We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not recommend” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Sydney to your Saves list
Hilton Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #38 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Do not recommend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

This might be fine for business travelers who have platinum Hilton cards and get special treatment but for the rest of us, this is not an experience to pay for.

The problems began when I arrived to check in at 10am after traveling 18+ hours from NY. The check-in agent told me check-in was at 3pm therefore my room would not be free till then. When I told her of my request upon booking for early check-in, she responded with great irritation that the hotel is under no obligation to give me a room until 3pm. It's at this moment that any respectful front desk employee would make a phone call, try to ring housekeeping, do anything to give the guest the impression she is trying to make an effort. Nothing.

Next was the argument over trying to get bag tags as a receipt that I'd left four bags with my valuables in their possession until 3pm check in. "No, the hotel keeps the tags" she insisted. I tried to explain it was customary in all hotels around the world that hotels and guests kept records of bag tags as proof in the event of lost or misplaced luggage. Recognizing her passive aggressive tone and unwillingness to work with me, I proceeded to make the same request of a bell boy who gave me bag tags without an issue. I was free to wander the streets of Sydney for the next 5 hours...

When 3pm rolled around we went up to our room which was tiny and not really worth the wait. The sink was broken and maintenance was called. Hours later they still hadn't come and told me they had no record of my original request.

Internet is $29.99 a day. Come on! This is 2008-- build it into the room rate but don't offend me by asking for an extra $30. This might be something the business travelers pay because their corporations foot the bill but even they should find it outrageous.

The hotel had an event on the Saturday night I stayed that made that evening especially uncomfortable. Upon returning from a movie at 12:30am, we could not physically walk into the hotel. The entrance and driveway was totally blocked by drunk party revelers who were in various stages of disarray. Once we pushed our way in, we ended up in an elevator with more of these party guests. One was jumping up and down in the elevator ride, hazing other guests in the elevator and screaming. Don't get me wrong, I'm not a prude, I go to parties, drink and have fun, but I do not behave like an animal like these people did. When we told the hotel about the experience upon checkout they handed us a questionnaire to fill out. Given how it felt to be a guest at the Sydney Hilton, I have a hunch my complaint will fall into the cracks of the corporate system.

  • Liked — checking out
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    946
    342
    129
    72
See reviews for
242
989
289
932
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

My wife and I stayed at this newly refurbished hotel for only 1 night as we had a function to attend in one of the many meeting/ball rooms on the property.
The hotel itself is a well established hotel in the heart of Sydney and walking distance from any part of the central city area.
The main entrance is from Pitt Street, and as we drove there we used the parking garage below. $30 for overnight.
Reception is fairly small but open and does have a kiosk but on our check-in the staff were very slow. 15 minutes standing there.
We were located on the 42nd floor, standard room. This was very clean and new, good bathroom and shower with separate bath. Toiletries were 1st class. Room was a little on the small side, but good bed and flat TV (with bad reception).
Overall a good but not great comfortable hotel. It also has the famous (in Sydney anyway) Marble Bar which is most impressive in it's art decadence and the Zeta Bar which is one of the most popular nightclubs in town, although staying at the hotel doesn't give you any advantage over the queue that streaches the length of the property. Breakfast is the usual buffet affair which is quite nice but expensive.
Oh, and the function and the room it was in was great, including the food and drinks.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Reception
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

I have stayed at the Hilton in Sydney many times while visiting family in Sydney and will return many times again. I continue to return for 3 reasons.

1. This place has the BEST breakfast you can imagine. They have EVERYTHING! Ive stayed at many 5 star hotels and nothing has come close to the selection and outstanding service you receive. (make sure you get breakfast included in your booking)

2. The rooms. Although sometimes perhaps small, they are extremely clean & comfortable. Nice plasma TV screens, really confortable beds and funky modern bathrooms. Those who complained about the bathrooms in other reviews should gain some appreciation for modern living.

3. Service. Overall service is outstanding, including the "magic" button in the room and helpfullness of reception and the friendly staff at the front door.

I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. Absolutly fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

Readers may wish to know that I am a diamond card holder with the Hilton group (which gives me upgrades). Furthermore my wife and I are fairly well travelled and neither of us will see 50 years old again.

This hotel is more of a businessperson's resting place than a traveller's. The bedrooms are small and any more than 1 suitcase becomes a problem in terms of hanging space and space in the room for case storage. The bathroom is , for me, bizarre : built of frosted glass it affords no privacy or discretion, but the shower cubicle is great. Sound insulation to the outside of the bedroom is not brilliant , and you will hear doors slam.

The hotel is well located in one of the main city centre roads and is close to most things. The outstanding Victoria shopping centre is immediately opposite, Darling Harbour is a 10 minute walk and Circular Quay,the Botanical Gardens and the Opera house about a 20 minute walk. The hotel has a really good, large gym and spa with regular classes for men and women, including a dedicated spinning room. The breakfast room is good with a reasonably good variety of food. Zeta's bar is a magnet for the young , and Saturday night is quite simply a parade of beautiful girls in refined clothing waiting to pay AUS 40 just to get in.

The Executive Club room is ok, but gets very crowded at happy hour time and the food variety is boring.

The general service level is high (but not in a Hong Kong way) and the Concierge desk is well managed.

Would I stay there again? Difficult to beat the location, but I would want more bedoom space and a discreet loo !!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small bedroom and indiscreet loo
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

Great location, clean, quiet and prompt check in and check out.
Looked after us very well

  • Liked — Beautifully equipped
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

I was there one night on business and was given a "king relaxation room." The room was next to the service elevator area so I heard noise. Also noise from closing doors. Mostly, the room was weird--the bathroom was sort of integrated into the room. Also, even on the 41st floor, with single-glazed windows you could hear the street. Hotel was crowded and does not have enough elevators. Only one restaurant, and that is very expensive. The hotel is well-located and the room I was in had been redone. Service was pretty good. I suspect it is quite expensive and for the money, you can probably do better in Sydney. Not nearly as good as some other luxury hotels in Sydney.

Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

My Partner and I spent 3 days 2 night at the Executive Suite. It was Fantastic. At first I was a bit worry after reading so many bad reviews. But they were all wrong. The Executive Suite we stayed in was magnificent. The staff at the front counter and the concierge were very friendly and was willing to have out luggage checked in first before the check in time at 3pm. When we arrived into out suite, we found our luggage nice placed in the room. It was spacious and gorgeous. The bed was so comfortable and the pillow was as soft as the cloud. We had full access to the Executive Lounge and the service was even better.

  • Liked — The Executive Suite
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.