We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, clean and friendly place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cambridge Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 Riley Street | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #44 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Solothurn, Switzerland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great, clean and friendly place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed for four nights and had a wonderful time. The room had a reasonable size, bathroom was very clean and the beds as well. The whole buildung must have been renewed recently and you could really feel it. The lobby is very nice and modern to look at, the staff super friendly. The only negative thing was the noise of trucks and cars in the morning after six. We'd come again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room higher up and away from Riley Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hi Travelmaniac1977,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney.
I’m glad you enjoyed the size and standards of the room, and our recent refurbishment of the whole building, as well as the service both of you received throughout your stay.
Thank you again for sharing your feedback. The Cambridge Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    806
    316
    83
    52
See reviews for
370
700
240
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud NSW
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I had a lovely night together and very much enjoyed our stay. The service was excellent, very friendly and professional and the rooms were spotless. I thought the bed was very comfortable, my wife thought it was a bit too hard. Traffic noise (emergency vehicle sirens)kept my wife awake while I slept right through. We were on the north side. Overall we had a pleasant night stay (first time away from the children)and would definitely recommend The Cambridge to out friends.

Room Tip: Maybe get a North side room if your a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hi Shayne H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney. I’m glad to see you enjoy the cleanliness of our rooms, as well as the service you received from our staff.
Comments such as yours are a great motivator to continue providing exceptional service.
I apologise for any inconveniences the emergency sirens caused your wife during your stay. We are currently in the process of double glazing all the windows within the hotel, which will reduce all outside noise.
Again, thank you for sharing your feedback. The Cambridge Hotel Sydney looks forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I keep staying at this FANTASTIC hotel for it's value for money and impeccable service. When I stayed at this hotel for the first time, I knew I had found my home away from home, and as a result, I keep coming back, cannot recommend it enough!!!! :-)

Room Tip: I always stay in a balcony room facing Riley Street as noise does not bother me one bit, but I must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hi Sunrise26,

Firstly, I’d like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney as your preferred hotel and also for taking the time to share your feedback.
Comments such as yours are one of our biggest motivators to continue providing exceptional service, and I am glad to see you enjoy the value for money The Cambridge Hotel Sydney provides.
Thank you again for recommending The Cambridge Hotel Sydney. We all look forward to welcoming you back, once again.

Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I would like to thank all staff at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney for their EXCELLENT service and hospitality. From the moment we walked in the door, the reception staff greeted us with welcoming smiles, the rooms were immaculate, super-comfortable pillow-top beds and the best dining experience in their new 'rustic Italian' restaurant. The location is perfect, walking distance to the city centre, China town & Paddy's markets and 5 mins out the door is Oxford Street clubs & bars or Crown street fine dining. Our holiday wasn't going very smoothly, everything that could go wrong, did. Our experience at the Cambridge Hotel was wonderful, made up for the rest of the holiday, and would recommend to anyone visiting Sydney.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hi Champsellysse,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney.
It’s great you enjoyed the cleanliness of our rooms, the location of the hotel, and the service you received throughout your stay. Comments such as yours are a great motivator to continue providing exceptional service.

I’m glad your experience here made up for the rest of your holiday, and the Cambridge Hotel Sydney looks forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My four year old granddaughter and I chose the Cambridge as our base for our two day Sidney excursion (I live in Canada, she lives in Australia so it was a special time, indeed). The location was great ... just a short city bus ride to the main sights. The room was clean and cozy and the staff were kind and accommodating. If I'm in Sydney again, I'll choose the Cambridge.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hi LemonandHill,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney.
I’m glad to hear you and your granddaughter enjoyed the location of the hotel, the cleanliness of your room, as well as the service you received throughout your stay.
Thank you again for sharing your feedback. We look forwards to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel Sydney.

Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I visited Australia in February as part of our 35th wedding anniversary, staying in the Cambridge on our anniversary day. We had 6 fantastic days at the Cambridge, in an excellent room with city views and we would recommend this hotel to anyone. We hope to return to Australia and would have no hesitation in staying there again.

We wish Steve Gargano and his excellent team all the best, you made our stay very special. Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room, overlooking Riley Street, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hi Graham W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney.

Our congratulations on your 35th wedding anniversary. It’s great to see you enjoyed the standards of our rooms, and the city skyline view the hotel has to offer.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback, the Cambridge Hotel Sydney looks forward to welcoming both of you back.

Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at the Cambridge hotel for 4 nights and thought it was lovely. Initially we were put off by the cramped corridors and the fact that our room overlooked all the air conditioning units which were noisy all the time. As a place to sleep it was more than adequate; a clean and comfortable bed and a clean bathroom is all you need. The best feature was the staff; they were lovely. Friendly, helpful, always polite and they greeted everyone with a cheery smile no matter what time of the day or how daft the question we asked. The hotel is within walking distance of all the sights of Sydney and there is a great variety of places to eat within a few metres of the hotel. Would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Room 825 was noisy due to air conditioning units outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hi The2Hoopers,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney.
Your great feedback regarding the service you received throughout your stay has been passed on to all staff. Comments such as yours are a great motivator to continue providing exceptional service.
I’m glad you also enjoyed the standards and cleanliness of our rooms, as well as the location of the hotel.
Thank you again sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Address: 212 Riley Street | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#41 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambridge Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.