We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Even Better Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Save Saved
You added Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1 Breakfast
Ranked #26 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Location - Even Better Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed 5 nights in November. Was upgraded to an Executive Level room. Very nice room, well equipped, absolutely spotless. The Marriott bed is the best of any hotel chain I've ever used.

The Executive Lounge is well stocked, great selection of drinks, and the evening snacks are very good. Could not be more satisfied with the lounge's breakfast.

On this visit I needed some help from the concierge, he did a nice job for me in arranging local transport on 2 occasions. The bell staff went out of their way to help with some very large pieces of luggage, which they stored for me.

Overall, this is one of Marriott's top properties. But I do miss the old Marriott at Hyde Park which is no longer a Marriott property. I used that hotel many times and was always impressed by the quality of the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    691
    597
    186
    62
    44
See reviews for
303
543
101
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel is nicely appointed. If you get the right room you have a good view of the iconic Sydney Opera House or the Sydney Harbour Bridge which are within walking distance. The hotel is also in a really good location, just couple of blocks from Circular Quay. Circular Quay is a transportation hub where you can board a ferry, ride the train or hop on a bus. It is away from the noise of bustling George Street but near enough to walk to.

Room Tip: If you have Marriott Elite status, request for a room on the club lounge floor where you can get fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Great views clean nice people loved it close to public transport harbour views close to shops conventicle store right accross the street staff were great restaurants a bit pricey but what u would expect in the city overall great stay would stay again definitely

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, pre-cruise from the overseas passenger terminal. Beautiful rooms and a very nice pool area for relaxing. Great Italian Resaraunt next door (Alfredos). This hotel is located on Pitt Street, Australia's most expensive , so don't expect there to be many bargains in the nearbye shops and cafes. Only short 2 block walk to the pier and many attractions, Maratime Museum, Museum of Contemporary Art and George Street (the main shopping street). Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the circular quay Marriott in Sydney and we found that it was an excellent experience. Superb service and they staff really makes you feel at home, The location is outstanding and a 2 block walk to the docklands. The only downside of the trip is that I am a Platimum member and mentioned that it was my wife and I's 30 wedding anniversary and the staff did not respond in any way. That was ok, since they probably get a lot of guest who are celebrating their anniversaries. Overall a very enjoyable experience at the hotel . I can easily recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a multitude of things that made our stay at the Marriott unpleasant. Firstly the check in time on the website was incorrect so our flights did not match up with check in and the reception desk was not particularly accommodating ! The swimming pool was not heated so the kids did not enjoy a swim! We then found our room was short on towels however we had booked for 4 guests in our room. Beds were extremely uncomfortable and extremely hot in the room with no adjusting the air conditioner and after 3 calls to reception we had to suck it up and have a sleepless night and a very disappointing stay !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Conveniently located to the Opera House and Sydney Harbor Bridge. It seemed like everything was in walking distance.
Unfortunately we only had 2 nights in Sydney. Wished we could have stayed longer. So much to see and do.
Room was wonderful with great views. Cleaning staff was great and always prompt.
Would love to come back!

Room Tip: There are corner suites that have a wonderful view of the Bridge and the Opera House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel
Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#30 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay is the perfect hotel for those wanting a truly Sydney experience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and the world famous Sydney Opera House, the downtown Sydney hotel can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca, and just moments away from the historic Rocks district. As Sydney’s premier waterfront hotel, guests are also invited to indulge in a luxurious array of treatments in the day spa, including indoor pool, without leaving the 5-star property. Whether savouring finely crafted cuisine at the renowned Icons brassiere restaurant or retiring to the spacious opulence of your guest room which is complete with picturesque harbour views, the accent throughout is on trusted personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.