We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Sydney to your Saves list
Hilton Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #35 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Somewhere to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Standard 4 star hotel, with all you would expect. The hotel is very nice, clean, comfortable beds, nice friendly staff. The Club Lounge on level 36 is a huge bonus, (if you are eligible or pay extra $). From 6-8.30pm free drinks, prawns, oysters and various hot canapes. Afternoon tea at 3. Plus a continental breakfast. A wonderful position in George Street, close to the Pitt Street Mall, and just across the road from the Queen Victoria Building (QVB). Easy to catch buses go down the road to Sydney Harbour and the Opera House. A nice hotel. Oh, and you must see The Marble Bar. Gorgeous.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again sometime in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,231
    921
    333
    126
    69
See reviews for
237
966
285
907
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Amazing Hotel in every way. The Hotel is up to date, clean, outstanding staff and a breakfast that has it all. The Hilton club lounge in the hotel has many computers, food, drinks and a very helpful staff. The Front desk staff got us into our room at 11 am within 30 minutes ( as soon as the room was cleaned) from our arrival after a 15 hour flight even though check in time is 3 PM.

The hotel is located in a very nice part of town. The room is spacious and the internet works great.

Room Tip: High floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on Hilton Sydney.

I am glad that we were able to accommodate your early arrival and pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've stayed at the Sydney Hilton multiple times over the last few years after trying many other hotels (and I used to live in Sydney too). It's a refurbished hotel from the 60s/70s where the rooms were originally a bit on the small side by Australian standards. The refurb is excellent. The use of glass and other fittings helps open the rooms up. But they're not big if that is you're thing. The staff are excellent. It's a superb location in a city like Sydney. Near everything but not to far from everything too. The breakfast is six star. It's quiet. It's professional. It's modern and classy and functional without being opulent. It's reliable top-end Hilton quality. Which is very good.

Room Tip: Views aren't much better either side. Go high. Get the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Sydney and we hope to serve you again sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

The gym is good here although sometimes very busy as its open to non residents
The rooms are small but location is very good
The bars and restaurant are very expensive but the staff are friendly and helpful

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for posting your comments about Hilton Sydney.

I am pleased you enjoyed our location, service and Fitness facilities during your stay and we hope to serve you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I've stayed here before, and it's a great hotel, but they need to pick up their game. For the prices charged, you should expect more. Their approach to the customer rewards program is not consistent with that on the Hilton website, they seem to have their own version of it. On my last visit I had to point out where they were wrong on the Hilton website re internet access for gold members, and was told it wasn't in their local training manual so the website was wrong. In any case now basic internet access is offererd free, with expensive upgrades for faster internet. This is nothing but a scam - the 'free' internet was so slow my computer could not send an email or even download a google page. It's a scam to get you to buy the faster product. In most overseas hotels of this standard decent internet comes for free. Pretty pathetic, Hilton. Also, the welcome letter stated we would get 2 free bottles of drinking water over our stay - we had none. Why talk about this and then not follow through?

The room was lovely, the check-in person was a young German lady, I can't remember her name, but she was excellent, personable and very helpful - so I would like to thank her and wish her well. The executive lounge was ok for breakfast but nothing special for the price of the room.

Hilton, I think you can do better and be a bit more generous for the prices you charge in Australia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I do apologise for the inconsistencies you experienced on this occasion, particularly pertaining to your missing bottles of water, and please be assured I have followed this up with our team accordingly.

I was sorry to see your comments with regards to the internet access in our lobby; an occurrence which is certainly not the norm and to date, our guests have not reported any such issues with the internet access. However, you can be certain I have relayed your helpful feedback to our I.T. department to regularly test the WiFi system in this area and we sincerely regret any inconvenience caused during your stay.

We appreciate your compliments regarding the service from one of our Receptionists, who was delighted to receive your acknowledgement.

Thank you again and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney for a hassle-free experience, which I am confident we can deliver.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Very disappointing was the only way to describe my stay here, the rooms are small, lifts can take 10 minutes to get you at peak hour and there were other design quirks that are annoying.

Firstly the Executive Lounge - not a fan of the makeover as it looks like a Uni Cafe, although you are unlikely to get prawns etc at the Cafe, at least you will get serving utensils etc.

Second - Breakfast downstairs - a hanging feature is placed where most people wait for their eggs making passage through hard, while other bits of breakfast see you hiking in all directions of the restaurant. The only good thing was the fantastic breakfast coffee.

Room Tip: Higher the better to get away from nightclub noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your review following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was sorry to learn of your disappointment and we have taken your comments and views on board.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west coast
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed here for only one night (between hotels). Overall, this hotel is very nice. I wish
more Hilton's in the US where this clean and orderly.

My room was spacious and well furnished in a modern/business style. The bed was
comfortable as was the office chair. However, TV was a bit
outdated and the remote didn't work (no batteries). They did replace it quickly though.
Bathroom was well-appointed, well-stocked and clean.

I didn't eat anything in the hotel but it seemed to have a trendy bar/lounge on the mezzanine
level.

For me, the best thing about this hotel was the gym: it's actually a separately owned facility
accessible from the basement-level of the hotel. It's a full-scale gym with all the latest
equipment, such as spinning, treadmills, all kinds of cross-trainers as well as a pool, jacuzzi,
saunas, steam-rooms. Very well-kept; although it's not open 24 hours.

As far as the price, I must've hit some kind of a special since it was around $195 that night.
Other nights, it was much more expensive. So, for what I paid, I felt I got a decent deal.
But, paying $250 and up for this hotel is not worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on Hilton Sydney.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay overall and especially our state-of-the-art fitness centre, LivingWell Health Club.

We hope to serve you again in the near future at Hilton Sydney.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.