We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest location than any other hotel in Sydney.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Sydney to your Saves list
Hilton Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #38 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Greatest location than any other hotel in Sydney.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I've been to attend a congress at Sydney convention center last week. I've chosen Hilton Sydney even though it's not that close to the convention center but not disappointed At All. Because the hotel is in the very center of Sydney. You can take Monorail from behind the hotel to go to the convention center and before only one stop before you can drop by the Darling harbour to enjoy its magnificent view. And you can go shopping everywhere starting from your hotel : Queen Victoria Building (just in front of the hotel) and many many stores along Gorge Street (the street where the hotel situated). To go to the Sydney Opera House and Circular Quay, just take the free bus 555 (green bus) at the bus stop opposite the hotel. And if yoy like cosmetic shopping, you should go to CHERRY shop just outside the paddy market monorail stop (only on stop from convention center). You'll find a lot of cosmetics such as Catherine placenta cream, Plarry serum, Plarry cream and so on. I'm pretty sure I pick the right hotel this time. The staff is very nice to their guests and there are asian staff even Thai staff Ms.Benny who help me out when I was there..thank you very much for your kindness.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was happy to read that our location was beneficial during your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,255
    946
    342
    128
    72
See reviews for
242
989
289
929
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, Kent
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here in September 2012 as part of our honeymoon to Australia. Overall this is a fantastic hotel right in the middle of Sydney. It is an easy walk to Darling Harbour for all the restaurants. The rooms whilst small had all the amenities of a 5 star hotel. The room had a separate shower and bath. We had truffles on our arrival and a nice welcome card which was a nice touch. The leisure facilities are fantastic with a massive gym and a 25m swimming pool which we used twice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was very pleased you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us and hope to see you again perhaps when celebrating your first Anniversary!

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Sydney was out last stop on a multi-city tour of Australia. This was by far the nicest hotel we stayed in, and it was very expensive, but I shopped around a lot & this was normal for a nice downtown/CBD hotel. It's about a 20 minute walk to Circular Quay & views of the bridge & opera house, and very close to an outdoor mall on Pitt street with lots of places to eat (except Sunday morning - only Hungry Jack/Burger King was open for breakfast).

My impression is that the hotel primarily caters to high-end business clients during the week. We were woefully underdressed in the lobby in our touristy clothes during the week, but as an "ugly American" that didn't bother me. What did bother me was $30/person breakfast buffets - we don't all have expense accounts for this trip. No way am I paying $240 for eggs & bacon for 4 days, so we ate elsewhere.

Also the refridgerator was fully stocked with mini-bar items with sensors that billed you if you moved anything. We wanted to keep some soda, juice & snacks in there, so they came & emptied it out for us. They still accidentally charged us for an item, but I called & they reversed it.

They did upgrade us to a corner room, with great views to the south & west, but the walls/doors were very thin, and we were woken up by neighbors coming in at 3:00 AM.

The room was clean & comfortable, and the service was fast if you needed anything, but I have to admit that I felt like I wasn't their target market, and that they weren't all that concerned about meeting the needs of a tourist.

On the weekend, the suits all cleared out & they brought in a tour group from Thailand with (no joke) over 500 people all on the same schedule. It was 15-20 minutes to get an elevator if you were trying to come or go at the same time that the Thai's were assembling, and then they'd literrally block 1/2 the lobby waiting to get on their busses.

Altogether, I was not dissatisfied with my stay, but there were just enough little things that made me feel like they weren't interested in my type of patronage (a couple of tourists).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was sorry to learn that you did not feel valued during your stay, as we always strive to make all our guests feel special. However please be assured I have shared your important comments with my management team; and we appreciate your feedback and observations as it helps us to monitor and improve our service.

I have also noted your feedback regarding the refrigerator and should you return in future, you may be happy to know that we can supply an additional, complimentary fridge to the guestroom which can be arranged by calling MAGIC on the room phone.

Thank you again for your time and I do hope we will have the pleasure and privilege of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney at some stage in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Perfect business hotel at wonderful location. right above town hall MRT station, 2mins walk to biggest Westfield shoppingmall in OZ, plenty of eateries which include western and asian meals!

room : clean and neat with modern design. regret no free wifi provided, though free wifi at the lobby with nice sofa
breakfast: fast and precise with wide selection of food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your overall experience at our hotel and hope to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend and the service blew me away. From the check in counter, to the breakfast waiters, the concierge. It was amazing. We got a room upgrade, free coffee and cake and access to the canapé lounge just for being part of the Hilton club. Here is a hotel whose employees all impressed me. Well done team Hilton

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback about Hilton Sydney.

We continually strive to deliver the highest standard of service and exceed our guests' expectations; and I was pleased to read about your experience during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney at some stage in the near future.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Was in Sydney again for business, and I couldn't have been happier with my stay. The room was ready, quiet and well set up. The internet in the room was fast. The buffet breakfast was excellent. A wonderful place to stay if you are working in the Sydney CBD.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review with us on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your lovely comments and I am glad you were pleased with Hilton Sydney's services and facilities during your stay.

We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

As Hilton Gold, I was upgraded to Executive Level rooms, even though I booked there via American Express Platinum Reserve Credit Card free night offer. I was also provide Executive Lounge access, free internet, late checkout at 1pm, free buffet breakfast at Glass Brasserie Restaurant. Therefore we have been treated very well.

The location of the hotel is excellent, accessible to lot of shops including Westfield Sydney and QVB, as well as Town Hall station and lot of buses. The room however is small, this is because this is renovated from old building. If you want large room you really need to book Relaxation Room category at the minimum,

The Executive lounge is pretty large, the evening canape is good but I think the one at Hilton Adelaide is better. I also had Sea Breeze cocktail, which was great.

The dinner at Glass Brasserie is fantastic, the place is fully booked out and the atmosphere in the restaurant is great. The buffet breakfast is one of the best, huge variety of options as well as food generally high quality.

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone for tourist as well business travel.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor, book Executive Level for lounge access and free continental breakfast. Get Hilto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your review about Hilton Sydney.

We appreciate your loyalty as a Hilton Honors Gold Member and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel's location and overall service & facilities during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#35 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.