We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Sydney to your Saves list
Hilton Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #37 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great location
very close to Town Hall CityRail stop and line that goes to/from the airport
Easy walk down to Circular Quay and The Rocks- about 15 min stroll
Short walk to Darling Harbor with plenty of restaurants
in shopping district- were made aware of this on Boxing Day

smaller rooms
king beds are just 2 twins pushed together

clean and safe for being right down in the city on main street
executive lounge- nice view and open all day

hotel restaurant breakfast buffet had everything and very tasty

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

We are indeed very lucky to be so centrally located and I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay. Thank you again for your time.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    856
    312
    116
    65
See reviews for
215
898
269
852
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Rochelle, New York, USA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Ever see the expression "so small you couldn't swing a cat"? Well, this hotel, after "extensive" remodeling and "upgrading" has rooms that can not accomodate the swinging of a baby kitten. Oddly--and I do mean very oddly--the rooms have a king bed, which is nice, but the room is tiny, and in the middle of it is a massive glass desk that occupies half the avaialble space. Why? We could not figure it out. We had 2 drawers for clothing, and at home we have cutlery drawers larger than the clothing drawers in room 2610. We had trouble storing our suitcases and we could not unpack because there is nowhere to unpack and put things that do not hang. We called and begged for a medium-sized cat room, but alas, only if we paid an extra (discounted, apparently) $250 per night could we have a small suite. We did not need a suite--just a normal room, like the Hilton on the Park in Melbourne. No such luck. The location is terrific, in the middle of the CBD, across from the Queen Victoria Arcade/Shops on George Street. Very good spot, nice staff, but oh the rooms are very small. Of particular note as an added irritation is the notice that if one touches or moves anything in the refrigerator, Hilton will charge you. So, we called to say we would be putting wine and chese in there and to please not charge us for moving the Coke cans and beer. Their suggestion? They told me that they would bring a portable refrigerator to the room for that purpose. Now this is a room that is already size-challenged, and now we are going to have a portable compressor running in the room? They finally saw the sense of ignoring that I moved the cheese.

Room Tip: The indoor pool/exercise room is very large and very well done. there is no outdoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your review about Hilton Sydney.

I was sorry to see that you were disappointed with your room type during your stay. The desk is usually a popular feature with our guests, especially our corporate clientele, however we sincerely regret that you felt cramped on this occasion and have taken your feedback on board.

However, should you return to Hilton Sydney in future, you may perfer one of our Relaxation Rooms for a more spacious experience.

We appreciate your comments and views as it helps us to gauge our guests' perceptions and ascertain whether we are meeting guests' expectations.

Thank you again and I hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in August last year. Everything was fantastic.
Worst thing was that I fell in love with the toiletries and we can't get them in New Zealand....

The room is impeccable, and the staff were very friendly.

Thank you for such an amazing stay for my first time in Sydney.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us at Hilton Sydney, and we look forward to welcoming you back, the next time your travels bring you this way.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton last week and took the train to the city. Town Hall station is across the street and the location of the hotel allows you to wheel your bag through the QVB and up the escalator to the hotel. This was convenience plus as we didnt have to pay for parking. As others have said this is a terrific mid city location, good for shopping, Darling Harbour is close by and we walked to the Opera House to see a show. Small but comfortable rooms. We asked about any deals for breakfast as the Glass brasserie is lovely. Had a buffet breakfast for $29.00 each ($10 off the normal price so it pays to ask!) which included coffees made to order. This was expensive but very convenient. Great views of the QVB Sydney sandstome facade from the breakfast room.
We have stayed at the Hilton before and will do so again.

Room Tip: Ask about a discount for breakfast. They will offer a deal if you purchase breakfast the day before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Many thanks for your comments on Trip Advisor.

I'm glad you enjoyed your experience at Hilton Sdyney, including our buffet breakfast which offers quite a spread.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

On a stopover from central Australia to London I stayed for a couple of nights at the Hilton Hotel in Sydney. I chose the Hilton not only for its comfort and good beds, but for its convenient location right in the middle of Sydney. I was glad I did because it is so close to everything. Just walk out the front door and there is central Sydney with all the best shops nearby and Chinatown not far down the road. A pleasant city walk took me to the Royal Botanic Gardens, Opera House and Sydney Cove, where I took ferry rides across Sydney Harbour. The Hilton is located very close to Town Hall and Wynyard railway stations, which are on the direct line to the Airport - another drawcard. My bedroom was very stylish indeed, with a beautiful comfortable bed and the best feather doona ever - just the right weight. I loved the window dressings as well, they were opaque sliding panels that could be adjusted to let in my preferred amount of light. There was a great view of the city as well. The room was very comfortable and of the highest standards of cleanliness, comfort and quiet. The breakfast restaurant was obviously a great favourite of Sydneysiders and I enjoyed my breakfast with great coffee. I'll definitely stay here again when next in Sydney. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was glad to see you had a wonderful stay and we all look forward to serving you the next time your travels bring you back this way.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindarie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel just gets it right over and over.
I've stayed here a few times and always have a lovely, clean room, comfy bed and a true 5 star experience. Rooms are comfortable contemporary with everything you need.
We upgraded to a Deluxe room this time in order to check in early. Probably not worth the extra $60 but we needed to sleep after a flight from LA.
The Marble Bar is amazing. Location right in town, waking distance to everything. Express check out is a breeze.
Parking very expensive and complicated but apart from that this hotel just knows what they're doing. Stay here if you want a guaranteed quiet night in a real hotel.

Room Tip: We upgraded for $60 to a high floor on the corner. Great city views and totally silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your comments and hope you will visit us again at Hilton Sydney, sometime in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on a visit to my homeland.

Checked in on NYD and the hotel was at full occupancy this previous night, hence i was unable to check in at 10am. Was told they would call me when room was ready and the bell boy took the bags.

It wasn't a big deal but the hotel never ended up calling me. By the time I returned to the hotel, it was already 10pm and my bags were in the room.

Pros
- Conveniently located in the heart of CBD, you cannot beat its location
- Good sized rooms- value for money
- Rooms were modern and excellent amenities

Cons
- Im pretty tech savvy but the room's high tech telephone was extremely hard to navigate
- Room service prices- A$20+ for a meat pie that was soggy?!?! Surely you can do better if you are going to charge that money. Overall room service prices were very expensive.
- Parking fees were expensive- it was 25% of my room rate
- I was unlucky to have a room on the same floor as flight crew who were noisy coming in/ out wee hours of morning.

Room Tip: Park on the street for free if you park late at night and leave by 6am
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor.

Whilst I am pleased you enjoyed our location and facilities, I was sorry to learn of your disappointing service experience during your stay.

Please rest assured your feedback has been taken on board and discussed with the Department Managers concerned, in order to avoid any such repetition in future, as we strive to deliver the highest standard of service.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I do hope we will have the privilege of serving you again at Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.