We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton..still charging for WIFI!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sydney

Save Saved
You added Hilton Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save with Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #32 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hilton..still charging for WIFI!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Located 20 minutes walk from Circular Quay and 10 minutes from Darling Harbour, so this hotel is central for most tourist spots. Cant understand why they charge for WIFI in your room, to use WIFI free you have to sit in the lobby, along with all the other guest! Headed out the hotel for a walk at night, heading towards City Hall, not really a nice area, in fact I would not recommend heading out on your own, quite scarry at times, something that you would not expect in a city centre. We also went to Brisbane, the difference between the two citys regarding cleanliness etc was day and night, did not see any people sleeping rough as, you do in Sydney.

Try the Strike Bar in Darling Harbour, Happy Hours prices are excellent and in a great loaction, just round the corner from the Aquarium.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your review about your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I am pleased you enjoyed our location and we hope to see you again at some stage in the future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    919
    686
    241
    102
    50
See reviews for
159
742
229
651
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a fabulous hotel in many aspects:
- central location to the underground and shopping, and you can walk to everywhere in the city!
- excellent executive bar offering delicious complimentary tapas and drinks during the early evening
- modern, clean and comfortable room (I always look forward to coming back to the room)
- possibly the best breakfast in town!!!

This hotel is great for leisure and work visitors. My partner loves the work desk space while I love chilling on the bed relaxing. The only slightly negative thing is that there wasn't a variety of tv channels to choose from. Other than that, I am extremely happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We appreciate your time taken to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are passionate about delivering exceptional guest experiences and I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay.

I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future at Hilton Sydney.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Very disappointed having paid top dollar, staying on 31st floor and can hear the nightclub from level 4!!! Called reception and was offered ear plugs! Seriously. Get your act together if you're going to charge that much at least be prepared to offer a sound nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your review following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

Our sincere apologies for any disruption or inconvenience caused as a result of the noise you experienced from one of the bars . Please be assured I have shared your feedback with the relevant Managers to monitor the level of sound travelling up the tower, going forward; and again our deepest apologies for any inconvenience caused on this occasion – We do appreciate your feedback.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

As the title suggests, it was bit on the small side. Supposedly I was upgraded, but to what i'm not really sure. Maybe it was the view, which due to it's location was OK. I don't think there are many good views.
While I only had 2 nights, the staff that I dealt with were very nice and always eager to help. The included Breakfast was OK. Even though i was there about half an hour after it opened, the food was on the cool side. Other than that, it was standard.
The room was a bit smaller than other Hiltons i've stayed in, but that basically comes to it being located in Sydney where space is at a premium. I do think i was spoiled by staying In the Hiton in Beijing though.
The location was excellent and I just walked pretty much everywhere. Mind you, i'm still young and I like to walk around. There are many other hotels closer to the main sites such as the Rocks but they come with a premium.
Would I stay there again, I certainly would. Nothing wrong with it. A few drawbacks of course, but overall, I was happy.
Oh, one more thing, the mini bar issue that most have talked about. Every item is electronically tagged and as soon as you take something out, you are charged. Basically don't take things out, if you are not going to consume them. There are plenty of signs telling you this, so don't complain if you can't read. While yes the mini bar is expensive and I reall don't understand why, i'm sure some will use it. I didn't. Just bought a bottle of wine at a bottle shop and that did me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I greatly appreciate your comments and I am pleased you enjoyed your overall experience.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is an excellent hotel that has seen it's price/night steadily increase over the past 3 years. I have stayed here over 10 times in the past three years while on business. The hotel is very good. Here is a summary of the good and the bad:

Good:

- very clean
- very professional service
- great CBD location
- amazing breakfast in Glass
- excellent bathrooms (excellent!!)
- Very good cocktail bar/lounge

Bad:

- hate that the beds in the executive rooms are really two mattresses pushed together
- hate the steady increase in cost/night over the past years, it is a valuable hotel
- the Magic (central call center) system is a nuisance


15 minute walk to Circular Quai (Opera House)
10 minute walk to Darling Harbour
10 minute walk to China Town
25 minute walk to Taylor Square

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review following your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

We have taken your helpful feedback and comments on board and I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I was feeling very tired and a bit stressed after a eventful day
the checkin was very fast and friendly
My room was very nice clean with great views of the city centre
After a relaxing hot bath I was ready for the heavenly pillows and now
All ready for a new day

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay.

I am delighted you had a restful and relaxing experience with us at Hilton Sydney and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

This was our first stop on out 3 week long honeymoon and the Hilton was a great place to stay. Th staff was always willing to help us out with bookings and finding us restaurants. The room was very nice and the location in town was great! Easy to walk to all shopping, restaurants and th ferries.

The only thing that I found a bit odd was that they charged $1 each for making a phone call for us at the concierge desk. Even just to make a restaurant reservation.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your review following your experience at Hilton Sydney.

I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us; however, I was concerned to learn that you were charged for Concierge services. Our Concierge and Bell Desk teams do not charge for their services at Hilton Sydney and I would greatly appreciate any further detail and insight you can share on the matter, should you wish to contact us directly at the hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Sydney Hilton
Hilton Hotel Sydney
Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#16 Business Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.