We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Cambridge Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 Riley Street | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #42 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Muswellbrook, Australia
1 review
“Value for money in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my husband and a friend to attend the cricket at the SCG. Great value for money and in the perfect location - close to everything. Staff were friendly and room was neat and tidy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Sammy S,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us, regarding your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff friendly and the location convenient. Thank you for sharing this review with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel again.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    555
    215
    59
    40
See reviews for
232
488
159
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here over a weekend with wife and child in a family room. Very good value compared to a lot of much pricier Sydney hotels that seem to think they don't need to try any more. Nothing too flashy but neat, clean, well designed and everything worked. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Good central location. We ended up walking to the city and catching the free bus around. Smallish pool, but my 6yo had a lot of fun in it.
I was very impressed compared with a lot the flashier places I've stayed at with work.

Room Tip: Not sure I'd want a room off the pool courtyard if there's any other 6yo's swimming ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Ian_jamez,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel and for sharing your feedback with us.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the friendly staff members, the location, the cleanliness and the value for money lived up to your expectations. It is great to hear that the pool was made good use of.

Once again thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here this week for 3 nights- by myself. This is very good value hotel- I was impressed with the professionalism & helpfulness of the staff. I was a bit 'demanding' at times but nothing ever phased them. They remained polite and considerate at all times and couldn't do enough. The rooms are very clean and 'tidy' I stayed in a one bedroom unit- without a balcony. One recommendation is that hotel staff look at steam cleaning the hallways on each floor as they are 'musty' and do have recurring smoker's smells- even though this is a non-smoking hotel. The other is that I never ate at the restaurant attached to the hotel...as most of the menu items- I couldn't pronounce and I never wanted to show my ignorance by asking what each & every item actually was. Might sound 'upmarket' to have those items on the menu but found it wasn't helpful to the 'average' traveller that tends to stay at this hotel. I will return to the Cambridge as this place is actually a 'gem' so close to the city & very affordable! Top marks for the hotel staff here- mighty impressive team!

Room Tip: Non smokers avoid the balcony rooms as the rooms tend to have recurring smokers smells wafting into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Paul M,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel. We very much appreciate all your great comments towards the hotel, and we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is great to hear that the friendly staff and room facilities lived up to your expectations. Thank you for your comments regarding the hallways, this has been passed onto the housekeeping and maintenance managers whom are investigating this further.

I apologise if the Italian Menu was difficult to understand – we will pass on this information to the restaurant so we can possible incorporate a better explanation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel again in the near future.

Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband, 6 month old Daughter & I recently stayed at the Cambridge hotel as I had a function to attend in surry hills & the hotel was within walking distance. The hotel has a bit of a backpackers vibe in that the reception area has coloured fluorescent lights, lots of Internet stations and people milling around.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit which had a nice enough layout. The smell in our room was a bit off putting, it was the smell of vomit & seemed to be stronger near the kitchen. I also noticed my bath towel had some mould on it! Apart from these negatives, our stay was practical and good enough. The reception staff were lovely & helpful. I'm not sure if the hotel can do anything about parking but we struggled to get our CRV in and out due to very limited space. Would stay again for convenient location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear carlsb82,

Thank you very much for choosing the Cambridge Hotel for your recent stay in Surry Hills, and thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

We are glad to hear that your enjoyed the location. We are sorry about the inconvenience you experienced in your room, this has been investigated and rectified. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We are very pleased to hear that you will stay with us again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel again.

Warm regards
Steven Gargano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot in England
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Arrived before noon at Apex Cambridge Hotel, in Riley Street, pre-booked for 5 nights. Checked in and left our luggage, as room would be ready after 2pm.

Allocated Room 1208, on 12th of 14 floors. Lovely large room. Desk and chair, king bed w/ 2 bedside 3-drawer chests, A/c fan above the window-side bedside, 3-seater settee and armchair, coffee table and large wall flatscreen. 4-door wardrobe with minibar, safe, tea-making, iron and ironing board. 2 double windows, one pair opening onto balcony. (No table and chairs). Good-sized bathroom, w/ shower in bath (good shower, but only half-glass, so you have to be careful not to splash!) Hair-drier and 4 nice fruity toiletries (replaced daily). Fresh towels left daily.

Delay in delivering our luggage, but did receive phone call to say it would be delivered as soon as colleague returned with key to luggage room.

Small pool, just big enough to swim in, but surprised to find any pool at all in a city hotel. Water quite warm. Jacuzzi not great, but good for a soak. (No towels, and another guest said you have to take your room towels – but perhaps you can get extra from reception.

On our last day, we received a phone call from reception to ask if we were enjoying our stay. May have been a tactful reminder that we were leaving the next day, but it was a nice touch!

- Laundrette in basement ($3 each for wash machines and driers)
- 2 minutes walk to Duffy’s supermarket.
- Plenty cafes, restaurants, bars and clubs nearby.
- Hotel is 2 short blocks from the Darlinghurst end of Oxford Street, which has a colourful gay scene. It is 15 mins walk to the south-east corner of Hyde Park (beautiful trees and fountains, ibis and parrots), the beginning of the Central Business District.

- Note : When our booking was made there was an offer of free boxed breakfasts every day, if you stayed for 4 nights or more. (Cornflakes, milk, OJ, mini muesli bar, and diced peaches in juice – normally $10.95.) Obtaining the boxes was problematic every day and, one day, one cereal packet was empty, and the container to eat it from was broken (a staff member must have eaten it!).

Room Tip: In a city, higher rooms are usually quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Eleanola,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel and, we would also like to thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience and descriptive feedback with us.

It is great to hear that it seems you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the location and facilities was an advantage to you. We apologise for the inconvenience you experienced regarding your breakfast boxes. We have made sure to investigate this – and can now assure that breakfast boxes will be not be a problem in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Once again thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel again in the near future.

Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great hotel with fantastic city views from the room of my 12th floor balcony. Staff went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating, room was spotlessly clean and well maintained.i don't usually review hotels on line but the Sydney really deserves a mention.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear PS1_13,
Thank you very much for choosing the Cambridge Hotel for your recent stay and we highly appreciate when our guests take their time to share their feedback with us.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed Sydney and you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very glad to hear that the friendly staff, the cleanliness and your balcony room lived up to your expectations.
Thank you very much for sharing this information with us. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Cambridge Hotel again in the near future.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland\Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Second time I have stayed here, while in the area and extremely convenient for Oxford Street, and Surrey hills, although still easy to walk to town. Had a double room with balcony, probably the best value in Sydney's over inflated hotel rooms! Its small , but perfect and very reasonable, polite staff and clean compact comfortable rooms, just what I was looking for, happily stay again. Didn't use internet or anything else, but had a relaxing comfortable night. (traveled alone)

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear jinty,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Cambridge Hotel again. It is great to hear that you enjoy the hotel and its features and location.
Thank you very much for your compliments towards our friendly staff. I can assure you that any such praise is shared with all our staff members and we pride ourselves in giving the best possible service.
Thank you taking your time to share your feedback with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel again soon.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Address: 212 Riley Street | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#25 Family Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambridge Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.