We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit scruffy around the edges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Vibe Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Vibe Hotel Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Goulburn Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Jan Juc, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A bit scruffy around the edges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Unfortunately most of my issues with this hotel came down to the human factor. When checking into out Twin room which we had confirmed twice on the phone, we were told we had been put in a King room. When we got to the room it turned out to be Twin after-all. We were also told that the booking had been made for one person which was not true.
The room itself was okay although the hot tap in the shower was broken. We requested maintenance to fix it but it wasn't for the duration of our stay.
The room was clean and the housekeeping staff were lovely when I met them in the corridor.
There just seems to be a lack of communication throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. We undergoing several minor refurbishment programmes from now till 30 June so I'm hopeful these will enhance the guest experience.

Kind regards
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    619
    301
    109
    60
See reviews for
188
462
137
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a three day conference in Sydney by myself so stayed at Vibe as it was close and inexpensive. The decor is a little strong but was tidy and clean. I was upgraded to a better room at no charge, which was nice. Was on the eighth floor with a view of the abandoned building next door. Generally no problems with the room. In room dinning menu had a good range and price was reasonable. Food was of a good quality too. Just a few issues with missing items like breakfast order forms, toast and the lack of bath robes. Overall I thought it was reasonable value and would probably rate it at three and a half.

Room Tip: The higher rooms will keep you away from the noise of the busy traffic below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your review and I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay.

With thanks
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Let me start by saying that any hotel that does the first of my issues always loses points from me.

As someone who travels to Sydney a lot I get the opportunity to stay at various hotels. The vibe is probably high on the list however a few things let it down which is sad given the price and star rating.

Pro's:
Location is awesome, minutes from Chinatown and the city centre.
Good size rooms
Nice clean lobby
Good water pressure in shower (something that I struggle to find lately)

Cons:
TWO SINGLE BEDS TOGETHER IS NOT A QUEEN/KING BED!!! All it does it create an uncomfortable ridge in the middle that is hard and annoying!! (See disclaimer at start of my review)
Shower/tap arrangement worn out hard to get shower to work
After hours room service is fixed menu that can't be changed. I arrived late evening and was hungry however due to allergies and the fact that the order could not be customised (things removed) I was unable to order anything, this meant having to walk around at midnight to try and find food.

The hotel is ok, but given its star rating and price you world expect more.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear jamesthom

Thanks for your review and the pro's and con's. We are working toward being great instead of good!

For your information most hotels have king zipper beds that provide flexibility for two singles or a king, they have a zipper to join the two beds together so for the record they aren't just pushed together. If you are thinking of staying again you can request a queen and I'll make sure you get one.

Thanks again, we appreciate your feedback!

Kind regards
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, VIC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The vent is dripping condensate on the bed. This room is unhygenic and quite frankly unacceptable. The staff are unwilling or unable to change my room. If I had not arrived tired and late I would have gone elsewhere. This is not what you should expect in a developed country for the price paid. Rooms should not be allowed to grow this much mould.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest

I'm really sorry about your experience, I've contacted you via the TripAdvisor mail system to get more information and hopefully put things right.

Kind regards
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed 3 nights last week for a conference and found this hotel perfectly adequate. The gym and rooftop pool were tiny but still a bonus for an inner city hotel. It was located near lots of great restaurants, I felt safe in the area and it was walking distance to the major business district. The rooms were large with a sofa and sitting area, bathroom behind a partition that helped block out light if anybody else in the room is still sleeping and decor was hip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! I hope we will see you again soon!

Kind regards
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Tired looking rooms, upside is they are clean.
Rude & abrupt front office staff. I do not make this statement lightly, those girls displayed no customer services skills at all. I arrived Thursday arvo and was heckled for my CC, i advised this was a work trip and gave travel agent info to confirm. After more heckling and no apologies they finally advised all was well and everything paid for including meals.
I requested a room on a higher floor as i am a light sleeper and was told, in no uncertain terms that they would not entertain this request - no reason why. Not happy at this lack of courtesy & unprofessionalism. I can take a no but i cannot stand being dismissed when i am a paying customer.
The staff in the restaurant however were fantastic. They would have bent over backwards to meet my needs, what a contrast. In short, I will never ever stay here again and will not be recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor. This hotel is right in the CBD, there is traffic all hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Melania S

I have contacted you via the Trip Advisor message system and hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I travel for business and the usual places I stay were full so I was booked into Vibe. It was my first and last stay there. Rooms are well worn and it looks like a halfhearted renovation job was carried out several years ago. There are a lot better options available than this. The room I had was quiet but I can't say much more than that as I was only in the room for about 8 hours.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for your review. We are undertaking some refurbishment programmes from now till 30 June which will enhance the guest experience.

Kind regards
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vibe Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Sydney

Address: 111 Goulburn Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, Toga Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vibe Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Vibe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.