We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed the mark... just” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sydney

Save Saved
You added Hilton Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #33 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Missed the mark... just”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have been meaning to stay at the Hilton Sydney since their renovations. So we seized the opportunity to have a weekend away and stay at this Sydney staple. We arrived later in the evening and found the car park underneath the building to be a bit haphazard and confusing. There were no marked bays so it was difficult to know where to park. In saying that, the car park is run by SecureParking. Checkin was efficient and friendly and our standby upgrade was granted. City views from the room up George St from Level 40 were pleasant although there was only two windows in the room on either side of a concrete pillar. Would have been preferable to have the window take up the entire wall so as to have an uninterrupted view. There were mechanical blackout blinds which was a nice touch not seen previously in any hotels we have stayed at. The room was small but cosy and reasonably appointed. The bathroom as well was tight in parts with shower and bath. The shower rose was nothing to write home about however did have reasonable pressure. The drain in the shower was perfect (underneath the door capturing all run off and not flooding the floor!). The other bug bear that we had was the usual complaint of having two beds pushed together. If you book a King room you should expect a full king bed and not two put together. I can understand that the hotel would want to be able to configure the room to be a twin when necessary but it makes the bed incredibly uncomfortable in the middle where it meets. Room service was delicious and prompt. Checkout staff were a little aloof. The location of the hotel is well suited to all usual amenities. Would recommend if you could get a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

Whilst we strive to exceed our guests’ expectations, I was sorry to learn that we “missed the mark” on this occasion. I appreciate your observations and opinions, which help us to monitor if we are meeting our guests’ needs and enable us to improve our guests' experience.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney at some stage in the near future.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,022
    762
    270
    111
    56
See reviews for
182
813
246
752
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Across the road from QVB, and between Westfield/Pitt St Mall & Galleries so it's right in the centre of all the action.

Stayed here overnight and thought overall the stay was very good. Stayed in a deluxe room and it was clean and quite modern but nothings special. The room is actually in a small side compared to other brands I've stayed at in Sydney.

Service was good, in room dining came efficiently, and liked that they had free DVD hire which were also delivered to our room efficiently.

Overall, would stay here again because of the price, location and the ability to earn Qantas FF points.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are indeed situated perfectly in the heart of Sydney’s CBD and we all look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located esp if you are there for business. Service is poor in some of the restaurants. Menu selection is also poor - same breakfast menu everyday !! Curtains are so light that it does not even cover night lights coming in. Overall not an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for posting your review about Hilton Sydney.

I was sorry to learn of your disappointment during your stay and we have taken your comments on board.
However, should you return to Hilton Sydney in future, you may be pleased to know that the windows in all rooms throughout the hotel are fitted with electronic blackout blinds, bringing the room to complete darkness if required, and can be controlled via the appropriate switch at the bedside.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we will have another chance to serve you again in the near distant future.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My boyfriend took me here and suprised me with gluten free chocolate cake made by the Hilton chef... balloon. .. decoration. .. champagne and especially made strawberries coated in chocolate and belgian chocolates it was really a plus effort by the hilton staff

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback.

At Hilton Sydney, we continually endeavour to make special occasions truly memorable for our guests and it was indeed our pleasure to host you. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The breakfast at the Hilton Sydney was amazing. The variety was unbelievable and the food was excellent. There are healthy alternatives, too. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is located about 0.8 mi to Central Station in Haymarket where you can catch the train to the Blue Mountains.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for posting your review following your visit last year.

So glad to see that you enjoyed our magnificent breakfast spread and our fantastic location; and we all look forward to serving you again at Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

It's a great place to stay in the heart if the city. Walkable distance to town hall train station with link to airport. The rocks and opera house just 20 minutes walk away.

Breakfast spread is healthy with freshly squeezed juices, mueslis and many other options.

Rooms are well designed and equipped but small. You will need to walk carefully to avoid stubb injuries.

Overall, enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay.

I appreciate your comments and I do hope we will have another chance to serve you again at Hilton Sydney sometime.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I were lucky enough to attend 'The Voice' Grand Finale at Fox studio as guests of Channel 9... we were given two nights at The Hilton Sydney, Limos etc!

OOpportunities like this only happen once in a blue moon so we were delighted! We were booked into a King Executive room and checked in on the 16th June. The concierge and valet did amazing jobs with our luggage and we finally entered our room!

Well the view was nice from room 3315 but the room, alas, seemed 'pokey' (can we say that?), in comparison to 'minor league' hotel chains like Rydges, Oaks and Quest, hence the old addage size does matter!

The overall cleanliness of the room, considering its five star status was not really up to standard either. That apparently hard to remove mould we have found in most of the bigger hotels with bigger price tags (Domestos works a treat in our home)!

Room service meal was fast & tasty, the executive lounge also came in handy for all-day coffee, snacks and canapes!

Look, we didn't pay for the room but as a guest you do expect a certain standard especially when the price tag is high and the establishment comes with a five star rating!

Bonus; Close to QVB, David Jones, Westfield etc!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor.

Whilst I was pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, our sincere apologies for the cleanliness issues you encountered in your room and please rest assured your feedback has been relayed to our Housekeeping Manager accordingly.

I do hope we will have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.