We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just falls short” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Vibe Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Vibe Hotel Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Goulburn Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Just falls short”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Staff were really good. The place was clean, rooms quite large. The pillows were dreadful, I kept swapping but couldn't get comfortable. The restaurant for breakfast was pretty average. The coffee from the machine was bitter. The cafe at the front made fantastic coffee. I'll stay elsewhere next time.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry that you don’t seem to have enjoyed your stay and that things could have been better.

Please contact me at the hotel if you would like to discuss further.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    619
    301
    109
    60
See reviews for
188
462
137
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
orlando
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The staff were friendly and checked us in to our room early following our long flight. The rooms are a bit dated but adequate. Comfy beds and good breakfast. The only downside which we found difficult was the road noise which went on late at night and started early in the morning. I brought some ear plugs which helped a little.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for your positive review which we sincerely appreciate. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay here and we hope we will see you when you are next in Sydney.

With thanks

Jo Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

On holiday in Sydney and stayed at the Vibe. Great hotel - good service and friendly staff. The Vibe is close to everything and has a regular supply of cabs just outside the door. Highly recommended. Maloneys and Scruffy Murphy's a 5 minute walk fro great meals and ale.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you! We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and appreciate your comments and time taken to post a review.’

We hope we will see you on your next visit to Sydney.

Best regards

Jo Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed here over Mardi Gras, which was a perfect location in proximity to Oxford St. Pros - Clean, modern, spacious rooms, comfy beds, rooftop pool. Cons - Strange smelling odour coming from the drain in the shower/bath, not very close to many cafes/restaurants, everything closes early. The cafe downstairs serves pretty bland "airplane" style food. Give breakfast a miss here and head down to Surry Hills, which is a bit of a walk but worth it. Mini bar menu is expensive and easy to resort to as there are no convenience shops close by. Had an upgrade to interconnecting rooms at no extra cost and impressed with housekeeping.

Room Tip: I'd vouch for a room on a higher floor so that you can utilise the rooftop pool area easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for your positive review which we sincerely appreciate. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay here and we hope we will see you when you are next in Sydney.

With thanks

Jo Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The Vibe was a reasonable place to stay over New Years, but didn't meet my expectations of "chic accommodation" that "exudes the style" of Sydney, as stated on the Vibe's website. There were pieces of coloured plastic stuck to the walls near the lifts, but otherwise, the hotel decor seemed quite plain.

We had interconnecting rooms, which were spacious. I am pleased to read that they have replaced all the beds since our stay, and I hope that they replaced the pillows at the same time. The roof top pool was small but the kids enjoyed it. There is no parking in the hotel, but there is a council parking station across the road with a "special hotel rate" of $30 per exit or per 24 hours.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for your positive review which we sincerely appreciate. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay here and we hope we will see you when you are next in Sydney.

With thanks

Jo Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Was traveling to Sydney on business and stayed at Vibe. Great hotel - good service and friendly staff. The mini bar prices were also some of the most reasonable I've had anywhere in Australia. Vibe is close to everything and a regular supply of cabs are just outside the door. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: As for an upgrade - sometimes you get lucky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for your positive review which we sincerely appreciate. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay here and we hope we will see you when you are next in Sydney.

With thanks

Jo Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed here for two nights and was very happy. The room is a good size, I had a great sleep, bed very comfortable, they use not tested on animal bathroom products and the room was clean. I will stay here again and ask for room 806, it is away from the road (just in case, sydney can be noisy)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you! We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and appreciate your comments and time taken to post a review.’

We hope we will see you on your next visit to Sydney.

Best regards

Jo Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vibe Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Sydney

Address: 111 Goulburn Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Toga Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vibe Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Vibe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.