We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay to your Saves list
Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Stay & Save Sale
Ranked #22 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at the Marriott Circular Quay in March. Yes, the pool isn't huge(who flies to Sydney to hang out at a hotel pool anyway???) and rooms aren't oversized like some people said. However, they were nice rooms, clean, extremely friendly staff, and all in an excellent location near the ferries, train, Harbour Bridge, Opera House, walking distance to museums etc. Concierge was very friendly and helpful setting up an excursion for our family and any other transportation needs we required. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Sydney on holiday or business.

Room Tip: Obviously the higher floors are better for the views. You just have to decide if you want to overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, General Manager at Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear threek, it sounds like you had a fantastic holiday indeed! Sydney offers huge options of outings and certainly many activities that the whole family can enjoy. I am also ecstatic to hear of your high praise for our team, they certainly play a big part in making sure our guests overall experience are exceptional. I look forward to hopefully host you and family again in our beautiful city of Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    717
    220
    73
    44
See reviews for
376
652
118
472
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The location is superb for a downtown Sydney experience. The hotel seems to be going through an identity crisis. The lobby is very much brass and marble of the 1980s, while the rooms are more modern. The flow of design was a bit hard to follow.

We had a lousy expericence during check in that somewhat jaded our view of the hotel. Basically the expectation was that a family of 4 would sleep in a king bed... The only option when booking online was "King or 2 doubles" naturally, we expected, given the number of guests we would have a room with 2 doubles. Naturally the global website is not the fault of the hotel, however how it was handled was less than ideal.

Food and breakfast is OK. Next trip to Sydney we will will likely look for a smaller hotel in the same area. For excellent, Authentic Itailan, go to Alfredo's next door - fantastic.

Overall great base of operations for exploring Sydney and a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for opera house views. Not all rooms have bath tubs so be sure to request if desired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, General Manager at Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear MC, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear of the mix up you experienced during check in and with the bedding configuration. Although, we strive to meet all guest’s special request, unfortunately they cannot always be met and I sincerely apologised that yours was the case on this occasion. The team and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your future visit to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We arrived by car, having been in Melbourne for the Grand Prix (me) and Neighbours Studio (wife and daughter!) - you may wish to know that the Avis Sat/Nav has 2 choices for Sydney, there is Sydney and there is Sydney CBD, unfortunately I chose Sydney and the address as Pitt Street, much to my amusement and my wife's consternation, this took us to a Thai Massage Parlour !! my wife was not convinced that I had never been to Sydney before!

Once we had arrived at the correct location we found the hotel was lovely, with friendly staff who couldn't have been more helpful,we had paid extra for an Opera House view room, which was disappointing at night, but made up for it during the day. the room was very nice and the beds were comfortable, We used the restaurant for dinner, which was excellent and also has a buffett option, we also used room service which was very good, we also dined at Alfredo's which prides itself as being an authentic Italian restaurant, but we were very disappointed.

The access to all forms of transport was very good, with plenty of shopping close by and of course the bridge and the opera house, the Rock area is rich with history, little fascinating path ways and wonderful cafes and bars.

We used the concierge service and found them to be very knowledgeable and helpful, they recommended a dinner cruise at night which was excellent, we also visited Palm Beach to watch Home and Away being filmed. If you're going onto Hong Kong for a visit then it may be best not to change Aus $ in Sydney as the bureau's charge about 7% commission!
There is a charge for Wi-Fi. but we managed to get this free of charge.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms with the opera house view are probably not worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We visited Sydney for two days during the Easter week and stay at Marriot was a great choice! We took the subway from the Internacional airport and 15min later we were two blocks from the Hotel. Also, it´s walking distance to Circular Quay Harbour, The Rocks and Darling Harbour (this last one: 25/ 30min).

We´ve got a confortable room with great view to the Sydney Bridge. Not big, but very confortable with coffee machine, amenities, etc.... There´s frigobar and a mini market just the other side of the Street (in my case very helpful, as the kids like to have a chocolate milk....).

Breakfast very complete with pancakes and waffles being done at the moment as you request. Croissants very fresh and made just like the french ones!

Staff friendly and very thoughtful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Room - bed was very comfortable (lots of pillows!). Nice, fairly modern decor in the room. However, the bathroom is dated and could do with a re-vamp. Didn't provide complimentary slippers, robe or shaving kit (you need to specifically ask room service/reception if you want any of these items) - I thought this would be standard given a 5 star hotel.

Good service and fantastic quality food - breakfast, lunch and dinner were all excellent (and good variety). Service in the restaurant for breakfast was a little temperamental - I had to ask for a coffee a couple of times before it actually came.

Location - on the doorstep of Circular Quay and near The Rocks which was very good.

Overall rating - 7/10. Hotel could do with a renovation (looking a bit dated, especially given the steep pricing).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Visited Sydney for a holiday stayed at the Marriott for a couple of nights lovely
stayed for a week at North Curl Curl beach app fab time
Dee Why beach resort great place to visit
did the bridge walk wow thanks for your service top notch

Room Tip: Had a room over looking the opera house fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I travel to Sydney regularly for business, I have stayed in many hotels in the city and I can say this Marriott offers the best value over other hotels in the area. The location is very convenient, you can walk everywhere. If a car is needed Avis is located on site.

The high floors offer excellent views of the Opera House and the harbor. The rooms are a great size and the amenities are perfect.

Room Tip: Splurge for a club level room. Access to the club level will save you money in the long run.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, General Manager at Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear rambling_man_fla, thank you for your review and your continuous loyalty to choose our hotel as your preferred home away from home when travelling to Sydney. I am delighted that you continue to enjoy your stay with us. You favourable praised is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#30 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay is the perfect hotel for those wanting a truly Sydney experience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and the world famous Sydney Opera House, the downtown Sydney hotel can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca, and just moments away from the historic Rocks district. As Sydney’s premier waterfront hotel, guests are also invited to indulge in a luxurious array of treatments in the day spa, including indoor pool, without leaving the 5-star property. Whether savouring finely crafted cuisine at the renowned Icons brassiere restaurant or retiring to the spacious opulence of your guest room which is complete with picturesque harbour views, the accent throughout is on trusted personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.