We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location makes this your best choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay to your Saves list
Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Be Your #SummerSelf
Ranked #34 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent location makes this your best choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here six nights last month. I'd hemmed and hawed about it before committing to the Marriott. Sir Stamford beckoned. The Intercontinental was also an option. With my status with SPG, the Westin seemed to be my first option yet it was a little too far from Circular Quay.
We were not disappointed--our room had a great view of the Opera House. We were able to use the Club for breakfast. Only problem was late night club offering disappeared quickly. Came home from dinner a couple of times at 9pm and there were no dinner munchies for us.
But you cannot do any better with the location. We bought a Multi Pass and could use the buses, subway and ferries which were all a minute away from the hotel. Service in the hotel was just fine, we enjoyed every bit of it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinotNoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed on two separate occasions in November before and after a cruise. Rooms were great with excellent views however service was very ordinary. On the first visit we waited over 45 minutes for two coffees in the lobby. On our return, we went to breakfast after disembarking the ship, only to be shown to a table that wasn't set. We had to ask for it to be set and then again request napkins. The next morning we had to queue for a table at breakfast. Certainly not what you would expect at a five star. Just to complete a very average stay, we waited over 50 minutes for room service that night. Marriot have a 45 min or its free policy with room service orders, but we only got a shrug from the staff member delivering the meals and when raised at check out was thanked for bringing it to their attention but no adjustment to the bill. After an 11 day cruise surrounded by happy smiling crew who were sensational, the non smiling Marriot staff were very disappointing.

Room Tip: Bridge view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kroe55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I picked this hotel for its location, and we were not disappointed. Since the best way to see Sydney and get around is the ferry system this hotel's walking distance to Circular Quay, which is the main stop and hub for the ferries, is just perfect. It is also within walking distance of great restaurants and bars. Our first night we had some flight delays and ended up cancelling our dinner reservation and just ordered room service, because we were beat, and I must say the room service was really quite good.
Our room was cozy, with a view of the Opera house although I have to say you had to be quite close to the window and look quite far to the left to see the opera house (from behind), so I felt a little cheated on that. Also, the bathroom wasn't the cleanest, the tub had visible stains and hair from the previous guest, since we just had two nights and no baths planned I didn't complain but it does make you wonder about the rest of the room.
The staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Getting a bit worn and dated, and for the money,... ouch. Super touristy neighborhood, very pleasant and helpful staff. Stayed in the penthouse with club privileges, purely ok. Getting hit over the head with the depressing US dollar to Aussie exchange makes this city the least bang for the buck of any major city in memory. Brings tons of money to withstand the daily onslaught of 50 dollar cab rides, our traveling buddy got to spend 18 dollars a pack for smokes, lunch (nothing special) for three ran into the hundreds of dollars, and going out for 10 dollar a pop beers just took a lot of the fun away. Surrey Hills is cheaper, more real and young. We were in Sydney for a week and couldn't wait to get out of town. In retrospect, better to rent an apartment, go on day trips out of the city, ride the ferry, and avoid any touristy areas. Australians are awesome as ever.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimmyminny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This Marriott has a lot to offer: nice rooms, comfy beds, fantastic location, large workout area, wonderful breakfast buffet. It is expensive, but everything in Sydney is. We upgraded our room to include the buffet for 2 and were glad we did. You can walk to Sydney Harbor, The Rocks, and to ferries, train and bus lines.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darcysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Not much to say about this hotel, lobby is quite old (the high ceilings + chandeliers type) and cold (marble) but the room have been renovated. I was on 29th floor, room was not big yet well designed. At last, a hotel understood that having a bedside table with 17 buttons/switches to control everything in the room is more confusing than useless... so there are only 2 buttons, cool ! Flat TV (no much choice for international channels, in particular no BBC or HBO, all local channels). Only down is the noise as the room door apparently have no stopper + lack of amenities (no toothbrush and no slippers for example).
So overall, the only way in which this hotels stands out is location. Morning run around the opera house and botanic garden is a fantastic start to the day before the office politics ! And for evening, there's everything around or nearby Circular Quay and Pitt street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frog_Singap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We paid extra for a view of the opera house and was not disappointed. The location is excellent opposite Circular Quay.
The rooms are very clean and modern but there is very limited storage space. Apart from one drawer that stored the hairdryer no other drawers were available - no drawers or cupboards in the bathroom either. This seems to be the way many hotels are going and whilst it may be easier for cleaning and make the room look sleeker it is not very practicable for guests.
Breakfast was included in the package and was okay but I would have been very disappointed if I had paid separately for it. Overall it was the location, views and friendly staff that made our stay

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 181 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,047 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#24 of 181 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 4,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#33 of 181 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#31 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay is the perfect hotel for those wanting a truly Sydney experience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and the world famous Sydney Opera House, the downtown Sydney hotel can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca, and just moments away from the historic Rocks district. As Sydney’s premier waterfront hotel, guests are also invited to indulge in a luxurious array of treatments in the day spa, including indoor pool, without leaving the 5-star property. Whether savouring finely crafted cuisine at the renowned Icons brassiere restaurant or retiring to the spacious opulence of your guest room which is complete with picturesque harbour views, the accent throughout is on trusted personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing