We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but needs some work...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Sydney Hyde Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Sydney Hyde Park to your Saves list
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 College Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #44 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice, but needs some work...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nicely located, a short stroll across Hyde Park to the heart of the city and plenty of great restaurants and bars in nearby Darlinghurst and Surry Hills. My room was on the Eastern Suburbs side of the hotel so had a nice view out to the harbour. The room was a good size, well cleaned and comfortable, but the decor is a bit dated and disjointed. The bathroom was very large, but once again showing its age. They are undergoing a refurbishment at the moment so hopefully this gives the hotel a fresh look.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene H, Manager at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Melbtraveller09,

Thank you for your recent comments on TripAdvisor. We are completing some refurbishment work in the hotel that includes upgrading of all our rooms and public areas.

I hope we will see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Eugene Human
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    447
    174
    50
    41
See reviews for
252
391
75
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I must admit it was a little disappointing to arrive after 20 hours of travel time to a hotel under construction, so it took a day for this hotel to grow on me. After traveling throughout Australia and staying in many hotels, I felt the Pullman was definitely the best of the bunch.
Great location, nice gym, friendly staff, the room was big enough for all of our stuff, and it had a giant tub (even if the tile was tacky, but now I'm nitpicking). I don't think our room had been renovated yet, but it was nice enough. I wasn't disturbed by the work being done on the hotel, however it was somewhat inconvenient to have the lobby on the 2nd floor when schlepping bags.

Although it feels like a business hotel, I think it's fine for anyone. Luckily, we booked our room with the breakfast included, as it turns out Australia can be pricey for Americans. Normally, we're more adventurous with that kind of thing, but the breakfast buffet was really nice and the staff in the restaurant was lovely. We had ample opportunity to sample many of the restaurants in nearby Surry Hills.

Room Tip: Probably best to request a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene H, Manager at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at the Pullman Sydney Hyde Park .

We are happy to see that you found our hotel comfortable, and enjoyed your stay with us.

We are also pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and all the facilities on offer.

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Pullman Sydney Hyde Park sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,
Eugene Human
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here on our first night in Sydney, arriving at 11pm in the dark! We were aware there were renovation works underway to some rooms and the lobby however the temporary lobby was really impressive so I can only imagine that the new lobby will be outstanding. The room was amazing - very modern and immaculately presented being newly renovated. The bathroom looks like the original so a bit dated but massive bath and still very very nice! We had a huge window in the room and upon waking up had the most amazing city and sea view that really took our breath away. The pool, gym and spa look as though they could do with a spruce up but still impressive with amazing views! You could hear some building noise in the day but we were out for most of it so made no issue for us at all. Cant wait to see the end result of this hotel and we will defiantly come back given the fantastic location and predicted finish!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene H, Manager at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Minirick,

Thank you for your recent review of Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, I hope we will see you again when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards,

Eugene Human
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

this hotel is doing renovation during Australian day long weekend. It make aloud noise. I couldn't sleep at all. I have complain to hotel a few times. they changed my oom from lower floor to higher flood. but it is still same. and they keep telling me ask them stop it but renovation has never stopped. then they said to me they can change me back to lower floor. if the renovation doesn't stop what's the point i change back to lower floor?they only offter me one chocolate for this. they said me I can get half price breakfast but actually they only give 25% off. when i changed room from lower floor to higher floor I forget my tooth brush and I asked them take my tooth brush back to me. they told me they couldn't find house keeping has throwed away. when I check out, I still pay full price. I won't stay this hotel again. No way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene H, Manager at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Luckyian168,

Thank you for your recent comments on TripAdvisor. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you during the outlined incident.

All public area refurbishment work has now been completed, I hope we will see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Eugene Human
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We might have visited on the tail end of the renovations so many of the concerns expressed by other reviewers seem to have been resolved. We found the check-in/out process hassle-free, with the help of friendly staff. We had a nice room with a wonderful view of the park. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom very spacious which always helps with the little ones. We didn't have a chance to try the food as we only stayed for one night. We were happy with our stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene H, Manager at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at the Pullman Sydney Hyde Park .

We are happy to see that you found our hotel comfortable, and enjoyed your stay with us.

We are also pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and all the facilities on offer.

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Pullman Sydney Hyde Park sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,
Eugene Human
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife booked us in for 2 nights based on the Pullman's location without reading any reviews - after reading some of the reviews here I was mildly concerned. Firstly - there are indeed major renovations in progress so I requested a renovated room which was not a problem. Secondly it was confirmed that we wouldn't be disturbed by noise. As for other listed problems on this site, we must have been lucky - lifts were fast, quick checkout, well priced parking, the air conditioning blew ice old, great continental breakfast and staff were very friendly (especially the waiter Tony). My wife and I love gym work, and the gym was well appointed both for cardio and weights. My only criticisms pertain to a lack of a working exhaust fan in the bathroom and the fact that on the Saturday night the pool was not open 24 hours as per the hotel signage. We swam on the Friday night around midnight, but after talking to a cleaner on the Sat night after attempting to access the pool after midnight, he believed it was open only till 11pm. This won't affect the majority of clients (and I don't blame the hotel for not wanting to deal with 24 hours of pool use), but the signage is incorrect and the staff are confused on this matter. Location is fantastic - right next to the Sydney museum and Hyde Park, and we enjoyed the walks to China Town, City Central and Darling Harbour. The 18th floor room itself was clean, spacious, well appointed and had a great range of movies + well equipped fridge. Stunning views from the room, gym, spa, pool and lift areas. We definitely plan to be back in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene H, Manager at Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at the Pullman Sydney Hyde Park .

We are happy to see that you found our hotel comfortable, and enjoyed your stay with us.

We are also pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and all the facilities on offer.

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Pullman Sydney Hyde Park sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,
Eugene Human
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Sydney Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Sydney Hyde Park

Address: 36 College Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Sydney
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Sydney Hyde Park 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the steps of Hyde Park and minutes from the Sydney CBD, our central Sydney hotel offers you a world class experience at the perfect location to enjoy all of which Sydney has to offer. Just moments away from Haymarket, our hotel in central Sydney is at the junction of downtown Sydney's business precinct(CBD), cultural delights and moments from Darling Harbour, the Sydney Opera House and Sydney Botanic Gardens. With views of Sydney Tower, our modern guest rooms blend comfort with convenience. We distinguish ourselves from other central Sydney hotels close to Haymarket with friendly staff and world class facilities, within easy reach of vibrant nightlife, Oxford Street restaurants and close to major stadiums such as Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) and Sydney Football Stadium (SFS). Whether dining at our restaurant or relaxing by our rooftop swimming pool, the centrally located Pullman Sydney Hyde Hotel is sure to delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Pullman Sydney Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney
Sydney Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Sydney Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.