay).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

No better location to stay in, than Circular Quay! No better hotel to stay in than Marriott!
With a room that has a view of the famous Opera House, one could ask for nothing more.
The Tower rooms with a king bed are spacious! The breakfast in the executive lounge is frugal though. However, it does make up for the selection of snacks and drinks provided throughout the rest of the day.
Concierge - very helpful. Baggage reached just as i reached the room which was super!
Reception - extremely courteous. On the whole a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, General Manager at Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear scrutineyes, Thank you for your fantastic review and rating. Our concierge team will be pleased with your high praise and I am extremely thrilled to hear of the overall great stay you’ve had. The team is constantly working to improve the quality of the breakfast in the executive lounge and I thank you for bringing this feedback to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#30 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay is the perfect hotel for those wanting a truly Sydney experience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and the world famous Sydney Opera House, the downtown Sydney hotel can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca, and just moments away from the historic Rocks district. As Sydney’s premier waterfront hotel, guests are also invited to indulge in a luxurious array of treatments in the day spa, including indoor pool, without leaving the 5-star property. Whether savouring finely crafted cuisine at the renowned Icons brassiere restaurant or retiring to the spacious opulence of your guest room which is complete with picturesque harbour views, the accent throughout is on trusted personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.