We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cambridge Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 Riley Street | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #42 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Bellingen, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel is situated close to the CBD so I could walk to the main shopping area, plus the mitchell library, government house and the opera house. There were numerous choices of restaurants in Crown street, one block from the hotel and many convenience stores as well as a well stocked large grocery shop. My room was small, however the window did open so I could have blasts of fresh air when I needed, clean and comfortable and surprisingly quiet given the position.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi Maratana H,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are pleased to know that the location of the accommodation was suitable for your needs, and you made great use of the local area and surrounding eateries. The team at Cambridge look forward to welcoming you back again or a clean and comfortable stay.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    659
    246
    69
    44
See reviews for
285
567
188
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epping
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

A really fantastic room, extremely spacious and had everything required for a sufficient stay. Location was also great, nice walk to the CBD and major attractions and close to plenty of nice eateries!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi Matthew,

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our suitable and easily accessible location, and made good use of the wide selection of local eateries. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel room was clean and close to the city. It was also quiet and perfect for a little weekend break.

The Surry Hills cafes and restaurants were just a short stroll away. I would recommend this hotel due to the price and quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi AdventurerTraveller,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to see you took advantage of the local area Surry Hills, enjoying the wide selection of eateries on offer. It’s great that you experienced our high standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Hotel is in a good location within an easy walk of the Australian Museum and other sites worth visiting.The Irish Pub across the road has great feeds at value prices. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast buffet but wished we had with children priced at $1 per year of their age.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi Megan,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know that the location of the hotel suited your needs, and found the local eateries enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to enjoy the great value breakfast.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great room. Had a relaxing time. The carpark was really small. If I had a bigger car I would've struggled. Room service food wasn't the best but the room was fantastic. I would recommend for anyone after a quick get away!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hi Benjamin,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. I agree our car park facilities can be quite tight for larger vehicles and we make this clear across booking agents in the terms and conditions, however it is great to hear you enjoyed the high standard of accommodation we have to offer. The team at Cambridge look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Fantastic location, service and cleanliness. Always feel very warmed and welcomed with every visit. Pool is always clean and housekeepers are very respectable of privacy and professional. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hi Mathew,

Thank you for spending the time to give us your feedback. We pride ourselves on our high standards of services and cleanliness; it is great that you enjoyed this throughout your stay. We appreciate your commendations and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Morang
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

It was really good to be in close proximity to the city, attractions and public transport without the noise levels that go with it. Considering the location and 24hr room service, this place is excellent value for money. The indoor pool and spa top it off, however we felt the spa could've been a lot warmer. Parking was very 'compact' but the hotel gives sufficient warning of this. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hi Mark,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to see you enjoyed the pool and spa area, however they are adjoined therefore the spa is the same temperature as the pool. It is great the location suited your needs, and you made use of the local transport. The team at Cambridge look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Address: 212 Riley Street | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#25 Family Hotel in Sydney
#38 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambridge Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.