We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice enough room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Sydney Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Sydney Hyde Park to your Saves list
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 College Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great location and nice enough room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I last stayed at this hotel whilst it was being transformed into the Pullman from the Marriott and wanted to give it another go.

I was pretty disappointed with the cleanliness of the room. There were hand prints all over the windows, there were glass/drink circle marks on the tables, there was hair on the floor of the bathroom and of the floor of the shower. For the Pullman brand, I expected much much more.

The mattress was very hard, I didn't check but I think there was a "pillow top" added to the mattress to make it more comfortable but it didn't seem to help all that much and the pillows were pretty flimsy.

Parking was $45 for the night and I was able to leave my car there for the following day whilst I attended to work meetings which is fantastic. The service provided by staff from the moment I arrived in the drive way was impressive, I cannot fault this area.

The location of the hotel is perfect. A short walk across Hyde Park to the Pitt Street Mall and the Westfield Shopping Centre is where you'll find the answer to all your shopping needs. If you're looking for a great night out, Oxford Street which is only a 30 second walk from the front of the hotel has a wide range of night clubs catering both the gay and straight communities.

The overall cleanliness of the room is what let this hotel down on this occasion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    575
    229
    70
    49
See reviews for
319
545
86
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubbo
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as I needed to be near st vincents hospital. Had a 1 bedroom suite . Bright & spacious with comfy bed. Beautiful view of hyde park & Sydney. Went through Accor so price was pretty good, booking well in advance.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were very happy with the full experience...the room was very nice, the bed was the best we had had in a hotel for some time and the service from the gentleman at breakfast was second to none. We will be back.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorPHGM1, General Manager at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Judyatownsend,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay wtih us, our beds and service that we pride ourselves on.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Sydney.

Kind regards
Lorraine Mercuri
General Manager
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed recently for a weekend away.

The location is great, right on Hyde park and a short walk into the city shopping or down to good restaurants in surrey hills

The bed was really comfortable and all the room amenities were good quality

We didn't try out the restaurant but went to the executive lounge for breakfast and evening drinks. It has great views but is pretty basic in comparison to other executive lounges

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed three night during a recent work conference, not paid from my pocket. Booking in and out was quick and easy. Good sized, well appointed room. Staff very helpful. My room failed to open, staff very quick to get sorted out.
Loved the bed shame didn't have time to lay in and enjoy it.
Breakfast on the first morning was in the first floor restaurant, enjoyable. Second day was a conference breakfast. Very disappointed. Scrambled eggs were cold, bacon grease was setting and the toaster was on the blink. Third day booking out got a feed at the airport.
Location was good, nice park across the road, Anzac memorial.
From my experience would recommend.

Room Tip: Overall a relaxing trip away but please don't ever serve me a breakfast like that again. Have ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
0.2 mi away
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#35 of 177 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#30 of 177 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#23 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,905 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Sydney Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Sydney Hyde Park

Address: 36 College Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Sydney
#42 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Sydney Hyde Park 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the steps of Hyde Park and minutes from the Sydney CBD, our central Sydney hotel offers you a world class experience at the perfect location to enjoy all of which Sydney has to offer. Just moments away from Haymarket, our hotel in central Sydney is at the junction of downtown Sydney's business precinct(CBD), cultural delights and moments from Darling Harbour, the Sydney Opera House and Sydney Botanic Gardens. With views of Sydney Tower, our modern guest rooms blend comfort with convenience. We distinguish ourselves from other central Sydney hotels close to Haymarket with friendly staff and world class facilities, within easy reach of vibrant nightlife, Oxford Street restaurants and close to major stadiums such as Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) and Sydney Football Stadium (SFS). Whether dining at our restaurant or relaxing by our rooftop swimming pool, the centrally located Pullman Sydney Hyde Hotel is sure to delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman Sydney Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney
Sydney Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.