We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal location with a helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay to your Saves list
Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Stay & Save Sale
Ranked #22 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An ideal location with a helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The must haves in a vacation hotel:
- proximity to public transportation
- clean and quiet rooms
- coffee nearby (you have to have your "flat white" each morning!)
- a HELPFUL concierge, especially Allan Alvarez
- major attractions within walking distance

This hotel ticked every box with nice bonuses like a phenomenal gym, ability to use Marriott Rewards points, newly renovated rooms, an early arrival lounge, and restaurants and shops within walking distance. I'd recommend it to any traveller.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, General Manager at Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear ATexa Tripper, I am delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and the many benefits of the hotels. Allan will be delighted of your recognition and he certainly is an asset to the team. Thank you very much for your review and rating. We hope to be at your service again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    717
    220
    73
    44
See reviews for
376
652
118
472
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Good location if you want to be near the harbour and it's activities. It's about 15 mins to walk up to the main shopping in Sydney. Checkin was a little slow so they upgraded me to a higher room with a view of the bridge which was great. Room was fine for a business trip. There was no bath which is a shame as it's a nice luxury at the end of the day. Room was expensive compared to others that I have stayed at in Sydney. I stayed here as I had a conference at this hotel. Breakfast was standard hotel buffet. Overall nothing outstanding about this hotel but everything was perfectly acceptable - food, accommodation and friendly service. I picked up a stomach bug on the second night (not due to the hotel food) and they allowed me a midday checkout which was great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

The best located hotel. Clean, friendly knowledgeable staff with a great buffet breakfast, offering everything you could want.
We had a great room, we didn't require a view of the harbour, as we weren't planning to spend the weekend in the room.
I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, General Manager at Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear JustJiliBean, I am absolutely thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay at our hotel. It is rewarding for our team to hear that their efforts are recognised. Thank you for your great review and we surely are looking forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This Marriott is in a great location - near the Opera House, Ferry Station, The Rocks District, and Royal Botanic Gardens. The property is quite nice (more like a JW Marriott than a standard one). Friendly and helpful staff, plus an outstanding executive lounge for gold/platinum members including free wine/beer/cocktails and nice breakfast/evening snack options. The rooms are updated and offer great views of the city or harbor. The fitness room was also well done.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The room was perfectly adequate for a business trip. Nicely appointed, pretty quiet, with a great view of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Everything worked. The front desk staff were very friendly and extended my stay one night with ease. I thought the value was good. The best part of the hotel is the location - a two minute's walk away from Circular Quay ferries, The Rocks, and lots of other attractions. I would definitely stay here again, although I might prefer to look for a small hotel in The Rocks since I spent most of my free time there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Biggest advantage for this hotel is location - directly next to Sydney Harbour Warfs.
Place was clean, not noisy at all.

Mainly that's it for pros.

It's overpriced and quality of rooms is not great. Additionally discussion with staff was just average experience (of course not all of them). I'm staying with Marriott's time to time and it was not even as good as on eg. Courtyart Marriott on Bali or other in Copenhagen, Ho Chi Minh, KL etc..

I enjoyed much more other places I was staying in Sydney and if you can walk a bit - you can get better value for money, better room and better service experience as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, General Manager at Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Artu Z, Thank you for sharing your experience. Location is definitely an integral consideration on any Hotel stay and I am pleased you found ours to be strategically located. I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention and wish to assure you that your constructive feedback is valuable to the improvement of our overall services. Thank you once again for your insight and hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times on business. I've always enjoyed staying at Marriotts and this one is in a great location. Short walk to the Harbour Bridge and Opera House the Marriott is also very close to the Sydney Ferrys. I enjoy staying at the Marriott at Circular Quay while I'm in Sydney - they also have a fabulous breakfast buffet in the morning with friendly staff. The price can be a little steep, but definitely a good spot to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, General Manager at Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Grezyerton, thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am thrilled that you stay with Marriott continue to exceed your expectations. We always try to stay competitive with our pricing with similar properties in this area. Thank you again for your wonderful feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#30 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay is the perfect hotel for those wanting a truly Sydney experience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and the world famous Sydney Opera House, the downtown Sydney hotel can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca, and just moments away from the historic Rocks district. As Sydney’s premier waterfront hotel, guests are also invited to indulge in a luxurious array of treatments in the day spa, including indoor pool, without leaving the 5-star property. Whether savouring finely crafted cuisine at the renowned Icons brassiere restaurant or retiring to the spacious opulence of your guest room which is complete with picturesque harbour views, the accent throughout is on trusted personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.