We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Save Saved
You added Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #24 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This fine hotel is comfortable & efficient, the beds are a treat but the decor is also beginning to date badly & it's in need of a makeover. I was a little disappointed with hotel's attitude to finding a park for my motorcycle, they told me to take the train instead. The breakfast buffet was also a disappointment although look for the omelette chef & you'll do better. The location is fabulous, a short work, 100 metres from circular quay & close pretty much to everything...pricey too I felt.

Room Tip: We had a city side room on a lower floor (12) it was a small room with an interesting city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    773
    647
    197
    65
    45
See reviews for
338
584
109
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel is right in the heart of downtown Sydney. It is only one short block to Circular Quay where you can catch a ferry anywhere. The executive level provided a nice breakfast daily although the selections vary little - and be warned that the executive lounged is mobbed at 5:30 when the free drinks kick in. Water pressure in the shower was outstanding once you dealt with the inward swinging shower door. One big disappointment - I paid extra for a two room suite assuming the living room woould at least have a couch and maybe even a pull out because sometimes we like to sleep in seperate rooms - but to my incredulity - they have only two hard as concrete 60's era George Jetson chairs. When I saw them I turned to the bell captain and asked for a couch - he said he'd get back to me - I am still waiting. They have no ice machines either - weird - you have to order ice from room service. This city is uber-expensive but when we return we will probably choose this Marriott again (if the get couches!!)

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay extra for a view - I think all the views (except nmaybe on lower floors) are prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Excellent location - Cashed in points - Three nights, two on the executive level with view of the opera house from the room - breakfast, open bar and canapes for dinner. Easy walk to Opera House and hop on hop off ferry to Toronga Zoo and harbor tour. While others waited we had guaranteed room on arrival with top Marriot card - upgraded on 2nd day.
Concierge answered pre trip questions via email. Money exchange - better rate at gift shop.

Room Tip: Great views from upper level floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here six nights last month. I'd hemmed and hawed about it before committing to the Marriott. Sir Stamford beckoned. The Intercontinental was also an option. With my status with SPG, the Westin seemed to be my first option yet it was a little too far from Circular Quay.
We were not disappointed--our room had a great view of the Opera House. We were able to use the Club for breakfast. Only problem was late night club offering disappeared quickly. Came home from dinner a couple of times at 9pm and there were no dinner munchies for us.
But you cannot do any better with the location. We bought a Multi Pass and could use the buses, subway and ferries which were all a minute away from the hotel. Service in the hotel was just fine, we enjoyed every bit of it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed on two separate occasions in November before and after a cruise. Rooms were great with excellent views however service was very ordinary. On the first visit we waited over 45 minutes for two coffees in the lobby. On our return, we went to breakfast after disembarking the ship, only to be shown to a table that wasn't set. We had to ask for it to be set and then again request napkins. The next morning we had to queue for a table at breakfast. Certainly not what you would expect at a five star. Just to complete a very average stay, we waited over 50 minutes for room service that night. Marriot have a 45 min or its free policy with room service orders, but we only got a shrug from the staff member delivering the meals and when raised at check out was thanked for bringing it to their attention but no adjustment to the bill. After an 11 day cruise surrounded by happy smiling crew who were sensational, the non smiling Marriot staff were very disappointing.

Room Tip: Bridge view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I picked this hotel for its location, and we were not disappointed. Since the best way to see Sydney and get around is the ferry system this hotel's walking distance to Circular Quay, which is the main stop and hub for the ferries, is just perfect. It is also within walking distance of great restaurants and bars. Our first night we had some flight delays and ended up cancelling our dinner reservation and just ordered room service, because we were beat, and I must say the room service was really quite good.
Our room was cozy, with a view of the Opera house although I have to say you had to be quite close to the window and look quite far to the left to see the opera house (from behind), so I felt a little cheated on that. Also, the bathroom wasn't the cleanest, the tub had visible stains and hair from the previous guest, since we just had two nights and no baths planned I didn't complain but it does make you wonder about the rest of the room.
The staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Getting a bit worn and dated, and for the money,... ouch. Super touristy neighborhood, very pleasant and helpful staff. Stayed in the penthouse with club privileges, purely ok. Getting hit over the head with the depressing US dollar to Aussie exchange makes this city the least bang for the buck of any major city in memory. Brings tons of money to withstand the daily onslaught of 50 dollar cab rides, our traveling buddy got to spend 18 dollars a pack for smokes, lunch (nothing special) for three ran into the hundreds of dollars, and going out for 10 dollar a pop beers just took a lot of the fun away. Surrey Hills is cheaper, more real and young. We were in Sydney for a week and couldn't wait to get out of town. In retrospect, better to rent an apartment, go on day trips out of the city, ride the ferry, and avoid any touristy areas. Australians are awesome as ever.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#30 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay is the perfect hotel for those wanting a truly Sydney experience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and the world famous Sydney Opera House, the downtown Sydney hotel can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca, and just moments away from the historic Rocks district. As Sydney’s premier waterfront hotel, guests are also invited to indulge in a luxurious array of treatments in the day spa, including indoor pool, without leaving the 5-star property. Whether savouring finely crafted cuisine at the renowned Icons brassiere restaurant or retiring to the spacious opulence of your guest room which is complete with picturesque harbour views, the accent throughout is on trusted personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.