We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What lovely staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cambridge Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 Riley Street | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #42 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“What lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at the Cambridge hotel for 4 nights and thought it was lovely. Initially we were put off by the cramped corridors and the fact that our room overlooked all the air conditioning units which were noisy all the time. As a place to sleep it was more than adequate; a clean and comfortable bed and a clean bathroom is all you need. The best feature was the staff; they were lovely. Friendly, helpful, always polite and they greeted everyone with a cheery smile no matter what time of the day or how daft the question we asked. The hotel is within walking distance of all the sights of Sydney and there is a great variety of places to eat within a few metres of the hotel. Would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Room 825 was noisy due to air conditioning units outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hi The2Hoopers,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney.
Your great feedback regarding the service you received throughout your stay has been passed on to all staff. Comments such as yours are a great motivator to continue providing exceptional service.
I’m glad you also enjoyed the standards and cleanliness of our rooms, as well as the location of the hotel.
Thank you again sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    659
    246
    69
    44
See reviews for
285
567
188
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I loved this hotel and found Garry the assistant manager was very helpful and personable he helped organise my airport shuttle departure & printed out our flight tickets thank you Garry your a gentleman, I would recommend Cambridge Hotel to anyone going to Sydney its in a vibrant part of Sydney which has great cafes & clothes shops as well as being very friendly & close to the CBD, the hotel room was great value for money very clean & comfortable beds, plus cheap internet very friendly helpful staff and super safe security my son loved the swimming pool and spa......

Room Tip: We stayed in the 3 single's room it also had a seperate office type room with a desk and chair v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi DianeMcalpine,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney. Your great feedback has been passed on to Garry, and the rest of our staff. Comments such as yours are a great motivator to continue providing exceptional service.

I’m glad you found the Cambridge Hotel Sydney to be of great value for money, as well as enjoying the location of the hotel and the standards of our rooms.

Thank you again sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Fantastic location. Very, very good food in the on-site restaurant. Courteous and helpful staff. Clean, comfortable, roomy room. And did I say fantastic location. We walked all around the area and loved it. Enjoyed several walks from there to the Opera House area, as well as Darling Harbour. The area is busy, lively, with many places to eat and interesting sidestreets as well - worth going off the many commercial streets to see the many small homes that are being lovingly renewed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear sixtysomethings,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney. Your great feedback has been passed on to all staff. Comments such as yours are a great motivator to continue providing exceptional service.

I’m glad to see you enjoy the location of the hotel and the standards of our rooms, as well as the service you received from our friendly staff. I’ve also passed on your feedback regarding Baccomatto Osteria to the restaurant manager, who deeply appreciates your positive response. The Cambridge Hotel Sydney looks forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed at the Cambridge Hotel for one night in April. Would stay there again if we were visiting Sydney locations like Darlinghurst, Surry Hills the SCG and Sydney Football Stadium. Nearby there are almost unlimited dining options and it was just a nice 20mins walk to Sydney Football Stadium, you can guess we went there for the footy.

We checked out the reviews on TripAdvisor before booking and weren't surprised by the tight carpark. We have a small SUV with roof racks and it just scraped in (1.8m clearance).

I guess the only problem was that traffic and other street noise did disturb our sleep. I am a light sleeper so it was a bit of an issue. Maybe rooms on higher floors, we were on the 4th floor, are less affected but I would take some ear plugs next time.

Overall we found the Hotel very good value and as other reviewers have noted great central location.

Room Tip: Street noise intrudes into the rooms so if you are a light sleeper take precautions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi WazandKy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney. It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the nearby restaurants the local area has to offer.
We understand the narrow car park can be challenging, and is more suitable for smaller and medium-sized vehicles.
I’d like to apologise for any issues you experienced regarding traffic and street noise. The process of double glazing all the hotel windows will be completed in the near future.

I’m glad that you found The Cambridge Hotel Sydney to be very good value. Again, thank you for sharing your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Warm Regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Room was clean and comfortable and well equipped and quite not at all boxy. The location was fantastic as within close walking distance to the city and Surry Hills precinct. We chose to go to the Australian Museum to see the Alexander the Great exhibition and could walk there easily. Love Surry Hills Crown/Riley Street area very much and now we have a new favourite restaurant - Baccomatto Osteria - where we enjoyed a delicious meal, in a buzzing bar atmosphere with happy Italian waiters and management. The chef prepares all his food in house including the delicious pastas. This had to the the number one highlight of our stay and we had the added bonus of turning up there again in the morning for a yummy breakfast. One of the best features of the hotel is the convenience and security of the carpark that hotel guests can access easily.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hi LeighnPhil,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney.

I’m glad you enjoyed the quality and cleanliness of our rooms, and the location of the hotel, as well as the convenience and security of the car parking facilities available onsite.
I’ve also passed on your feedback to the restaurant manager, who appreciates your positive response to ‘Baccomatto Osteria’, the service you received, and the quality of their menu.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, the Cambridge Hotel Sydney looks forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

4 stars?! You're joking. Having arrived in Sydney this morning, we made the trek from the airport to this hotel, expecting something that resembled the hotel pictures on the website. NOT to be! The exterior of the hotel resembles a 60 year old dark brown brick building with a tiny bright orange entrance. First thought? Ick. Tried our luck - requested to view the room and was met with hostility from the lady behind the counter. Tiny, tiny, room. Awful balcony, worse 'views'. No lounge, as the picture on the website showed - clearly used a wide angle lens there. Avoid at all costs, unless you're not fussed with paying $200 a night for a box. Forfeited our $400 (2 nights) and went elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have been staying at this Hotel over the past 15 years, And have always found it a great place to stay when in Sydney. The location is very good as it is just off Oxford street. We booked a Queen balcony room, which was very nice as we had great views over the city.
I have always found the staff at reception very polite and helpfull,
Special mention to Lorraine, lovey girl and very professional.
We took the option for the $17 full breakfast, very nice, Thank you.
Parking is also available at this hotel which makes it a great choice if you drive into the city.
Overall a great stay, once again.
We stayed 13/04/2013
Thanks to all @ Cambridge Hotel.

Room Tip: Higher levels have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Rod W,
Firstly, I’d like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney as your preferred hotel and also for taking the time to share your feedback. Your great feedback has been passed on to all staff.
Comments such as yours are one of our biggest motivators to continue providing exceptional service. I’m glad to see you enjoy the location and the standards of our rooms; especially the city view from your balcony.
The Cambridge Hotel Sydney looks forward to welcoming you back, once again.

Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Address: 212 Riley Street | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#25 Family Hotel in Sydney
#38 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambridge Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.