We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel let down by Service Standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay to your Saves list
Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #29 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good hotel let down by Service Standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Sydney Marriott is ideally located close to Circular Quays for ferries and trains and a short walk away from shops, restaurants and just a little further to the amenities of Darling Harbour.
The room we had was lovely with a view out to the Opera House. However the hotel views are not compromised by the new "black glass" tower which sits between the hotel and the harbour and for us obscured any view onto the Bridge.
The room was well fitted although with a good sized bathroom with tub and separate shower, There was lovely large and comfortable bed and plenty of space to work and relax. My major complaint about the room was there was absolutely no drawer space for clothes, papers, etc.
My main complaints were on service:
1.The Executive Lounge is far too small for the demand placed on it. This is not helped by the staff not keeping an eye on the breakfast/canape buffet and items of food, crockery and cutlery constantly running out. The single hot drinks machine is a disaster particularly when it is very busy at breakfast. On one morning the Lounge was even so busy that we were moved to the main restaurant for breakfast; this however turned out to be a welcome experience as the standards in the restaurant are much better than the Lounge with excellent service and choice of foods and a far more relaxed and spacious atmosphere.
2. Likewise the queues at checkout were ridiculously long. if a copy of the bill had been provided to the room this could have facilitated the use of the express checkout, although even that facility was located close to the reception desk and difficult to see from the queue.
This property should be a high rated Marriott and such a let down in service standards and capacity is unacceptable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    833
    250
    86
    50
See reviews for
440
775
132
541
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york, new york
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a room on the club floor that had been refurbished and was quite handsome. It was elegant - not a word I always use with Marriott's in the U.S. And it had a gorgeous view of the Harbor and the Opera House - breathtaking, in fact. The club floor, or whatever they call it, is very worthwhile as it includes breakfast which was quite good. Not lavish but very good.

We found the service throughout very attentive from the front desk to the bellmen to the concierge.
We enjoyed our stay immensely. The location which is very near the Quay with boats to almost everywhere was ideal.

Room Tip: We are gold members, so the upgrade to a better room with a view and higher in the hotel plus access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Reading negative reviews about the marriot surprises me greatly.My wife, 2 kids and myself stay here approx 6 times per year and have a positive experience each time. The staff are always helpful and attentive but not overwhelming. of course you pay inflated prices at the bar/lounge, but if you don't like don't buy.The location is great. Maybe I'm just lucky but I doubt it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Service was absolutely terrible.
I stayed here with my bridesmaids as we were looking for my wedding dress.
We had all travelled one travelled for 4-5hours.
Once we arrived, we went to check in, this is when the disaster started.
We waited close to 30 minutes to be served at reception, there were many people waiting. We were already on a tight schedule and only planned an hour to have a break and put our stuff in our room,
When we were finally served, THE STAFF WERE RUDE!!
We were finally given our key and we put our bags in the room and went back down to meet one of the other girls.

When we went back up with her luggage our key would not work.
All of our money and everything phones bookings for our day were in the room.
We were told we would have to wait 20 minutes to speak to security.

that took another 40 minutes for them to sort out the key and let us back in the room.

All up they wasted close to two hours of our time and we missed our first appointment.

No apology, nothing.

I even wrote to them later on, and never had a reply.

No way will I ever stay here again.

EVER!!!!

Worst decision ever.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I read the previous reviews and I am pleased with my room and decor. The bed isnt the same as the American Heavenly bed but its still great. The room has a view of the top of the Opera House..from the 16th floor...and is conveniently located close to Circular Quay…if you are into the bar scene there are several to choose from just out the back/side door of the hotel.. Convenient to the subway, bus, taxis & ferries…

Room Tip: Higher floors will have better view of the Opera House..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

If you get lucky,you might get the room with the Sydney harbor view. The room come in good size with a lot of pillows and comfy bed. There are quite a few interesting tv channel,toilet are big and well equipped. Free wifi at the lobby area but not in the room. Why can't they just increase a little more in room price and get the whole hotel free wifi..I think customer would be more happy

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Nice hotel and great location. Close walk to the Rocks area which we preferred to the rest of the city and also very close to harbour boats to zoo, beaches and other trips. We originally chose this hotel as it was the only one we could find with free WiFi but were very pleased with the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level room for a view and quietness away fro city streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#30 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay is the perfect hotel for those wanting a truly Sydney experience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and the world famous Sydney Opera House, the downtown Sydney hotel can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca, and just moments away from the historic Rocks district. As Sydney’s premier waterfront hotel, guests are also invited to indulge in a luxurious array of treatments in the day spa, including indoor pool, without leaving the 5-star property. Whether savouring finely crafted cuisine at the renowned Icons brassiere restaurant or retiring to the spacious opulence of your guest room which is complete with picturesque harbour views, the accent throughout is on trusted personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel and Marriott so you can book your Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.