We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sydney

Save Saved
You added Hilton Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #37 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I had a very good experience staying at the Hilton Sydney for two nights for a family wedding celebration. It was nice to be able to stay in the centre of Sydney all together. Even though it was raining we did not notice as we could walk everywhere we needed without getting wet

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Sydney and I appreciate your taking the time to post your review.

We are delighted to have had the pleasure of hosting you and look forward to seeing you again next time you're in the area.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    993
    741
    263
    110
    55
See reviews for
172
803
239
725
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have stayed at many Hilton hotels and this hotel had disappointing pokey small rooms. The bathrooms were exceptionally small and not up to normal Hilton standard.
Breakfast was fine but just average range of food.
Good central location
Disappointing overall and not what was expected

Room Tip: Try to get a larger room if they have them?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

I was sorry to learn that you were disappointed with our guestroom size; however, your observations and opinions are very much appreciated as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations.

I do hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Sydney at some stage in the future.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

On arrival I was advised we were being "upgrader" - there was no upgrade the room we got is what I booked, I had an issue making the booking the 1300 number, I had to call your Sydney property and spoke to a Sydney Hilton staff before I could make the booking your Sydney office understands, The pillows were to soft and the TV did not work correctly. and the final think that gets under my goat is the 1.2% credit charge - I know they all do it but it [--] me off, make it all part of the room charge, I know the charge is still there but, I have travelled throw out the US staying IN Hilton Garden inns and other hotels with no credit charge!! I think Australia tourisms need to look long and hard at this type of charges Regards AD Frater

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in June 2013. Hotel is excellently located directly opposite the QV Building. The room we had was small but adequate. Had access to the Executive Lounge, which was great - good snacks and drinks. Used room service for breakfast and a midnight snack - both meals came very quickly and were good. Visited both bars in the hotel, and these were also very good. Extras we had ordered to be in the room upon arrival weren't there, however, a quick call to "Magic" and they soon appeared! Overall, a great hotel and a great experience. Would definitely stay there again if visiting Sydney.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for posting your review about your recent stay with us.

Whilst I was delighted to read from your comments that you were pleased with your overall experience; I was, however, very sorry to learn of the service shortfall that you experienced in connection to your pre-ordered amenities. Rest assured, the appropriate Department Manager is aware of your comments and will be addressing the matter with his team in order to avoid a reoccurrence in future. We sincerely regret any inconvenience caused.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the near future for another wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

First time staying at the Hilton in Sydney and I was very impressed. The modern rooms looked fantastic and there were lots of mirrors which opened the room up to make it feel bigger.

Great big windows with city views. We were on one of the highest levels and I just sat looking out of the windows for ages.

We ordered room service. A $23 pizza and a $17 tart. I'm not sure if the pizza was undercooked or if it was the taste they were going for. It was very doughy. The tart was nice but definitely not worth the high price tag.

Parking was $47 overnight. The parking last was going to charge me $157 if I wasn't staying! Crazy

Our bed was 2 singles pushed together which is never ideal, but it was comfy nonetheless.

I would recommend staying here if you were visiting Sydney. Such a great location, close to all of the important things!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review about your experience at Hilton Sydney.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us; however, we sincerely regret any disappointment experienced as a result of the pizza quality during your stay – Please be assured I have relayed your important comments to our Executive Chef accordingly and I do appreciate your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back soon for a better experience.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have been meaning to stay at the Hilton Sydney since their renovations. So we seized the opportunity to have a weekend away and stay at this Sydney staple. We arrived later in the evening and found the car park underneath the building to be a bit haphazard and confusing. There were no marked bays so it was difficult to know where to park. In saying that, the car park is run by SecureParking. Checkin was efficient and friendly and our standby upgrade was granted. City views from the room up George St from Level 40 were pleasant although there was only two windows in the room on either side of a concrete pillar. Would have been preferable to have the window take up the entire wall so as to have an uninterrupted view. There were mechanical blackout blinds which was a nice touch not seen previously in any hotels we have stayed at. The room was small but cosy and reasonably appointed. The bathroom as well was tight in parts with shower and bath. The shower rose was nothing to write home about however did have reasonable pressure. The drain in the shower was perfect (underneath the door capturing all run off and not flooding the floor!). The other bug bear that we had was the usual complaint of having two beds pushed together. If you book a King room you should expect a full king bed and not two put together. I can understand that the hotel would want to be able to configure the room to be a twin when necessary but it makes the bed incredibly uncomfortable in the middle where it meets. Room service was delicious and prompt. Checkout staff were a little aloof. The location of the hotel is well suited to all usual amenities. Would recommend if you could get a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

Whilst we strive to exceed our guests’ expectations, I was sorry to learn that we “missed the mark” on this occasion. I appreciate your observations and opinions, which help us to monitor if we are meeting our guests’ needs and enable us to improve our guests' experience.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney at some stage in the near future.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Across the road from QVB, and between Westfield/Pitt St Mall & Galleries so it's right in the centre of all the action.

Stayed here overnight and thought overall the stay was very good. Stayed in a deluxe room and it was clean and quite modern but nothings special. The room is actually in a small side compared to other brands I've stayed at in Sydney.

Service was good, in room dining came efficiently, and liked that they had free DVD hire which were also delivered to our room efficiently.

Overall, would stay here again because of the price, location and the ability to earn Qantas FF points.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are indeed situated perfectly in the heart of Sydney’s CBD and we all look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.