We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay mostly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Sydney to your Saves list
Hilton Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #38 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great stay mostly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Clean hotel, typical Hilton luxuries but the rooms are tiny! We stayed with 11month old baby and barely room for Porta-cot. Also had car and parking was shockingly expensive. Good if you are putting everything as a work expense and I was, but I wouldn't stay here for a purely personal family friendly hotel- many other opportunities in cbd. I would stay here again for work trips without family though.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room as they are much bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review with us.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney should you return to the area.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,254
    945
    341
    128
    72
See reviews for
242
988
288
928
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I joined the HHonours club prior to booking; booked directly on the Hilton website and arrived late on a Friday night. Check in was easy. I was travelling with a girlfriend and we asked if she was on the same floor; they moved her to a room without a bathroom, not an issue until she got o her room, and found her bathroom door was a fire door that was noisy and clunky.
My room was spacious and well appointed; hers seemed basic by comparison. I chose to upgrade to the executive club and it included breakfast and drinks and canapés each evening; a great deal as it was.
The staff were excellent, every need was catered for. The buffet breakfast was excellent, yet a little slow on the Sunday (the crowds were huge)
I would happily go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for posting your review about your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was happy to see that you were most pleased with our overall facility and services. However, your comments pertaining to your friend's room are concerning to me and I would appreciate if you could kindly contact us directly at Hilton Sydney with more detail, affording us the opportunity to look into this further and determine exactly which room was provided.

Thank you again for your time and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

It's been a very long time since I have stayed at the Hilton in Sydney, not since the early 1990's. The hotel has had a fantastic face-lift and the standard of the rooms is superb. It's a great location in down-town Sydney from where you can walk to everything.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We appreciate your feedback about your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was glad to see you were pleased with the hotel's "face lift" throughout the buidling and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Sydney Hilton sits in a great location for business or leisure travel. Having recently stayed at a range of other premium hotels in Sydney, the Hilton will be my choice on my next visit. The Relaxation Room was very well appointed and spacious, the Club Lounge well staffed and designed; the food in the Lounge, on par with the Hilton standard, was passable.
The attention to detail makes the Hilton well worth a look.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with us following your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience in one of our fine Relaxation Rooms and we all look forward to the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Hilton is located in prime position located directly accross from Town Hall station, QVB and one block from Pitt Street Mall and the new shoppers haven of Westfield Sydney. On entry to the Hilton we were approached by the smiling staff who kindly took our luggage off our hands... and we hadn't even reached the front door yet!
After walking into the stylish modern foyer, I reached check-in and requested a high floor with view if available, the check-in staff were very accomodating and placed us on the second top floor with a free room upgrade. Our luggage was delivered to our room by the lovliest porter- he took me through all the bells and whistles of our room including: electric blinds, music box, Peter Thomas Roth bathroom accessories, the magic button and lighting. The pillows were so soft and gave us a pleasent sleep. On check-out there was a very long line... but there were complimentary gourmet cupcakes and newspapers to enjoy while we waited... Delicious!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with view if available... the lights at night are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review.

I have shared your lovely comments with our friendly team and I hope you have the opportunity to return to Hilton Sydney when your travels next bring you to the area.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in what seemed like an apartment suite on the 30th floor. Tastefully decorated, with a living room, office corner, powder room and very large spa overlooking the city. The views were spectacular. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with.
We felt like a billion bucks.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review following your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

We strive to ensure our guests feel cared for, valued and respected; and I was delighted to learn that you appreciated our service during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I got an HHonors membership at Gold level courtesy of an airline deal, so thought I would eschew my normal Sheraton on the Park in Sydney for the Hilton for a recent one night stay.

Overall I'd have to say it was a great experience and I'll be inclined to go back, depending on cost at the time.

I liked the on-line reservation process; various options and prices clearly presented and easily selected if desired.

Check in was very quick, no fuss.

The room and bathroom, as others have noted are small. If I was staying for more than 2 days, and wanted to spread my stuff out, I think that would be a deal breaker. However for one night it was fine. The walls are solid and I got no noise from the adjoining rooms. The lay-out in the room is good, with a decent work desk and comfortable chair. Lack of accessible power points, as usual in hotels....

I got wi-fi complementary and it worked OK; I wouldn't pay the exhorbitant regular fee. I was disappointed that there was no Executive Lounge available; this was advised at the time of booking and in confirmations, but I would have thought a temporary facility might have been made available.

The restaurant and bar are very good; good service, ambiance and the meal itself.

Overall this hotel met all my needs on a short business trip and I'd like to go back. However on looking for a future booking, the prices on the days I wanted were all +$350/night, including advance purchase. To high; another time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your detailed experience with us on Trip Advisor.

I appreciate your feedback and am pleased that our hotel met your business needs during your visit to Sydney. We do apologise for any disappointment caused due to the refurbishment of our Executive Lounge - We did endeavour to minimise disruption to our Executive guests as much as possible, by way of providing an alternative Lounge location during this period; however I was sorry to learn that you were unaware of this during your stay.

Thank you again for your time and I hope you will have an opportunity to enjoy the new and improved Executive Lounge at Hilton Sydney, the next time your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.