We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chaged twice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sydney

Save Saved
You added Hilton Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #33 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“chaged twice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton over Easter, having booked and paid via WebJet we only had to pay for our breakfast at café cino. to our surprise 2 days later there was a charge to c/card for $379.44, after several interstate calls I was told this was for incidentals???? which we didn't have. then a email saying unable to see pre-payment. Still waiting for this to be resolved, on one call to Hilton I was told it was "normal to deduct money then a week later refund it"???
With this standard I will be avoiding both Webjet and the Hilton.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was very sorry to read about your situation regarding these charges and I would greatly appreciate it if you would please contact us directly so that we can look into this matter with you personally; and obtain your details to assist our investigations with the team, as to why this issue was not rectified immediately after your phonecall. We do take these matters seriously and deeply regret any inconvenience caused as a result of your experience. I do hope to hear from you shortly.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,030
    770
    271
    111
    56
See reviews for
184
820
246
759
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, NZ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed with my wife for a long weekend in Sydney. Overall, we were happy.

As others have observed, the standard rooms are pretty small (way smaller than the Hilton hotels here in NZ). But that's not a particular issue - there's so much to do and see in Sydney, you're not going to spend a lot of time hanging around in your hotel room. The location is great - with Town Hall station just over the road, and the main shopping area very close.

The common areas are all superb - as is to be expected in Hilton hotels. We had a few drinks in the Glass wine bar/brasserie - nice ambiance and comprehensive wine list, though staff didn't seem to be especially clued up on the selection. The highlight was the standard of service from the front desk/concierge team. Tremendously helpful and friendly. Also value of money was excellent - by booking ahead, we got a great deal.

We''ll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor.

I was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of our favourable location in the CBD. I have also shared your helpful comments with our Glass Brasserie Restaurant Manager in order to improve our team training and ensure all our staff are fully knowledgeable about the wine selection available.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we all look forward to having the pleasure of hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Why would a Hotel who charges $338 per night for a Executive Room the size of a matchbox charge 1.5% credit charge surcharge on the total of the bill? Furthermore when questioned about this ridiculous surcharge they say that the Government are the one's that receive the 1.5%......

On top of this if you are staying in a room on the Executive floor you would expect to have FREE Wi-Fi........sorry, but that is not the case.Even though Wi-Fi is free in the Executive Lounge and also in the Lobby they want to charge you $29.95 for Wi-Fi in your room for every 24 hours......unbelievable!!

It's about time we all started to fight against these 'extra' charges because if we don't it will become an opportunity to further find a reason to charge more.

Would I ever stay at the Hilton again.......no way!!!

Room Tip: Don't bother......The Executive Floor breakfast is what you would expect from a 2-3 Star Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your experience at Hilton Sydney.

We appreciate your views and observations; however we sincerely regret any miscommunication that occurred in relation to the credit card surcharge. Please be advised that the 1.5% surcharge policy is standard practice within Hilton hotels across Australasia (and many other Australian hotels and businesses) and exists to cover Bank fees incurred with every credit card transaction that takes place. We endeavour to provide as much notice as possible to our guests by displaying this information on our website when viewing the room availability page (prior to purchasing & selection of guestroom), as well as at our Reception counter upon check in/check out. Again, we sincerely regret any inconvenience or disappointment caused, however we do appreciate your feedback on the matter and have taken this on board.

Many thanks for your time and we hope to serve you again at some stage in the future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel for four nights attending a friend's wedding. The Hilton really impressed us with outstanding customer service, wonderful breakfast, and access to a top-class gym facility. The breakfast was amazing. Normally hotel buffets are a little average at best, as the food is just left to stand under hot lights. This one is a wonderful combination of good to food, cereals, juices and the rest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your stay at Hilton Sydney and we all look forward to welcoming you back for another marvellous Buffet Breakfast experience in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed at Hilton Sydney for the third time and again it was very pleasant. Excellent service from concierges, swift and efficient service from reception. Location of the hotel is very good. Easy to commute from/to airport by train. Just across from a very nice shopping arcade. And very close to all Syndey sights. Love the wine bar/restaurant.
We asked for an early check in (7am) for one of the rooms and our request was met without extra charge. Had to make a few calls to housekeeping to get the interconnecting door unlocked, but that was a minor detail.
Standard rooms are smallish but very well appointed with a choice of good (feather down) pillows.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback about Hilton Sydney.

Naturally, I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel and I hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back sometime soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was my third or forth visit to this Hilton. The service is great and as an HH Gold member they always upgrad my room. I did arrive very early around 0700am and my room was not ready but the gave me access to the lounge, so I could have some coffee and relax after a long flight.

Location is very nice and you have the most within walking distance. If you want to go to Bondi the busses are just 5 min from the hotel.

Will for sure come back here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review following your visit to Hilton Sydney.

It was our pleasure to serve you and we appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton Brand, as a Hilton Honors Gold Member. We all hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

A lovely place to stay, the room was well priced and very modern. Had all the facilities you'd expect, plus a few extras like a huge bath and office complete with writing implements and desk chair. The tv channels were a little disappointing - would have been nice for them to provide foxtel movie channels like many cheaper hotels rather than charging $35 to watch their in-house movie channel. The pillows were also terrible to sleep with, and there were no sheets on the bed, instead only a bedspread - very hot and uncomfortable. The breakfast was well priced for a la carte, and tasted great, but it'd be a waste to pay such an expensive price for the full breakfast. Overall a generally good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your visit to Hilton Sydney.

We greatly appreciate your comments and have taken these on board.

Should you return to Hilton Sydney in future, you may prefer to choose different pillow options from our wide selection displayed on our pillow menu in the guestroom. I trust this will maximise your comfort and I do hope we will have another opportunity to serve you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.