We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Sydney to your Saves list
Hilton Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #36 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We recently stayed for Xmas day and Boxing Day. This is a very nice hotel, well located being central to everything. The food, we had room service once, was fantastic. Our corner room had a great view, was exceptionally clean and had everything we needed. The only downer was the cost of the parking but I guess that is the price in sydney

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.

I appreciate your comments and we hope to serve you again in the near future, at Hilton Sydney.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,181
    886
    320
    118
    66
See reviews for
225
932
279
863
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The rooms are really comfortable. One of the best hotel beds I have had. Staff were pretty accommodating, we had a late flight so got complimentary late check out and access to their gym and spa for the day.

But some of the basic business hotel things you come to expect were missing. No toothpaste/toothbrush, no razor, no complimentary water bottles. Everything there would cost at least 3 times retail price.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was pleased to learn that you were happy with our service. However, should you wish to receive complimentary amenities on future stays, such as toothbrushes etc, please do not hesitate to contact MAGIC via the MAGIC button on the guestroom phone and our friendly team will be happy to supply you with your requested items.

Thank you again and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights towards end of nov. upgrade was expected and 1 night later was moved to a top floor room on request. They didn't move my toiletteries bag and had to call up thrice to find it and be brought to my new room. Had asked for a room with a view of George street and darling harbour and the reception said yes, but got the room on the other side. So much for attention to detail.
Apart from the above issues was a good stay and the breakfast at glass as usual was great

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your overall experience. However, I do apologise for the service breakdowns which transpired during your stay and please be assured I have addressed these with the relevant Departments. Your comments are very much appreciated and can only help to improve our team.

Thank you for your time and I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We arrived 9 am to put our luggage to store since their check in time is 3pm. We were pleasantly surprised when concierge (Ronald) asked to check with reception in case the room is ready for check-in. On inquiry from reception we were advised that we can check in and were offered an upgrade for a nominal fee - which we took as a gesture of appreciation for letting us check in early.

Rooms were very neat and clean and well stocked. The only thing I didn't liked was that we had to pay for Internet ($20+/day). Not that we need it (since we were live in Melbourne, our phone had enough internet facility but for guests from overseas I think its a good facility to have) but still I think this should be a complimentary service for guests staying at any hotel around the globe. Maybe next time they will have free access for the guest.

The hotel is located in the heart of Sydney CBD. It's couple of minutes from Town Hall station and short walks from Darling Harbour, Circular Quay and China Town. So a big thumbs up to location.

Hotel have a nice cafe in the lobby area - loved their coffee's. Would recommend it, however their breakfast menu may improve.

We checked out on 26th December and check out was very smooth. The receptionist (Julia) was great - she took time to chat to us and offered any assistance (taxi etc) we may need. However, we didn't liked the idea of extra 1.5% surcharge on credit cards - we live in a world of plastic money. 1.5% is not a pain to pay but it's understandable when we are traveling to a budget hotel - not for a five star.

All in all we had very peaceful and happy stay at Hilton.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay with us at Hilton Sydney.

I was delighted to see that you were pleased with your overall experience and I have shared your pleasant feedback with our team accordingly.

I have also noted your comments regarding the internet charges and as an alternative to this option, we do currently offer complimentary WiFi in the hotel lobby and in our Executive Lounge.

In relation to the credit card fee, please be advised that the 1.5% surcharge policy is commonly practiced in Australian hotels and businesses and exists to cover the Bank fees incurred with every credit card transaction that takes place. We sincerely regret any disappointment caused as a result and we do appreciate your feedback and views on the matter.

Once again thank you for your time and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

we stayed in the executive suite with access to the executive lounge. it was expensive for what we got and the quality of the room and facilities was substandard. quite disappointed with the hilton other than its central cbd location

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your comments following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with your experience. However, we appreciate your feedback as it enables us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations.

Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Having a scored a good deal from the Hilton International booking centre I really couldn't complain about the value. The room was small but functional and the bed comfy. I ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was superb and they have one of the best wines lists in Sydney catering for all budgets. My biggest gripe was as expected they took money off of my credit card in advance but it then took several days to get it refunded during which I suppose they get interest on it! Look apart from that they stay was fine but you have to get a good deal on the room to make it worthwhile.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your review following your stay at Hilton Sydney earlier this year.

I was happy to read that you were satisfied with your experience at our hotel. However, to clarify the situation regarding your pre-authorisation charge, please be advised this charge is released immediately upon check out; and the time taken for it to appear on your bank account depends purely on your bank – Usually 5-10 business days.

If you experience any issues with this in future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will gladly get in touch with the relevant bank to fast-track this process.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to see you again soon at Hilton Sydney.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This was my 1st stay at Hilton Hotels as well as my 1st time to Sydney itself. Stayed here for 21 nights (October - November 2012). And I felt completely at home.. No major complaints whatsoever.

LOCATION : PERFECT LOCATION!! Situated on George street, it was less than 2 minutes walk to our office in The Galleries, entrances smacked right in front of Queen Victoria Building, Westfield on Pt Street.. In fact it is accessible to almost all the major places in the city from the hotel within a walkable distance! - CHinatown, Market St; Darling Harbour, Star Casino, Paddy Market, The Rocks, Sydney Opera House...

There's a train station right at the corner of the street - TownHall Station. If you are taking a cab from airport, it will cost you approx AUD 40-45 and a train ride will cost about AUD 16..

ROOM: Very clean rooms with clean and chic designs. Beds are utterly comfortable. Bathrooms are clean as well and fully equipped with essentials. However, I found the TV channels were very limited and was surprised as it is 5 star hotel and expected better array of channels to watch. Oh yea, I simply love the massage bar soap that they supply in the bathroom >_<

SERVICE: Very good service. They were very attentive to any request. And love the idea of the "MAGIC" button for any request. They deliver fruit baskets (not sure if this only for long stays) but i wish they would leave it a little longer at times as I would come back looking forward to grab a fruit or two and will find my fruit basket cleared off too soon :(

Check out and check-in was a breeze.

WIFI: This is one area I was not exactly satisfied with simply because the free wifi was only limited to the lobby. To use it in the room and additional fee of AUD21 is charged which i think was not really reasonable since I was on a long stay.

BREAKFAST, CAFE & LOUNGE : The breakfast spread was awesome especially for the healthy fruit juices and shots served but i do find the main meals were repetitive at times especially the sauted button mushrooms. Otherwise it is quite a heart breakfast. Do grab your coffee fix at 3.30 pm at Caffe Cino.. Their flat whites are pretty good as well as the cheese cake and choc cookie and tiramisu!! The lounge area is not too bad as well with reasonable tasting appetizers and free flow of drinks. (but this is only free for the Diamond members if not mistaken).

VALUE: Obviously staying here is expensive and we paid a corporate rate of AUD 338 (approx) per night.

ENTERTAINMENT & OTHER FACILITIES: There is a in-house gym and other facilities like pool. And if you feel like a party for Friday and Saturday night , head to Zeta Bar or the Marble Bar. Loved both of it!

Overall, my stay in Sydney was simply awesome thanks to Hilton Hotels. Will definitely wanna stay here again if I get a chance :)

Room Tip: - If you are staying for more than a few days ask for the corner rooms.. They are much more quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your detailed review following your stay with us in October and November.

I greatly appreciate your feedback and was very happy to read that you enjoyed Hilton Sydney as your ‘home away from home’.

Thank you again and I do hope we will have the pleasure and privilege of welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.