We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location makes this your best choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Save Saved
You added Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Travelocity
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1 Breakfast
Ranked #26 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Grass Valley, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent location makes this your best choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here six nights last month. I'd hemmed and hawed about it before committing to the Marriott. Sir Stamford beckoned. The Intercontinental was also an option. With my status with SPG, the Westin seemed to be my first option yet it was a little too far from Circular Quay.
We were not disappointed--our room had a great view of the Opera House. We were able to use the Club for breakfast. Only problem was late night club offering disappeared quickly. Came home from dinner a couple of times at 9pm and there were no dinner munchies for us.
But you cannot do any better with the location. We bought a Multi Pass and could use the buses, subway and ferries which were all a minute away from the hotel. Service in the hotel was just fine, we enjoyed every bit of it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    694
    602
    186
    62
    44
See reviews for
306
545
101
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed on two separate occasions in November before and after a cruise. Rooms were great with excellent views however service was very ordinary. On the first visit we waited over 45 minutes for two coffees in the lobby. On our return, we went to breakfast after disembarking the ship, only to be shown to a table that wasn't set. We had to ask for it to be set and then again request napkins. The next morning we had to queue for a table at breakfast. Certainly not what you would expect at a five star. Just to complete a very average stay, we waited over 50 minutes for room service that night. Marriot have a 45 min or its free policy with room service orders, but we only got a shrug from the staff member delivering the meals and when raised at check out was thanked for bringing it to their attention but no adjustment to the bill. After an 11 day cruise surrounded by happy smiling crew who were sensational, the non smiling Marriot staff were very disappointing.

Room Tip: Bridge view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I picked this hotel for its location, and we were not disappointed. Since the best way to see Sydney and get around is the ferry system this hotel's walking distance to Circular Quay, which is the main stop and hub for the ferries, is just perfect. It is also within walking distance of great restaurants and bars. Our first night we had some flight delays and ended up cancelling our dinner reservation and just ordered room service, because we were beat, and I must say the room service was really quite good.
Our room was cozy, with a view of the Opera house although I have to say you had to be quite close to the window and look quite far to the left to see the opera house (from behind), so I felt a little cheated on that. Also, the bathroom wasn't the cleanest, the tub had visible stains and hair from the previous guest, since we just had two nights and no baths planned I didn't complain but it does make you wonder about the rest of the room.
The staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Getting a bit worn and dated, and for the money,... ouch. Super touristy neighborhood, very pleasant and helpful staff. Stayed in the penthouse with club privileges, purely ok. Getting hit over the head with the depressing US dollar to Aussie exchange makes this city the least bang for the buck of any major city in memory. Brings tons of money to withstand the daily onslaught of 50 dollar cab rides, our traveling buddy got to spend 18 dollars a pack for smokes, lunch (nothing special) for three ran into the hundreds of dollars, and going out for 10 dollar a pop beers just took a lot of the fun away. Surrey Hills is cheaper, more real and young. We were in Sydney for a week and couldn't wait to get out of town. In retrospect, better to rent an apartment, go on day trips out of the city, ride the ferry, and avoid any touristy areas. Australians are awesome as ever.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This Marriott has a lot to offer: nice rooms, comfy beds, fantastic location, large workout area, wonderful breakfast buffet. It is expensive, but everything in Sydney is. We upgraded our room to include the buffet for 2 and were glad we did. You can walk to Sydney Harbor, The Rocks, and to ferries, train and bus lines.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Not much to say about this hotel, lobby is quite old (the high ceilings + chandeliers type) and cold (marble) but the room have been renovated. I was on 29th floor, room was not big yet well designed. At last, a hotel understood that having a bedside table with 17 buttons/switches to control everything in the room is more confusing than useless... so there are only 2 buttons, cool ! Flat TV (no much choice for international channels, in particular no BBC or HBO, all local channels). Only down is the noise as the room door apparently have no stopper + lack of amenities (no toothbrush and no slippers for example).
So overall, the only way in which this hotels stands out is location. Morning run around the opera house and botanic garden is a fantastic start to the day before the office politics ! And for evening, there's everything around or nearby Circular Quay and Pitt street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We paid extra for a view of the opera house and was not disappointed. The location is excellent opposite Circular Quay.
The rooms are very clean and modern but there is very limited storage space. Apart from one drawer that stored the hairdryer no other drawers were available - no drawers or cupboards in the bathroom either. This seems to be the way many hotels are going and whilst it may be easier for cleaning and make the room look sleeker it is not very practicable for guests.
Breakfast was included in the package and was okay but I would have been very disappointed if I had paid separately for it. Overall it was the location, views and friendly staff that made our stay

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay

Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel
Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#30 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay is the perfect hotel for those wanting a truly Sydney experience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and the world famous Sydney Opera House, the downtown Sydney hotel can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca, and just moments away from the historic Rocks district. As Sydney’s premier waterfront hotel, guests are also invited to indulge in a luxurious array of treatments in the day spa, including indoor pool, without leaving the 5-star property. Whether savouring finely crafted cuisine at the renowned Icons brassiere restaurant or retiring to the spacious opulence of your guest room which is complete with picturesque harbour views, the accent throughout is on trusted personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.