We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit cramped” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Sydney to your Saves list
Hilton Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #37 of 183 Hotels in Sydney
Gujarat, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A bit cramped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The size of the room was a bit small and cramped. It was clean though.
I stayed there for three nights with my wife while in Sydney to attend a conference. The convention hall was good. Our room had a great view of the George St. and of the city. The breakfast was very good with a lot of variety. The best part was the location. It is accessible from most of the sightseeing places and you can even walk down to these places.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your review about Hilton Sydney.

I am pleased you enjoyed our location and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    784
    284
    113
    60
See reviews for
190
838
255
785
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Had a great stay at Sydney at the Hilton. The hotel is placed in the center a couple of blocks from the central shopping area. Had an official training and it was great service. The reception was friendly and shared directions on the single day we had sometime to go around. Also the hotel has good places to eat around which makes the evenings a bit easier.

The rooms were also spacious enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I am pleased you enjoyed our overall service and location and we all look forward to serving you again at Hilton Sydney.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Rock, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed at Hilton Sydney as part of three day conference. The room was very small, with under a metre between window and bed, bed and desk and desk and bathroom wall. The bed itself was a double, with a very old lumpy mattress and a torn ( and not mended) quilt cover. The bed wasn't made up properly with only a fitted sheet, no top sheet incredible when you are paying for a five star hotel.

The window coverings were of poor quality and the rod for one broke off when you tried to draw them over the window. Fortunately there were block out automated blinds which you could use.

The bathroom was no larger than a toilet cubicle, no bath, threadbare towels and no where to hang your towels. Not even a robe hook behind the bathroom door.

The hotel does not offer free Internet, which is now standard for most hotels in Sydney CBD.

Room service took close to one hour, and the food was ordinary.

As a frequent business traveller to Sydney will make sure that I avoid this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Need to upgrade to a suite if you want any space
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with various aspects of your stay - We appreciate our guests' views and observations and have taken your comments on board.

Should you choose to return to Hilton Sydney in future, it may be helpful for you to know that we do offer complimentary internet in the lobby of the hotel and in our Executive Lounge.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

I checked in for 2 nights after a long trip from Europe so pretty much i just wanted to sleep. the bed is amazing i think the best among all hotels i have been to. room doesnt come with breakfast & they still charge a lot for bar usage. the shower was good..the rooms are more designed for executives & had more of a business feel.
located in the heart of town hall so everything is at door.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It was our pleasure to serve you and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night. Room was clean and I had good view from the window. I liked evening snacks in the club lounge. Very nice selection of appetizers. Good selection of seafood.
Also liked the fitness centre. It was the biggest hotel gym I have ever been. Very many cardio machines. In fitness centre were also swimming pool and 4 saunas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for posting your review following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I appreciate your comments and was delighted to see that you enjoyed your overall experience, particularly our state-of-the-art fitness centre.

We look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I spent two nights at the Hilton Sydney for work, which was a change from our usual hotel. The hotel is quite grand with a high ceiling reception/cafe/walkway foyer. Check in is not til 3pm which was a slight inconvenience as I arrived at 2pm. The king room was nicely appointed with a very comfy bed and remote control blinds. The shower was a treat with a choice between a normal deluxe shower head and a directly over head rain shower. I didn't have time to enjoy breakfast or dinner at the hotel due to work committments. The parking is rather expensive at $50pn for self park or $65 for valet, but that's Sydney for you. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We appreciate your comments and should you return to Hilton Sydney, I hope you will have an opportunity to experience Glass Brasserie's fine cuisine on your next visit.

Thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was our second stay at Hilton downtown Sydney. In close proximity to train and bus. Walking distance to Circular Quay (Sydney Opera House) and Darling Harbour. Loads of shopping and restaurants nearby.
We enjoyed a relaxing king size room complete with a lovely spa tub and salts! The room darkening blinds really blocked the light; perfect after the overnight flight and trying to get some sleep.
We only had a quick bite at the lobby coffee cafe but it was tasty. So many places to eat in the city that you really can take your pick.
The best part was we checked in at 9am and they had our room ready. Great customer service by all hotel employees we encountered.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with us on Trip Advisor.

I was very happy to see that you were pleased with your overall experience and we look forward to serving you again at Hilton Sydney, in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;