We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City break in Sydney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay to your Saves list
Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Be Your #SummerSelf
Ranked #34 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Shoreham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“City break in Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Superb location, easy access to the whole city, all the normal hotel services you would expect of this brand, but with a smile, nice clean hotel with nice staff, from the bell boy, receptionists, to the room service, we would use this hotel again, we stayed room only, parking available, the complete hotel was busy but no noise at night, just what we wanted

Room Tip: Go for a bridge view, it was superb we were on the 24th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband is platinum at Marriott, so when we checked in, we got an instant upgrade and the welcome guest food tray. ( I was starved after our flight, so it was perfect.) We stayed at this hotel twice in one big trip. The first room we stayed in had a beautiful view of the bridge! The only downside is that there was an odd layout and we had little closet space.
The second and last time, we got the upgrade again and got a decent view of the Opera House and city lights. The layout was better and we had more space.
In general staff was friendly and helpful. Executive lounge had heaps of goodies at cocktail hour and breakfast had a decent variety of cold and hot food.
Last but not least, my hubby treated me to a spa morning on our last day. The lady giving me my massage and facial was professional and experienced. My skin was glowing and I left so relaxed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Assassin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Mi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here during 5 nights of our Honeymoon while visiting Australia. The location is perfect for visiting the city. There are many major attractions within walking distance and you are at the central point of all forms of public transportation. The hotel is very clean and offers great views of the harbor and opera house. We arrived in Sydney at 9am after about 30 hours of traveling and they were very accommodating to let us shower and hold our bags to a room was available.

Room Tip: Being a part of Marriott's rewards program and having their credit card will get you free upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThommyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Enjoyed staying at the Marriot the last 3-4 times I've travelled to Sydney on business, and last time also stayed in non-business/personal context. It's staff are welcoming, efficient, nice really comfy king sized beds. Gym could be bigger and better equipped, but it did has the equipment to get a reasonable workout done. Rooms smaller than at the Four Seasons, but well appointed. Food and room service is good. Location is close to everything, and good for corporate travellers. I really liked it - and more so than some of the slicker ultra modern looking hotels which I feel are soulless (e.g. Westin Sydney, Martin Place).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BohdanAbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very clean rooms, well appointed with tremendous helpful and cheerful staff. Location to all transportation was less than a block away.....Very nice family owned restaurant in the alley next door ...Alfredo's....and convenient early breakfast ...6:00 am ...at a locally owned quick store also next door

Room Tip: Great Hotel for a transit evening!! Boofus Michigan
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As a former airline employee (now retired), I have traveled to Sydney on numerous occassions, and have stayed at many downtown Sydney hotels - but none better than the Marriott Sydney Harbour. First off, the location can't be beat - an easy one-block walk from Circular Quay (and it's Ferry hub/railway station) that makes it VERY easy to get to via the Airport Express train (no stops). And, from Circular Quay, one can easily transit to just about any destination within the greater Sydney area via ferry/subway/train/bus - especially with a MyMulti weekly travel pass (currently priced at 44 AUD/adult). The Hotel also offers exceptional value for the price (ALL hotels in this area are priced similarily HIGHER than those outside the downtown area) - a predictably clean and spacious room with all the amenities (we especially like the views of Sydney harbour from our room) that one would expect from a hotel of this caliber, along with a very helpful/cheerful front-desk staff that was eager to assist us last week during our trip down-under - we REALLY appreciated the early-morning check-in (based on availability, of course) from our 7am flight arrival from the USA to clean up and move on to our first day of sightseeing. And, for those who have access to the Concierge Lounge, you may not find a more substantial food service offering (especially breakfast) from ANY other Marriott property - easily enough to result in overall meal cost savings (another reason why we choose Marriott properties in general). Give this hotel a try - I doubt you will be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from an elevator as possible, and one with a room of the Sydney Opera House, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, General Manager at Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Joseph R, thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your review from your recent stay. I appreciate you choosing Marriott as your preferred home away from home on this occasion and glad to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We received great reviews on our prime location and certainly pride ourselves in delivering unforgettable experience which in line with the Marriott standard. Our team work hard in ensuring the consistency in the standard is not only reflected globally but more so across all departments within the hotel. Once again, I want to thank you for your lovely review and hope to have the pleasure of having you back in the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Things i liked
======================
Bathroom was clean and modern. Appeared recently renovated and well lit.
Room was spacious and clean. Beds were neat and tidy. Mattress a little soft for my liking. Thermostat appeared new and operated quietly during my stay.
Great location. Nice views of circular quay and syndney harbour, depending on which side of the building your room looks on to. Within walking distance (about 10 mins) to the ferry terminal, free city shuttle bus stop, Airport train connection, The Rocks and Sydney Harbour attractions.
Gym was servicable and met my expectations for accomodation of this type. I found the gym room to be a satisfactory but thought that it may get a bit sweaty and cramped if the gym was fully occupied given the area and the amount of equipment in the room. Best to go early to avoid the crowds and so you don't have to wait for a go on a machine.

Things that could be improved upon
============================
house keeping was slow to respond. request for rollway bed were not fulfilled 5 hours after check-in. Had to make request 3 times before it was fulfilled. Not the standard that we expected from a 4 star hotel.

No slippers or bathrobes supplied. I am wondering if this is now the standard practice or whether our room was overlooked. I was too pre-occupied during my stay to follow up with housekeeping.

Room Tip: request a harbour facing room on a higher floor when booking, to get the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzzieOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, General Manager at Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear OzzieOnTheGo, I appreciate your comprehensive review. We do take all feedback very seriously and rest assure that I have shared your comment regarding the delayed rollaway request with our housekeeping department, I do apologised for any inconveniences this have caused you. Although, slippers and bathrobes are not placed in every room, these are certainly available upon request. I appreciate and glad that you found our room and location to your liking. The team and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 181 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,047 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#24 of 181 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 4,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#33 of 181 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#31 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay is the perfect hotel for those wanting a truly Sydney experience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and the world famous Sydney Opera House, the downtown Sydney hotel can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca, and just moments away from the historic Rocks district. As Sydney’s premier waterfront hotel, guests are also invited to indulge in a luxurious array of treatments in the day spa, including indoor pool, without leaving the 5-star property. Whether savouring finely crafted cuisine at the renowned Icons brassiere restaurant or retiring to the spacious opulence of your guest room which is complete with picturesque harbour views, the accent throughout is on trusted personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing