We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Vibe Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Vibe Hotel Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Goulburn Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for long weekend for Lions Rugby Test.
Right in the heart of the city.
Service was superb with staff willing to go the extra yard after a mix up (our fault) with the booking.
Great value considering location

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and your great feedback, we really appreciate it and hope we will see you again soon.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    617
    301
    109
    61
See reviews for
189
460
137
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I'm astonished that this hotel advertises that it is a 4-star hotel - we booked on the assumption that the rating was genuine do not believe that we got value for money as a result. I previously stayed at a Vibe Hotel (in North Sydney) years ago for work and found that property was awful ... but I thought that it had been a while and maybe things had improved ... no such luck.

Our arrival was nothing special - the foyer is a mis-match of design ideas (it looks like a class of uni students was each given a section of the foyer to work on) that lacks coherence, but was clean enough. The lifts were tired and dated (I would guess that they come from the early 1980's) ... but when we got to our room, oh dear: opening the door sounded like we were entering a grave with the groan that the door hinges gave.

And that kind of sustained neglect of maintenance was evident throughout the room: the toilet made odd noises during the night (I guess when guests in other rooms flushed their toilet), the tiles on the bathroom floor were cracked and broken, the switch to alter the water flow to the shower head was very stiff and would flood water everywhere if not forced into the "shower position", the shower head leaked and a patch of warped/stained tiles below the toilet that clearly reflected a significant plumbing issue that's been ignored for years (see the pictures of this).

Other nasty elements included paper thin walls (well, at least you know when your neighbours are taking their shower), an entrance door that shuddered every time someone would open the door in an adjoining room, a fridge that only ever slightly cooled the drinks, a television remote control system that defeated us ... and a toilet that it is not possible to sit straight on unless you've had your right leg amputated (the toilet roll holders occupy the spot where you'd want to put your right leg - see pictures).

And housekeeping isn't anything to write home about: the pillows were so bad we got the 'spare' pillows from the cupboard to sleep on during the night. I removed the plastic and left in on the floor - where is stayed for the two days of our visit.

We let the front desk know of the problems with the door which they fixed (why did we have to mention the incredibly obvious in the first place..?), and the TV ... which we couldn't turn on: it was fixed so that we couldn't turn it off (we pulled the power cable out of the back in the end).

If you're considering staying at this hotel, do so on the basis that its probably an entirely adequate 2-star experience or a challenging 3-star establishment. But 4 star..? Never.

I'd find a better property.

Room Tip: Select another hotel - this one's awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Booked Vibe as my colleague was staying there. Greeted with friendly staff, with helpful, can do attitudes. Room was neat and mostly clean, but needs a little attention, especially the grout in the shower which was pretty grimy. Had breakfast downstairs at curve, pretty disappointing, ended up having toast for $7 and an expensive $5 glass of OJ out of a 4litre bottle.

Would stay at vibe again but will go elsewhere for breakfast

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear jarrodburton

Many thanks for your review on TripAdvisor, I'm really delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will see you again soon.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights for work and found the room reasonable though showing wear and tear. Good location close to Hyde Park and all the CBD has to offer - had a good walk to the harbour each morning.

Good concept with Vibe's Green Room Clean though they missed it the first day and the coupon was useless to me on the last night. Meals in the café were good and reasonably priced though found the buffet breakfast poor (found where they use the tails from short cut bacon) and the service well below par (limited people rather than standard of service). The motel is very much in need of a revamp and the elevators are slow to arrive at all hours (suspect some are turned off at non-peak times perhaps) which is frustrating. Overall a good motel choice in CBD location - don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear JummaBee

Many thanks for your review on TripAdvisor, I'm really delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will see you again soon.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Room was okay as it was pretty roomy and had a large wardrobe. The plus was the handy position and a really reasonable price. The minus was we could hear the people next door celebrating their football team winning on the tv. Lucky it was just the football we could hear!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Gundagirl

Many thanks for your review on TripAdvisor, I'm really delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will see you again soon.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Spacious room and can't complain about the cleanliness of the room. Excellent service and the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Located in the best spot with various attractions just a few minutes walk. Will definitely visit again. Our room didn't have the best views. The only uncomfortable issue was the quality of the mattress !! Woke up with a kinda sore back. Car park is just across the road ( council parking) . The hotel validates your ticket and its about $30 for the whole day.

Room Tip: Tidy amenities but the only gripe was the quality of mattress. Had a bit of sore back in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear yesbos

Many thanks for your review on TripAdvisor, I'm really delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will see you again soon.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Good point of the hotel:
- In very good location, near to Chinatown and other eating place,
just next to hotel you can find a VERY good Thai food , its " Thainatown" , its taste very good with affordable price. Walk down to the main road you can see alot of eating place and coffeeshop.

-Opposite the hotel , you can find Coles , its a very good place looking for snack,bread, water or some instant noodle.

-Just cross to Elizabeth street you can wait for free shuttle bus number 555 , it will bring you to all tourist attraction.

-The room is big, clean, the toilet also very clean.



The minus point of this hotel:

-The mattress is REALLY worst!
- Pillow not so comfortable
- The room dont have a wifi , need additional purchase for wifi . Which i think for this modern era, internet is very important to all guess, why not just included to room's price .

Overall its a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review Vibe Sydney. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you when you are next in Sydney.

With thanks
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vibe Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Sydney

Address: 111 Goulburn Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Toga Hotels, Agoda, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vibe Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Vibe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.