We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rather average 5-star hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sydney

Save Saved
You added Hilton Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #33 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A rather average 5-star hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Hilton clearly had a very high expectation to meet for me being what it represented among luxury hotels and as such I am disappointed to report the standard king-bed guest room I stayed was just on par (NOTE: among 5-star hotels that is) and had nothing spectacular.

Firstly, there was confusion in the parking arrangement the hotel offers. Being in what must have been the busiest part of the CBD, car park is hard to come by, and I would appreciate the website detailing exactly what the valet parking would be. It now became clear to me that if you left the car at the hotel drop-off area (to be greeted by the porter on the ground), you would be charged hotel valet fee. If you drive into the underground carpark, the carpark staff would still park the car for you but you would not be charged for valet parking but the discounted fee. The arrangement wasn't bad, but not knowing that the actual carpark functions on its own, separated from the hotel itself, I was expecting help with luggage at the carpark and shocked to find none. Oh well...

Secondly, there was confusion about the room pricing. I am still not quite sure why I had to pay for an extra guest/bedding arrangement for just the two of us (two adults) in a room with a pre-arranged king bed.

Thirdly, the size of the room was rather small (smaller than I've expected at least) and on Lvl 23, siren from police/ambulance on street level could still be heard unfortunately.

Complaints aside, the facility was very modern and very clean, and the bedding/lighting was exceptionally comfortable. The shower was also very modern and well-designed; the TV set on the wall in the shower was non-functional, otherwise the shower I took there would have been the most interesting one I've ever taken. The location was definitely second to none, I can see QVB from my room and Sydney Tower/Westfield at the backdoor of the hotel; the monorail stations are very very close by also.

Would I return? Maybe I would try other 5-star hotels (many to choose from in Sydney CBD alone) instead next time. Being what it is, Hilton Sydney has very little value for money apart from the location it offers.

Room Tip: King-bed room is still quite small, considering the hotel being 5-star and the price it charges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor.

I was sorry to learn that you experienced some confusion surrounding the car park situation, as our Hilton Sydney website provides quite a specific overview of the options available. Our Valet service incorporates the collection of your luggage on arrival at the hotel driveway and our porters would then proceed to park your car; whereas the Self Park option involves direct entry into Secure Car Park without assistance from our staff. However, we do appreciate your feedback which enables us to monitor our guests’ experience.

In relation to the room charge, our room rates are based on occupancy levels, which is common industry practice within Hilton hotels and we sincerely regret any confusion or misunderstanding that may have occurred with regards to this.

However, I was very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the overall facility and our location.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Sydney in future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    992
    739
    263
    109
    55
See reviews for
171
798
238
717
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel has been extensively renovated since my last stay - many years ago. The rooms are lovely, the staff pleasant, and the catering appetising.
The hotel has two street frontage with Pitt St taking - close to the mall and George Street entrance directly opposite Queen Victoria Building.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I appreciate your review and am glad you enjoyed our facility and services during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed for 1 night before our cruise in Sydney. This hotel is in a fabulous location in the heart of the city. As a Diamond member we were upgraded to a Suite which was just beautiful and so comfortable. The windows have electric shutters to block out the light which is very important for me, the bathroom was huge with seperate sinks and sunken bath and plasma. The executive lounge was excellent, king prawns and Sydney rock oysters...perfect. the check in and check out was fast and efficient as was all the service. I would definately stay at this hotel again in the future and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us following your visit to Hilton Sydney.

It is wonderful to see that you were pleased with your experience at our hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The only thing I can fault is the price but that seems to be the way in Australia. Everything is crazy expensive.

Excellent service, comfortable bed, staff were great. No complaints at all. I didn't eat at the hotel but the concierge gave me an awesome restaurant recommendation. This hotel is right in the middle of town so easy to wander around.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
I appreciate your review following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your overall experience and I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Located smack in the centre of the metropolis makes this a good choice. One can easily walk to all the mayor attractions of this great city. Otherwise, it is a fairly ordinary and somewhat expensive hotel. Would not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your review about your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was pleased to see that you would choose our hotel again and we look forward to welcoming you back, the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Normall when in Sydney I stay at the Intercontinental but this time it was fully booked. I was therefore booked into the Hilton on George Street. The Hilton is slap bang in the middle of the shopping district opposite Queen Victoria Mall. I found the room to be quite small and the bathroom was also small although the walk-in shower was spacious. The TV in the shower did not work however and the diverter valve for the rain shower did not work properly so the hand held shower gave better performance. The breakfast in the Glass Brasserie was however very good with a good selection and the service staff were courteous and helpful if not a little slow on deliver of coffee. For the price, the Intercontinental is a better option in my view. I also still not understand why, hotels charging top dollar insist on charging (a) for internet and (b) for bottled water. In this day and age this is quite ridiculous.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor.

I have taken your comments on board and appreciate your feedback, following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I do hope we will have another opportunity to serve you again at some stage in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

I travel to Sydney regularly for work, but had never stayed at the Sydney Hilton before.

Only stayed here one night, but what a great hotel.

The staff were exceptionally polite and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble.

The room was very modern and well fit out.

The breakfast in the Glass restaurant was fantastic too. Normally, I can't stand any sort of hotel buffet, but this was great.

Without a doubt, my new Sydney hotel of choice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

We continually strive to deliver the highest standard of service and I was pleased to learn that our hotel is your preferred choice of accommodation.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay!

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.