We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibe Update” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Vibe Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Vibe Hotel Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Goulburn Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Maasin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Vibe Update”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed for a weekend with my wife to see a show in Sydney & unwind. Excellent location to base yourself in the heart of Sydney. Close to all forms of transport & very easy to walk around to see all the sights of this great city. Will return soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Aussie1r

Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate is and are really pleased you enjoyed your stay!

With thanks
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    622
    301
    109
    60
See reviews for
189
463
139
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Overall our stay was ok given that we only really used our room as a base to sleep and spent most of our time out and about site seeing. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you want a luxury stay and think you may spend a lot of time at the hotel chilling out (romantic weekend!). The room just felt well worn and in need of some TLC.

We stayed in an executive room on floor 9. Pros and cons of our stay as follows:

Pros:

Great location.

Slept like a log - large, cool room, with black out curtains and a massive bed. Even though the bed had a ridge in the middle (see other reviews) this was not a problem. No issues with street noise as we were on the top floor.

Good hair dryer (nice and powerful).

Very large room.

Good daily room cleaning and friendly chambermaids.

Flashy reception area.

Cons:

Room was tatty and really needs a good refurb - mouldy shower sealant, hole in carpet, dripping toilet and broken shower door.

Tiny tv with poor reception.

Ironing board cover was in the process of disintegrating!

$200 holding fee which iv personally never come across before.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate is and are really pleased you enjoyed your stay! I hope that by passing on your feedback to the team we will get past some of these issues.
With thanks
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton On Thames
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here, comfortable, with friendly and helpful staff. Good views from the top deck swimming pool. Nice restaurant with a good variety at breakfast time. I've marked the spa as good - but we never used it - the form here won't let me complete unless i do!

Room Tip: ask for a view over the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Charliepd
Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate it a lot and hope we will see you again!
With thanks
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My sisters and I stayed at the Vibe recently before we went on a cruise and when we came back,we found the hotel to be in an excellent location,the rooms were nice but the thing that really stood out for me was the staff who were so helpful and friendly,they even did my boarding pass for my flight home to W.A .I would definetly stay there again.

Room Tip: Because there were 3 adults we had a quad room and that was very roomy for us,but I must say there w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear karlyrob
Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate it a lot and hope we will see you again!
With thanks
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed several days at this hotel with a large group, and we were all very pleased with our stay. The employees were all friendly, and available to assist with any questions we had about the city or hotel. Directions to out destinations were provided easily and accurately. The rooms were quaint and clean. The gym was well equipped for a hotel, and the pool on the roof was an amazing place to relax! The overall service of the hotel employees was some of the best customer service that I have experienced in my travels. We were always greeted with a smile. They made our stay easy and fun! I would recommend this hotel to anyone without reservation.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear gjohnson830

Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate it a lot and hope we will see you again!

With thanks
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My daughters and I stayed here for several nights and this was our first time in Sydney. We were disappointed in the hotel as our door didn't work properly because the door handle was broken and maintenance never came to repair it after we complained to the front desk several times. It took us sevral attempts each time we wanted to enter our room. It was very frustrating.There is no real bar in the hotel either. And be aware that you have to park ACROSS the street from the hotel and hull all your luggage from the parkade to the hotel. There is no drop off area or anyone there to assist you to unload. Also, be aware that because you pay for your own parking it is sometimes cheaper to pay at the parkade then thru the hotel. It's was a pain to have our vehicle parked in this manner. And make sure you discuss parking with the hotel when you check in so you are aware of the payment proceedure otherwise you're running back and forth to the hotel and parkade in order to leave with your vehicle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I’m sorry you don’t seem to have enjoyed your stay. Please contact me directly at the hotel if you wish to 02 8272 3300 or jjenkins@toga.com.au

With thanks
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is probably one of the worst hotels Ive stayed in.

It is located on a busy main road and unless you are coming to Sydney and plan on only sleeping for 3-4 hours per night, this isn't the hotel for you. Think Fire truck sirens all night long, police sirens, cars.. well and truly past 2-3 am.. the minute you fall asleep BANG BANG BANG, some drunk holligan decides to rock up to his room and slams that heavy door (ALL the rooms are wall to wall so you can even hear when the person next to you flushes their toilet, farts loudly, or turns off their lamp light, let alone when they talk or yell).

The hotel itself is 4 stars (apparently), feels like 3.5. Sydney has much nicer 4 star hotels. This hotel is trashy and old. You walk in and there are stains on the mattresses, the pillows.. have a look at some other reviews below me where someone found a cockroach. I had a massive yellow stain on my pillow which i just chucked on the floor and used the other pillow as i stayed alone.

The bathroom.. OH the bathroom. You get 1 tiny bottle of shampoo and one tiny bottle of shower gel. THATS IT. There is no body wash, the bathtub is dirty so forget about having a relaxing bath and make sure you bring your own shower gel and shampoo if you're staying for more then 1 night.

Fan broke down several times.
Check in and check out was extremely slow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I’m sorry you don’t seem to have enjoyed your stay. Please contact me directly at the hotel if you wish to 02 8272 3300 or jjenkins@toga.com.au

With thanks
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vibe Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Sydney

Address: 111 Goulburn Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Vibe Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Vibe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.