We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Colorful and Elegant Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Cambridge Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   212 Riley Street | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #44 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Colorful and Elegant Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Cambridge Hotel has a lot of welcoming and charming character. One is greeted by entering what feels like a conceptual art piece about light and movement. It creates a feeling of sophistication, playfulness and EASE. The aesthetics are a feast for the eyes. The room I stayed in was so spacious and had an amazing view of Sydney.
Gary, the manager was so elegantly groomed and good natured. I appreciated the warmth he and Marina exhibited welcoming me to my temporary home.
The neighborhood has a terrific array of good coffee shops and little boutiques. The Cambridge isn't too far from the airport-so it was all easy and a very helpful staff that makes for more EASE.
Victoria

Room Tip: I had a beautiful s p a c i o u s room 1308. It had a divine view of Sydney.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Victoria,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your great comments regarding your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel.
I am very glad to hear that you had a wonderful time at the Cambridge Hotel and that you felt very welcomed by our friendly staff.
Your lovely comments have been passed onto our entire team, as it is comments like yours that boost and motivate our team to keep up their good work.
I am also very pleased that you enjoyed the design of the hotel and its surrounding cafes and shops.
Once again, thank you for your great feedback and we look very much forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel.
Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    432
    535
    208
    59
    41
See reviews for
218
474
155
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Good things: the location to the shops and restaurant of Surry Hills, the rooms are spacious, the bed/pillows were super comfortable, the staff were eager to please and ensure you have comfortable stay. Got the distict impression that they are trying to lift their game in the customer service area - we were able to check-in early, our broken kettle was replaced instantly, complementary late check-out when our flight was postponed. Couldn't fault the friendly staff.

The not so good: the airconditioner seemed to do it's own thing regardless of what setting it was on. It was a problem for me but not for my husband so maybe not for others.

This is a solid four-star hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Andrew and Jessie,
Thank you very much for your recent stay and for taking your time to leave your comments with us regarding your stay.
I am not able to see which room you stayed in so I would appreciate it if you could send me an email directly to steven@cambridgehotel.com.au, so we can rectify the issues you experiences with the air-conditioning.
I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the location and that you had a very comfortable stay with us. I am also very pleased to hear that the improvements in the customer service were felt and that you found the staff friendly and eager to help you in any way.
Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge hotel again in the near future.
Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and were extremely happy with our room. It was clean and large enough for the two of us. The bed was comfortable and noise levels were what you would expect for a busy hotel in a busy city centre. I would definitely stay here again for the price and the Hotel's excellent location.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Nics70,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge hotel and thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us.

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and cleanliness, and that you had a comfortable stay.

I am also pleased to know that you will happily stay here again, we therefore look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge hotel again soon.

Warm Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montrealbis
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed there for a week. I had a deluxe room with balcony. It was large (very large!), confortable, and with a nice balcony onlooking a small street. Overall, it was moderatly quiet (lots of street noise on Friday and Saturday evenings, due to partying around). But, it was very much within the bounds of acceptable. However, I noticed some construction work in the street, and I believe people facing the street must have had much more noise. The room was furnished with a very confortable bed, a nice sofa and a desk chair and desk, which was nice to work on. Everything was very clean. There was also a minibar and a fridge, and coffee and tea in the room. The bathroom is small but functional.
I regret that wifi is so expensive (13$ per day for a 3 day contract...). Furthermore, I found the staff efficient, but not overly welcoming. After a week, you would imagine that the staff would reckognize me at the front entrance, but no one ever said 'hi' in a week. You get regular (and annoying) phone calls from the reception asking you if everything is OK.
Overall, I would stay there again, because it is a great location, with an acceptable price.

Room Tip: I have not visited the fitness center and spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear jerry68bis,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay with us at the Cambridge Hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your large, comfortable room & balcony, and that you were happy with the location and price.

I am disappointed to hear that you felt the WIFI was expensive, as we just implemented a new internet system specifically to make the price a competitive pricing for Sydney standards. I am also upset to hear that you did not feel the staff lived up to your expectations and that you felt the hotel did not have character. The Cambridge Hotel is an independent boutique hotel and the departments and their respective management teams, including myself, do a lot to come up with innovative proposals and solutions in order to best meet the needs of our guests. We put emphasis on individualised service and it disappoints me to hear that you did not experience the standard of service we are known for.

I am glad to hear that you will stay with us again, and we therefore look forward to welcoming you back and show you the standard of service we are known for.

Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here in August and our first impression was a modern well run Hotel.
On arrivel we noticed construction work on the neighbouring building outside and the Western wing of the hotel, and heared it to.
We were assured it was the last day of construction so no worries about noise etc.
Next morning at 7:30 however we found out that was not the case, but after a sleepy/cranky phonecall the staff managed to relocate us to another room and did not charge us for the room. A very good and acceptable arrangement.
Overall the room was large, clean with good showers and other facilities.
Housekeeping made sure that everyday our room looked like new.
We had some problems with the keycards not working and a crooked TV but all in all staff managed to resolve it in a day or two so it really looked like they were making the extra effort.
Also very attentive when it comes to recommendations for restaurants, sightseeingtours and other adventures.
Its a hotel to be recommended and we would not mind staying here again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Dutch Knight,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback with us, regarding your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney.
I apologise for the inconvenience you faced during your stay with us, but I am pleased that you felt the staff dealt with all the issues in a friendly and professional way. I am glad that you called the staff immediately so they were able to relocate you to another room straight away.
I am also pleased that you were satisfied with the housekeeping services, hotel facilities, and the knowledgeable staff.
Once again, thank you very much for sharing your comments with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in a twin double room which was more than adequate for our purpose of seeing a show in Sydney. Price was excellent at $135. A balcony off our room faced the city and also looked directly out to the Sydney Police Headquarters, so you would expect to be relatively safe in this precinct. It is hard to avoid city noise in the inner city areas but we did not worry too much about this. It is close to Oxford Street where we caught buses to all of our destinations after purchasing Travel 10's (ten rides) from a 7eleven store.

The hotel supplies a breakfast pack for one person if you need it for around $10 (includes a little cereal, packaged fruit, milk and juice).The room and bathroom were exceptionally clean and towels and toiletries were adequate. Slept well here. Rooms have been updated and are modern.

Carpark not easy to navigate and only good for small cars. This was my only time of stress whilst staying here but for $26 a night I made the effort.

Staff were pleasant and willing to assist with any enquiry! Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Ged4,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney and you taking your time to share your feedback with us.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the location, and that you had a comfortable stay.

I am also glad that you had a good experience with our friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Once again, thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel in the near future.

Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stay at the Cambridge at least once a month for work. The staff have laways been insanely friendly. From the people on the front desk to the housekeeping staff to the dining room staff. Everyone acknowledges you and says hi.

The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated and modern. The beds are super comfy. I left a note in my room one morning asking for a softer pillow and came back to find 6 different fresh pillows on my bed with a lovely little note. The bathrooms are modern and spotless.

Some of the rooms at the moment have a lovely view of some scafolding of the building next door that is being worked on and others have a totally dud view altogether, but others even give you a glimpse of the Opera House.

The company I work for runs conferences there too and again, the staff are fantastic and the catering is great.

The Cambridge is located a street away from the iconic Crown Street which is jam packed with awesome restaurants and cafes and pubs. It's also just around the corner from Kings Cross too and within easy walking distance of 2 train stations (Central and Museum.......I think).

I would highly recommend the Cambridge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Harbour side at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Geoffreyallan,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel and for taking your time to share your feedback with us.
I am so pleased to hear that a guest who has stayed with us so many times is recommending the Cambridge in such a wonderful manner.
I am glad to know that our guests are acknowledged and feel at home at the Cambridge. It delights me to hear that the time and effort our staff puts into customer service and innovative solutions are appreciated by our guests.
Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments regarding you stays at the Cambridge and we always look forward to welcoming you back again.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Address: 212 Riley Street | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#25 Family Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#42 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambridge Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.