We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms, perfect location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay to your Saves list
Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #34 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
dubai
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms, perfect location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Rooms are very modern though slightly smaller than expected, bathroom feels something like a hospital bathroom. Excellent quality beds and linens. Fast room service, huge TV with a multitude of channels. Good quality irons provided. The lobby area is very late 1980's, nothing like the rooms and lacks atmosphere. Lobby Bar is underutilised as there is no feel to the place. Service standards are fair, nobody has made me feel welcome in the 3 times i stayed here, neither have i felt unwelcome. This hotel really is all about location. 3 minutes walk to Circular Quay perfect for cruise ship passengers, plenty of dining options nearby. 5 minutes walk to Wynyard Metro Station and shopping areas. Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Anything with a harbour view, it's lovely !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giodxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Our check-in and check out service [two different staff], was discourteous and, in fact, could be described as downright rude. We had the sense that we were commodoties rather than guests.
Breakfast cost was outrageous although quality and range were quite good. However, if you ask for something out-of-the ordinary like an espresso, be prepared to wait, and wait, and wait.........
The coffee, when it did arrive was awful. I think they should change their supplier, or barista or both. There are better places to stay for the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albertcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This fine hotel is comfortable & efficient, the beds are a treat but the decor is also beginning to date badly & it's in need of a makeover. I was a little disappointed with hotel's attitude to finding a park for my motorcycle, they told me to take the train instead. The breakfast buffet was also a disappointment although look for the omelette chef & you'll do better. The location is fabulous, a short work, 100 metres from circular quay & close pretty much to everything...pricey too I felt.

Room Tip: We had a city side room on a lower floor (12) it was a small room with an interesting city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WernMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel is right in the heart of downtown Sydney. It is only one short block to Circular Quay where you can catch a ferry anywhere. The executive level provided a nice breakfast daily although the selections vary little - and be warned that the executive lounged is mobbed at 5:30 when the free drinks kick in. Water pressure in the shower was outstanding once you dealt with the inward swinging shower door. One big disappointment - I paid extra for a two room suite assuming the living room woould at least have a couch and maybe even a pull out because sometimes we like to sleep in seperate rooms - but to my incredulity - they have only two hard as concrete 60's era George Jetson chairs. When I saw them I turned to the bell captain and asked for a couch - he said he'd get back to me - I am still waiting. They have no ice machines either - weird - you have to order ice from room service. This city is uber-expensive but when we return we will probably choose this Marriott again (if the get couches!!)

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay extra for a view - I think all the views (except nmaybe on lower floors) are prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tdwallst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Excellent location - Cashed in points - Three nights, two on the executive level with view of the opera house from the room - breakfast, open bar and canapes for dinner. Easy walk to Opera House and hop on hop off ferry to Toronga Zoo and harbor tour. While others waited we had guaranteed room on arrival with top Marriot card - upgraded on 2nd day.
Concierge answered pre trip questions via email. Money exchange - better rate at gift shop.

Room Tip: Great views from upper level floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polka-Dot-Umbrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here six nights last month. I'd hemmed and hawed about it before committing to the Marriott. Sir Stamford beckoned. The Intercontinental was also an option. With my status with SPG, the Westin seemed to be my first option yet it was a little too far from Circular Quay.
We were not disappointed--our room had a great view of the Opera House. We were able to use the Club for breakfast. Only problem was late night club offering disappeared quickly. Came home from dinner a couple of times at 9pm and there were no dinner munchies for us.
But you cannot do any better with the location. We bought a Multi Pass and could use the buses, subway and ferries which were all a minute away from the hotel. Service in the hotel was just fine, we enjoyed every bit of it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinotNoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed on two separate occasions in November before and after a cruise. Rooms were great with excellent views however service was very ordinary. On the first visit we waited over 45 minutes for two coffees in the lobby. On our return, we went to breakfast after disembarking the ship, only to be shown to a table that wasn't set. We had to ask for it to be set and then again request napkins. The next morning we had to queue for a table at breakfast. Certainly not what you would expect at a five star. Just to complete a very average stay, we waited over 50 minutes for room service that night. Marriot have a 45 min or its free policy with room service orders, but we only got a shrug from the staff member delivering the meals and when raised at check out was thanked for bringing it to their attention but no adjustment to the bill. After an 11 day cruise surrounded by happy smiling crew who were sensational, the non smiling Marriot staff were very disappointing.

Room Tip: Bridge view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kroe55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 181 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,054 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#24 of 181 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 4,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#33 of 181 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#31 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay is the perfect hotel for those wanting a truly Sydney experience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and the world famous Sydney Opera House, the downtown Sydney hotel can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca, and just moments away from the historic Rocks district. As Sydney’s premier waterfront hotel, guests are also invited to indulge in a luxurious array of treatments in the day spa, including indoor pool, without leaving the 5-star property. Whether savouring finely crafted cuisine at the renowned Icons brassiere restaurant or retiring to the spacious opulence of your guest room which is complete with picturesque harbour views, the accent throughout is on trusted personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#