We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not enough” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Vibe Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Vibe Hotel Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Goulburn Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not enough”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

People at the reception didn't know about the right bus number to go to the beach.
of the 3 nights we spent there, once the room still wasn't clean at 4pm and the soap was never refilled (we had to ask twice for it at the reception).
The position is good enough, near chinatown, next to Hyde park and near enough to the Sydney tower.
The breakfast wasn't included in the price and the bar they have costs way too much. It's much better to walk a few steps and choose among the good bars around in the area.
The only positive side was the pool on the roof which is small but a good way to get fresh in the hot summer days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Danielle M

Thank you for your recent review which I am disappointed to read. I hope that now the team are well aware of the right bus to catch to the beach as it is a common question. The hotel is in a good position to enjoy the best Sydney has to offer. I am glad you enjoyed using the leisure facilities on Level 9.

Please contact me directly if you wish to discuss your stay in any further detail, 02 8272 3300.

With thanks
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    615
    299
    108
    60
See reviews for
187
456
137
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is modern, clean and in good location. Sydney is easy to walk around if your fit and able - I walked from the hotel along George street right to Circular Quay each day of my stay. I felt safe and the noise in the hotel was relatively low but this is popular with revellers at weekends due to the great value! A very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: I always request a high floor room for low noise level from the street in cities
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear RachLou88

Thanks for your recent review, we appreciate it and hope we will see you again when you are next in Sydney.

With thanks
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuttack
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is well located.Monorail station is very near to the hotel.The room size of the hotel is very much appreciable.All modern facilities are inside the hotel room.The hotel receptionist staffs and the service people are well behaved and very cooperative.Breakfast was good enough with alot of varieties.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Mani-1952

Thanks for your recent review, we appreciate it and hope we will see you again when you are next in Sydney.

WIth thanks
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Lets get right down to it...clean, nice staff (although their internet is a little expensive), close to some of the best Asian food and Southeast Asian food I have ever had, big rooms, small but clean pool with a lot of seating for relaxation, very close to trains and although it is a bit of a walk from other city attractions, everything is easy to get to from here since the station is a train center. Great price for Sydney, which is an expensive city. Highly recommend you consider it if you aren't looking for a luxury hotel, but one that will be easy and spotless and are ready to make your own experience of Sydney rather than just fall into all the other tourist crowds. Nice stay, nice time! Couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear KirstenandShon

Thanks for your recent review, we appreciate it and hope we will see you again when you are next in Sydney.

WIth thanks
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our first trip to Sydney so weren't real sure about the location of the Vibe Hotel, Sydney. We flew to Sydney and caught the train to the Museum Station - from there the Vibe Hotel was a short walk away. (we used the wrong exit and had to lug our heavy cases up the stairs so make sure you ask for directions to the exit with escalators). I had booked for 2 nights about 2 months before our visit and were surprised when we went to our allocated room that somebody was already inside. After a bit of discussion with the occupant as to who should be in the room we returned to reception. The manager upgraded our room and we were flabbergasted to find our new room was a "Star Suite" - grand piano, 2 big rooms, great view etc. (a real surprise!!). We had just spent the week prior staying in a resort in NorthQueensland and were caught off guard by the constant drone of sirens from ambulances and fire trucks from the nearby Fire Station. We definitely appreciated the upgrade though.
The pool area on the top floor was a nice spot to go and sit and have a quiet drink. However, breakfast was very expensive ($23 or $29 compared to Melbourne prices of $17) so we went elsewhere and ended up eating dinner across the road at a hotel which had excellent, inexpensive meals. (The Curve Restaurant was too expensive and lacked ambience) We felt very safe at the Vibe and it is ideally located with the free 555 bus available nearby as is the Museum Train Station. I went for a sauna one night and was disappointed that it wasn't working. Overall, was a pleasant enough experience.
The only downfall was in relation to some of the reception staff - 1 male and 1 female. When asked questions about the cost of a further stay at the Vibe within the Star Suite we were confronted with quite an ambivalent responsë öf ""it depends on the night"" and then we were readily dismissed while the female staff member answered the phone and then after speaking on the phone attended to another arrival to Reception. The male staff member had huge difficulties in active listening with us having to repeat questions a number of times - he also showed very real signs of not really being interested in what we were asking - it also appeared as he was used to having a script and when questions were not usual ones, he was uncertain as to how to answer.
Both of us are professional people involved with working with children, young people and adults and have throughout the time attended professional development programmes in regard to active listening, communication and social skills - maybe this is something Vibe Management could organize for the staff. There was one young woman who was extremely helpful when we realized our room had been allocated to someone else - she ensured we were attended to immediately by the Manager - unfortunately we are not aware of her name as she should be congratulated and rewarded for her excellent customer service.

Room Tip: Only stayed once at the Vibe and have not sighted the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Michael M

Thank you so much for your detailed review of Vibe Sydney, I am very happy that Timo was able to upgrade you to the Star Suite and that you enjoyed your stay.

If you are able, I would be grateful if you would contact me by email [jjenkins@toga.com.au] so that I can get some further information regarding your stay. The team member you refer to that should be congratulated is Neha and we will certainly do so.

With thanks
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel is centrally located.The rooms are very large with modern amenities.I with my husband stayed here for 4 nights.Service staffs of the hotel are very cordial.Breakfast dishes are appreciable.Monorail station is very nearby to the hotel.Over all I can say regarding this hotel that staying here is a good value of money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Rabindra M

Thanks for your recent review, we appreciate it and hope we will see you again when you are next in Sydney.

WIth thanks
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assam
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed there with my family in a family room and considering generally that a family consist of two adults and two children the room size was small on the other hand the room service was good and the front desk too.Morning breaksfast was also good with many varities.The location was also very good near to tram and bus stops.

Room Tip: if a family book two doube bed rooms instead ofa family room and if possible ask the front desk to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear rajtrips

Thanks for your great review. If you are interested in larger family style rooms we have another hotel brand Adina Apartment Hotels that offer dedicated two bedroom apartments in Sydney which may suit you better.

I hope we can be of assistance on your next visit to Sydney and thank you for complimenting our breakfast, room service and front desk.

Kind regards
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vibe Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Sydney

Address: 111 Goulburn Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Toga Hotels, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vibe Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Vibe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.