We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and enjoyable stay at the Sydney Hilton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Sydney to your Saves list
Hilton Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #34 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
California USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great location and enjoyable stay at the Sydney Hilton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

During a month long trip to Australia, we had three different hotel stays in Sydney. Two were at the Sydney Hilton (the third at the Four Seasons as part of a tour). The room appointments and hotel services were fine and we enjoyed breakfast buffet in the Glass Brasserie.

The location of the Sydney Hotel is close to all central business areas sights, but does require some walking capability. In addition, there is public transportation close to the hotel that can reduce some time and effort.

During our stay we had a few lunches and a dinner at the Bistros on Five, in the nearby Westfield Mall. We also had a dinner at Doyles on the Wharf during our Sydney stay. The Bistro meals were reasonably priced and offered a good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed our location and we all hope to see you again at Hilton Sydney when your travels next bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,085
    809
    289
    113
    62
See reviews for
199
852
260
805
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is my third stay in the Hilton in Sydney. This time we stayed in an ex. room.
With a free standing bath, beautiful comfortable and clean kind size bed.
For the price you do spend on this room, I would have thought a coffee plunger or coffee machine would be in the rooms, instead of the crappy instant coffee. Regardless that we have access to the ex. restuarant, where we could help ourself to a nice coffee there. Plus no bin near the kitchenette. But really ......our stay was great. The staff were great, the express check out ..perfect. Great location. And great to see it is of a better standarded compared to the NZ or Adelaide locations

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your comments following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to serve you again soon!

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

An amazing stay at Hilton Syd, and some outstanding work done by Melanie and Juilette in particular to amend my booking, extend my stay and make a special weekend away with my very best girlfriend one to remember. As a diamond member I'm lucky to visit The Hilton chain regularly and Hilton Sydney is the benchmark property in Australia and never fails to impress. The exec Lounge upgrade was timely but you could almost have doubled the size again, totally full both nights. The relaxation room with spa was divine, and the extra special touches arranged most appreciated. Dinner in Glass was lovely, the Crab Omelette with Miso broth is so hard to go past every time, its so good I downloaded the recipe to try at home later. A swim in the downstairs pool and a spa and sauna, some shopping at the QVB and a wander down the street to the pictures made for a wonderful break, outstanding staff, outstanding hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive review about Hilton Sydney.

It was our pleasure to serve you and I am pleased you were happy with the helpful service from our friendly team.

Once again thank you for your comments and I hope you will have the chance to visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Everything about the Sydney Hilton met our expectations.. Upon arrival we were greeted politely and the checked-in process took less than 2-3 minutes. Our room was contemporary and pleasant. The airconditioning system was just right. The location is very central to everything. Overall it is a very good hotel...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed our service and location, and we hope to see you again sometime in the near future at Hilton Sydney.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, superbly appointed room that lacked nothing, pleasant friendly staff made for a superb stay.

The room had everything you could possibly want for a great stay. Bed was massive and very very comfortable.

Breakfast in Glass, although it took quite some time to ask me whether I wanted a tea or coffee, had an excellent array of hot and cold food of excellent quality.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at Hilton Sydney.

We appreciate your helpful feedback and hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to Glass Breakfast very soon!

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I love staying at the Sydney Hilton, first class all the way. Being a Hilton Honors member helps as the points programme is generous and I always manage to get a room upgrade.

I was upgraded to a relaxation suite as the hotel was very busy with conference people and sports people in town.
Room quality is 5 star, the bed and linen is first class toiletries are by Peter Thomas Roth from New York and the air-conditioning is just right. Go for a high floor above level 30 and away from the lifts .
Breakfast in the Luke Manigan Glass restaurant is very good and efficient with lots of variety , oh I forgot to mention Wi-Fi is free if your a Hilton member which is free to join.

I book online direct with Hilton and the rates are always good, they seem to put rates up when Sydney is having an event so plan ahead .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I am delighted you that enjoy the benefits of your Hilton Honors membership and we appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton brand.

We all look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Smallish rooms but very well appointed. The restaurant was lovely and food of the highest standard. No fears in consuming the oysters here. I have found room prices vary from $200 - $360 per night, so it can be great value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.