We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, and clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cambridge Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 Riley Street | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #44 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly Staff, and clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Staying in this hotel for quite long time, found that was a wonderful hotel in the strategic location. It's is a perfect place for the food hunter. You may found a lot of the restaurant nearby this hotel. (Crown street, darlinghurst.).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Rooneylion,
Thank you very much taking the time to sharing your experience with us.

We are grateful of client feedback in any instance and these feedback helps us to achieve our goal of excellence in guest satisfaction.
We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Wishing you all the best for the New Year.

Kind regards,
Steven Gargano,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    806
    316
    83
    52
See reviews for
370
700
240
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We booked the hotel through our travel agent and also liked the sound of Surry Hills as an area to stay in the city. The hotel is really well placed and convenient for getting to all the main attractions. We did a lot of walking and this is a great way to orientate yourself around the city.

The staff were lovely, friendly and more than happy to help. This included the restaurant and bar which were open to the general public as well as hotel guests. We were made to feel, in a very short time, we were special and valued guests, including rustling us up food after service had finished and it was a lovely place tor a night cap after a good evening.

would have been nice if the pool had been a bit bigger and in a better setting.

the rooms are a decent size, although there is not a huge amount of storage space and with two suitcases and limited wardrobe room we basically lived out of our cases.

Our only other issue was having to pay for wifi.
Without these two things would have rated hotel as excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, Assistant General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Liver B,
Thank you so much for sharing detailed feedback of your recent stay with us.
it is indeed pleasing to hear that you had a wonderful week in Sydney.
Sydney is definitely is an excellent city be in and we try to play a small part in to create that experience for to our guests and the visitors to the city.

Thank you again and wishing you all the best for the festive season and a Happy New Year.

Kind Regards,

Sub Pradhan
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel. Big spacious rooms. Spotlessly clean; well appointed rooms. The are some cafes nearby and Oxford St is close. Staff are very friendly and cabs pull up really frequently. Riley St is up on a hill and it is a walk from Central Station if on foot.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, Assistant General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Irish Australian,
Thank you so much for sparing the time to give us a feedback of your recent stay, Thank you for such a glowing and wonderful feedback.
It gives us a great pleasure to hear our guests enjoy their stay.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in Sydney.
Have a great Festive Season and a Happy New Year.
Kind regards,
Sub Pradhan
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Very secure building. Your room pass must be used even for the elevator. The floor plan seemed like a maze to us at first, but we got it figured out. Our room was 3 separate single beds, which was fine for us. This room was modern but with a very poor view. The room was clean except for a dark sock left behind from a previous guest. The bathroom was modern and clean. Water, drains, and toilet worked perfectly. The shower doors were difficult to close. Be careful, the hot water is very, very hot. Converselly, the "heated" indoor pool was too cold for us. Small wonder no one else was there. Didn't eat there, but an Irsh pub nearby was perfect for us. Staff was very good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, Assistant General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
DearTorontoDenny,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a feedback of your recent stay with us.Cambridge Hotel does provide variety of room categories that has different layout and views. I am happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and will choose us again for a return stay.
With treat all guest feedback seriously and use it as a training tool.
Best wishes for the Festive Season and a very Happy New Year.

Kind regards,
Sub Pradhan
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We arrived here in late November for 4 nights, We arrived early on the Saturday morning and were to early to check in after getting a night bus from Byron Bay, the lovely receptionist checked us in and kept our bags and told us she would put a rush on our check in.
This left us time to walk around the area and go for something to eat. On returning she had put a rush on it and were able to check in by 12.30pm.

Our room was great, Clean and tidy, our bathroom was clean but couldnt understand why the water in the sink too ages to clear, when i looked there was hair clogging it and defo was not mine as i dont have blond hair,
I mentioned this to the Manager on Reception the next Morning and they would get cleaning to sort it out, but unfortuntaly it wasnt.

The noise levels were another complaint, they must have been doing up one of the rooms next to us as around 8am up till 10am all we heard was drilling and hammering. i did notice one of the days we were leaving they seemed to be changing the Air Con Units so maybe they felt that time of the morning was the oorrect time.

The indoor Pool was Freezing. When we rang to reception to see where it was they were very helpful and said if we used out bath towels they would replaced them straight away, headed off to the 2nd floor and found the Pool. On arrival we noticed a sign to say there was something wrong with the heating of the pool. Put my foot in and headed back to room, way to Cold for me.

Location of hotel is perfect for sight seeing, Its a very safe area.
Would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Kar102,

Thank you very much sparing time to give us a detailed feedback of your experience with us.
It is great to hear that you see the hotel as a good hotel.
With feedback like yours it helps us to achieve excellence in guest satisfaction.
We have addressed the issues raised internally with the departments heads and assure you that this would have been an one off incident.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back to the hotel for your return stay.
Best wishes for the festive season and a very Happy New Year.
Kind regards,
Steven Gargano,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Well its 1 am, the bedroom air-conditioner is not working- and i just killed a cockroach- my 14 year old is restless on the roll out mattress and can feel every spring- mmm , 4 star - I've had more comfortable stays in a mining camp- positives - location, great staff on arrival - fabulous italian rest downstairs-- this property try's hard to punch above it weight but quite dissappointing - a budget reno - not for me - my wife and son first trip to Sydney- ill spend the money next time-

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hi James, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’d like to apologise for the issue you experienced with the air-conditioning overnight; I am glad your family is comfortable in your new room. Further to our conversation today, it’s pleasing to know you are enjoying the room that you have been moved to. Also, thank you for your positive comments during our conversation regarding the service and our staff. Please feel free to contact me at any time as discussed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Rooms are tired and not very clean. Small, old decor and extremely loud at night.

The Beds are uncomfortable and have very cheap linen.

Don't bother staying here. Should NOT be 4 star, no redeeming features at all. Not sure how they continue to get away with it really...

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear James M,
Thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback of your recent stay.
I am sorry to hear that your stay was not to your expectation. We are located on a vibrant precinct of Surry Hills where you have access to many restaurants, cafes, shopping.
We do use a top "Sleepmaker" beds and replaced when its due. In regards to the linen we just changed our supplier who now provides a 100 % cotton linen. I am sorry to hear this wasnt to your liking.
We are very appreciative of your feedback and the guest feedback are used internally to achieve the excellence in guest satisfaction.
Best wishes for the festive season and a very Happy New Year.

Kind regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Address: 212 Riley Street | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#41 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambridge Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.