We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sydney

Save Saved
You added Hilton Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save with Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #32 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Room was clean but smaller than I had thought. Service was ok, there was a queue for check in and we were told rooms weren't ready. Location was excellent minus having to pass the drunk people on George Street. Close to tourist attractions and restaurants. Amenities were clean and tidy. Overall lovely experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your review about your recent visit.

It's wonderful to see that you enjoyed your experience; however our apologies to you for the delay you encountered with the check in process to your room. Thank you again for your feedback - I appreciate your comments and we hope you will return to Hilton Sydney very soon.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,996 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    918
    685
    241
    102
    50
See reviews for
159
742
229
649
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It could have been a perfect stay. The hotel is modern, new and clean. I was upgraded. The room was large, quiet and well appointed. The service was friendly and efficient.

Just two things stopped this review being 5/5.

1) There was a 1/2 drunk bottle of water in the mini-bar. This was quickly replaced by the hotel when I alerted them to it, (I didn't want to have the charge on my statement as I was using express check out so wouldn't have a chance to explain the issue) but after all this, it turns out I've been charged for the bottle I didn't use.

2) I had to call the hotel, twice, to obtain a tax invoice which was annoying. Only then did I see the mini bar charge so now we need to arrange a refund, obtain another receipt etc etc. as it's a business trip..

It's these little things that make the difference between an excellent experience and an average one.

However, otherwise it's superb.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your review about your recent experience.

I was sorry to read about the various hiccups you encountered on your last visit. Please be certain I have shared your valuable comments with my senior management team to ensure we are delivering the highest standard of service consistently, particularly with regards to the details you've mentioned; and we truly regret any inconvenience caused on this occasion.

I appreciate your feedback and hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Sydney at some stage in the near future.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

You expect a lot of the Hilton brand and this hotel definitely delivers on that promise. The rooms are great, the staff have the right mix of professionalism and friendliness and the Executive Lounge is a god-send. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: The Executive rooms are the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks so much for posting a review following your visit.

I appreciate your comments - We indeed have a wonderful team here at Hilton Sydney and we all hope to serve you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I attended a tax conference for work. The hotel and its facilities were first class. The meals during the conference were excellent to say the least. perhaps I should have used their gym to work off all that great food. Zetta's bar on the 4th floor was a stunning place. It has a great variety of drinks, good views out to the dome of the QVB building and a real warm feel. The rooms were clean and comfortable and

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review.

I was glad to see you made the most of our venue and enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I'll keep it short and sweet. Amazing location, perfect customer service and valets. But DO NOT TOUCH BAR FRIDGE. Me being stupid I opened it and saw heaps of mini alcohols.. I ripped them out to show my partner jokingly and even though we didn't drink them and put them back the bar fridge was of course automatic and I got charged $208 for bar fridge use :( also there is no amazing pool, just a stupid gym racing pool attached to the hotel. Fantastic service I must repeat.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback about your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was delighted to read that you were happy with our service and location; however we sincerely regret any inconvenience caused in relation to the minibar in your room.
It is unfortunate that you were unaware of this system, as we endeavour to provide as much notice as possible about this automated technology by way of signage on the refrigerator and on the minibar menu.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The public spaces are gorgeous and lots of choices for food and drink. Zeta and Marble bar have different characters but both gorgeous spaces. There's also a coffee shop in the lobby but didn't try that. Glass is just a beautiful space for breakfast or dinner. Loved the high ceilings and the windows facing QVB. Special mention to Julianne(?) at the Glass reception. Very friendly and wonderful customer service. Overheard her welcoming back the regulars. Food is just as good. Tried room service the first night and although it took longer than 30 mins to come up, it was very tasty, still warm and good portion sizes.
I only had a regular room which I found to be quite small. Good enough for business travellers though. Very little room to make a cup of tea etc. And the automatic mini bar was a bit of a surprise. If travelling with kids and need a fridge, you'd need to call and ask for an additional fridge as you couldn't add anything to the one already in the room. And if you move anything you immediately get charged for it. The bathroom is also quite squishy. However, everything is spotlessly clean! I liked the rain shower, the TV in the bathroom and the window blinds. If you want a sleep in, they are perfect as it kept the room dark - wouldn't have thought the windows were facing a busy city street. Agree with other reviewers about the location. Smack bang in the middle of everything. Harbours, shopping, park a quick walk away. Okay for business but probably book a suite if travelling with a companion/ family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay.

Wonderful to see that you enjoyed your experience overall and that you were pleased with our facilities and services. Thank you for mentioning Julianna in Glass Breakfast, to whom we will pass on your kind comments.

We all hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimac, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the Sydney Hilton. Very impressive hotel and restaurant. I was upgraded to the 38th level with great city views. Hotel was very close to all I needed in Sydney. Recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your great review.

It was our pleasure to serve you and we hope you will return for a longer stay next time you're in Sydney.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Sydney Hilton
Hilton Hotel Sydney
Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Business Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.