We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corner room, great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Sydney to your Saves list
Hilton Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #35 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Corner room, great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The room was nice and clean with a great view. We could look in two separate directions so got some excellent pictures from the windows. Comfortable beds. There is a lack of drawers to store your clothes in which we found a bit odd. Good desk though. There is no free wifi at the hotel, but did find some at the Customs House which worked really well. Tourist sites were all walkable from the hotel as it is quite centrally located. Did not eat at the hotel as prices were high. Found a Woolworths close buy where we found a quick continental breakfast we could eat in our room. Lots of restaurants nearby to eat at and good selection of different types of ethnical foods.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with us on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed your overall stay at Hilton Sydney. However, please be advised for future visits that we do offer complimentary WiFi in the Lobby of our hotel and the password can be obtained from our friendly staff at Reception or Concierge.

I do hope we will serve you again soon at Hilton Sydney.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,324
    987
    359
    132
    73
See reviews for
251
1,035
301
981
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed there for four nights and had a great time in Sydney thanks to the location which couldn't have been better; almost all attractions are walking distance. The service and concierge were excellent too. The rooms were clean and well designed but had a more 'business' than leisurely feel to them. Tariffs and food were a tad bit expensive but you can't expect any less from a 5 star hotel so well located. Would stay here again if visiting Sydney. Recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to learn that you were pleased with your choice of hotel during your honeymoon, (Congratulations on your Wedding!) and I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again one day for your Anniversary perhaps.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Awesome service when checking-in and out. The iron in our room wasn't working and the staff were very helpful and promptly brought a new one up. Nice clean rooms. The fridge is an automatic charge to your account if you have anything, but they offer a small portable fridge should you require one, which we did. Nice comfortable sleep. Buffet breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again at our hotel in future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Civitavecchia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

What a great weekend we had at the Hilton recently. From the moment of arrival to the moment of departure, the staff were friendly, obliging and engaging. We had an amazing dinner at Luke Mangan's restaurant, staff again made the experience memorable. It was worth paying extra for a King Room to get access to the lounge. The views from there are outstanding and perfect for Pre dinner drinks, an afternoon coffee and a leisurely Sunday breakfast. Got a wonderful surprise with a celebration birthday balloon delivered to our room and birthday greetings inscribed with chocolate on the dessert plate - and what desserts!!! We also had an afternoon of relaxation in the pool and spa area, and steamed ourselves until cooked. What luxury! Yes, this is not a budget hotel, the rooms are not huge and you might pay more than you intended to, but well worth the expense for a special weekend.

Room Tip: I would imagine all rooms have a high standard, no matter what floor you are on. This is the Hilton...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your Birthday celebrations with us and that you were pleased with your experience at Hilton Sydney.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton Sydney in August and was really happy with it. Had a great room and breakfast each morning was superb. When I stayed again in late February it seemed like management has changed or something - it has definitely gone downhill. When I arrived I was given a room on the 20th floor and I was quickly on my way since it was almost midnight and I had to be up by 5am. Upon exiting the elevator I was quickly greeted by the disgusting odor of cigarette smoke. I walked down the long hallway to the very end where my room was. I was then greeted by a sign that said, "This is a smoking room". I was shocked! I was traveling for business and would NEVER reserve a smoking room. The room reeked! I then rang the front desk and asked for a non-smoking room. They were hesitant, but then were able to switch rooms. I waited another 20 minutes until my second room was ready. The second room was on the 41 ( i think) floor. The room was ok - but just irritating that they didn't tell me when I checked in or asked if a smoking room was ok. I didn't think hotels even has smoking rooms anymore?? The hotel is ok - but the room rate was $299 - for basically my 5 hour stay! Definitely not worth it and I'm sure their are some neater 'boutique' hotels in the CBD that are nicer and better off staying at. Hilton is just a name these days - and definitely not living up to the hype they once had...

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 20th floor it's all smoking rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I have noted your feedback regarding your arrival experience and I can understand your frustration over receiving a non-smoking room upon check in, particularly if this was not what you had reserved. We have investigated the situation to the best of our ability and it appears that on the night of your arrival, our last non-smoking room unfortunately had some urgent maintenance that was being carried out; hence the delay you encountered when changing rooms and for which we sincerely apologise - I can imagine the inconvenience.

However, I appreciate your feedback on the matter and once again, our deepest apologies over what transpired on this recent occasion.

I do hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Sydney at some stage in the future, for a stay which is memorable for all the right reasons.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile


My husband and I have stayed in our fare share of hotels throughout Australia and worldwide - the Sydney Hilton was disappointing. Over priced for their small rooms.

This was our first time at the Sydney Hilton. From the moment we walked through the revolving door and stood at reception not one person helped with our luggage. We booked in and got our room key, no directions and still no help with the luggage.

We stayed in the King deluxe room in which felt more like staying in a oversized box. We were very disappointed with the size of the room. The bathroom was nice but the frosted green glass on either side of the bedroom and bathroom side prevented us having a good night sleep as every time throughout the night when my husband or myself would go to the toilet we would be woken by the light shining through the glass.

Whilist nice and clean - value for money was very poor.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about Hilton Sydney.

I was very sorry to see that you were not given assistance during your arrival experience and please be assured your feedback has been taken on board and communicated to the Department Manager concerned, to ensure we are delivering the standards expected of us here at Hilton Sydney.

It is most unfortunate that your sleep was disrupted from the light coming through the frosted glass of your bathroom, however please be informed we also have a nightlight switch available which is not as bright and may lessen any disturbance at that hour. Although, should you return to Hilton Sydney in future, you may prefer one of our Guest Room Plus rooms which have no glass walls from the bathroom to the bedroom.

Thank you again for your helpful feedback and I hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

great hotel great views and very clean staff all nice and friendly.good location right in the heart of the city close to the harbour and circular quay a good hotel for sydney shopping.hotel also has a good parking area.first floor has a very comfortable bar and eating area agreat place for afew days in sydney.

Room Tip: the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Hilton Sydney and I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your overall experience.

I hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Business Hotel in Sydney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.