We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, consider parking elsewhere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Sydney to your Saves list
Hilton Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #39 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel, consider parking elsewhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I am a frequent guest of the Sydney Hilton. Whilst the rooms are on the small side they are very well maintaned, clean, modern and functional. My recent stay was for four nights. On this occasion I had the opportuntity to dine at Glass resturant for dinner with a guest. We had a fantastic experience. The food and service was excellent. The restaurant was busy and deserves to be, although it is not inexpensive. The house special crab omlette and lamb were very good. Make sure you book in advance to secure a table. As always, I also had the breakfast buffet and it is very consistent and never dissapoints. They had an issue with the elevator - hopefully it is resolved. When you use your room card and select the floor, make sure the level stays selected. On this stay it dropped out a couple of times for me and also other guests. One gripe is the Secure ‘brand’ car park underneath. Whist it is not solely a Hilton issue it reflects poorly on their brand. It is very expensive, although as a hotel guest you get a discount. I experienced two issues. It is generally not self park. One morning, I was unable to find a parking attendent to release my car. It took over 10 minutes walking the levels with another customer to find some help. The second issue was worse and quite frankly demonstrates poor customer service and at the prices that are charged, unacceptable. They seemed to have some issue, so it took around 5 minutes to get my exit ticket. I was waiting for the attendant to bring my car and it did not arrive. One of the office staff came to me with my keys an apologised stating that I could take my car myself. After finding my car it was blocked in by two other vechiles. I approched one of the attendentents, to be abused for being impatientent. When I was finally leaving the attendendent was abusing at the top of his voice, other staff and customers. He was obviously having a very bad day and hopefully management have counselled him.

Room Tip: High floors are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

Whilst I was delighted to learn that you were pleased with your overall experience; I was naturally very disappointed about the level of service you received in Secure Car Park during your stay. Please be assured I am currently in contact with Secure Parking’s Senior Management in order to address these issues and ensure that our guests are receiving the standard of service expected at this facility.

On a more positive note, we are upgrading our key card system throughout the hotel very soon, which we anticipate will eliminate any issues previously encountered.

We greatly appreciate your valuable feedback and trust we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney, sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,363
    1,025
    375
    138
    74
See reviews for
259
1,062
314
1,024
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Bright modern feel. We have stayed at the Hilton many times over the years and as a HH Diamond member chose to stay again this week.

This is a perfectly located Hotel, walk to Pitt Street Mall, Theatres, Darling Harbour, Haymarket. Hyde Park and many other attractions.

The standard rooms are well appointed and very comfortable but are SMALL. If you intend to spend a lot of time in the room then I would suggest to upgrade to a larger room.

Overall, a great and friendly place to stay whilst in Sydney.

Room Tip: If you intend to spend any length of time in your room, upgrade to a larger room as the standard roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Many thanks for your review following your stay with us and we appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton brand.

It was lovely to read that you enjoyed our hotel’s location and service and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Having stayed at the Hilton a few times for work I found the standard rooms modern but small. Perfectly okay for one night. This time I was upgraded and the room was spacious with a lounge area, and very appealing bathroom adjacent to the bedroom.

Room service is fast and good quality, and the overall room fit out is simple yet modern. The only downside is that the elevators are noisy and you hear them all night, so book a room away from the elevators!

Good location, and it has a great restaurant - Glass - which is excellent for dinner.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room if staying more than one night or travelling with someone, and request a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about Hilton Sydney.

I appreciate your comments and was glad to read that you enjoyed your guestroom during your stay. I hope we will see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

On my stay I couldn't really fault the hotel. The room was nice, clean and modern, the view was OK. Location is great. I got a cheap rate for a Sunday night (about $150) and was more than happy with what I got. Generally when I look to book here, the rate seems a bit high for what you get, but if you can get a good deal, definitely worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Hilton Sydney earlier this year.

I appreciate your comments and I hope we will have the privilege of welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Positives:The location, the lobby, the room on the 34th level ie the view, the wood looking back wall on bed, the square pillows, so soft!!!!! The free wifi in lobby. Didn't go to the restaurant, but it was packed and very upmarket looking with a fantastically high ceining, you knew you were in a Hotel.The negatives: No hot chocolate option for teenage daughter, all coffee and tea. Pool/gym area a bit dated looking, didn't know of sensors in fridge. Great mix of travellers all being catered for - definitely would return, and I should mention we got an incredible 1 night special price after searching on internet for just that, and a long weekend. Staff very obliging when asked to look after bags from well before check in, and to give us a 'room with a view'. PS re sleep quality: blinds a plus. We nearly didn't wake up.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want - we got the city view and a bit of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review following your visit to Hilton Sydney.

It was our pleasure to serve you and I am glad you had a wonderful stay at our fine property. However, should you wish to order hot chocolate beverages in future, please do not hesitate to contact MAGIC via your room phone who can organise this via Room Service for you, or alternatively hot chocolates are also served at Cafe Cino in the hotel lobby.

Thank you for choosing Hilton Sydney and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was looking forward to staying at this hotel, however, overall it was a disappointing stay for such a renowned 5-Star hotel.

Not having free Wifi and having t pay $30 dollars for 24 hours is unbelievable in this day and age - and was compounded by having to pay twice when I used a computer in the business centre for 5 minutes.

I waited for 20 minutes for the Concierge to turn up to try and change a flight booking - and after 20 minutes gave up and returned to my room When I did get the Concierge he graciously dialed a number and handed the phone to me - which I could have easily done myself.

Another reviewer mentioned the lighting being difficult - and I fully concur - trying to get the lights turned on was a mission.

When I compare the Hilton with other 5 star hotels (Raddisson, Langham for example) I would opt for for either of these.

For me I wasn't impressed as I hoped i would have been.

Location however is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback about Hilton Sydney.

I was sorry to learn that you were disappointed with various aspects of your stay and we have taken your comments on board.
I am aware that our Concierge team, when contacting the Airlines on our guests’ behalf, are often required by the Airline to pass on the phone to the passenger travelling, as part of their security standards and requirements; however we sincerely regret any disappointment or inconvenience caused at the time and should you wish to provide us with any further feedback regarding this situation, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at Hilton Sydney.

Once again thank you for sharing your views with us and I do hope we will have another opportunity to serve you again at Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here with my partner recently for a weekend, and honestly no complaints with the room, staff, or hotel in general - but the parking situation and parking attendants leave much to be desired. This would not however stop me staying again.

The hotel was quite easy to find, even being in the middle of Sydney. Chose not to utilise the valet parking option (in hindsight we probably just should have) instead using the secure parking option underneath the hotel. There wasn't much direction on where to go, so just drove down, found a car park, and parked the car. Started walking towards the elevators and had a car park attendant come and yell at us for parking our own car...? Told us we had to bring the car for him to park - quite confusing as we did not realise that the 'non-valet' parking still required someone else to park your car. Not to mention the gent was really rude about it, and made the whole process very confusing. Unpacked all bags from the car, left the keys in the car (not overly happy about that) and went up to the hotel.

We were early and the room was not ready, however the porters took our bags without an issue and we wandered around for a couple of hours until the room was ready - still earlier than expected so that was good.

Room was on the 26th floor, and luggage already in the room. We had just booked the basic room, however we were so impressed by having a TV in the shower - have never seen anything like this before - I guess it wasn't 100% necessary but it was just seriously amazing!! Would have been good to have a bath to really enjoy it.

The bed was nice and soft, the pillows were perfect for me, however did notice they have a pillow menu as well. They do have an automatic mini bar, and again nothing unexpected, but $7.50 for a can of coke - you can order up another fridge to put your own items in, but this seemed like too much trouble. We just made do with a bit of space in their fridge. Must have knocked one of the items at one stage as we had a phantom tonic water show up on our account, however this was taken off with no fuss on check out.

We were out of the room on both evenings, and it was such a pleasure coming back after the run down service - and can I say the black out blinds are the best I have ever experienced - we woke up at 8am still thinking it was the middle of the night!

Did not dine in the hotel, however did have some drinks at the Zeta Bar - looks like they have won lots of awards and they are quite deserving - really well decorated, if you book you can have your own private booth thing, and the cocktails are fantastic. Again a bit pricey, but what we expected from a 5 star hotel.

Check out was very smooth, they do have a 1.5% surcharge on credit cards, which I think is quite reasonable given other places charge a lot more.

Went down to get the car at the finalisation of our stay, and told the attendants we were hotel guests - this then gave us the hotel guest discount - from memory it ended up costing $95.00 for the two days just to park the car - Valet parking at the hotel was only about $60 per night and for the service next time I would pay for this. The lady that got our ticket for us asked if we'd parked ourselves, and I did mention I'd tried but someone had then yelled at us, and she seems very put out that I'd even mentioned anything. This is definitely something for the Hilton to look at, as, though I realise it is not their company, unfortunately this service does reflect on their guests experience.

Overall, we did have a fantastic stay and will stay again, however will probably choose valet over the regular parking next time to avoid a slightly unpleasant beginning and end to our visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us on Trip Advisor.

I greatly appreciate your feedback and we sincerely regret any inconvenience or frustration caused as a result of the service you received from the team at Secure Car Park on this occasion – Please be assured I have personally shared your valuable comments with Secure Car Park's Senior Management team.
However, I am pleased you enjoyed your overall stay with us at Hilton Sydney and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
0.3 mi away
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#29 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#23 of 177 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#20 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 4,125 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,660 reviews
0.1 mi away
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#8 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Sydney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.